Name:
Densill Theobald.
Club: Caledonia AIA Fire (Trinidad, ?-2008 to present).
Date of Birth: 27-Jun-1982.
Position: Midfield.
Previous Clubs: Jean Lillywhite Coaching School (Trinidad), Toronto Olympians (Canada, 2000 to 2001), Joe Public (Trinidad), Caledonia AIA Fire (Trinidad), Falkirk (Scotland, 22-Dec-2005 to Aug-2006), Caledonia AIA Fire (Sept-2006 to 16-Jul-2007), Ujpest FC (Hungary, 16-Jul-2007 to Jan-2008).
Schools: Nelson Street Boys RC (Trinidad), Malick Secondary (Trinidad).
Players Admired: Zinedine Zidane, Ronaldinho, Kerwin Jemmott, Dwight Yorke & Russell Latapy.
TnT Senior Debut: July 2002 vs Barbados, then made his Word Cup qualifying senior debut for the T&T away to the Dominican Republic on the 13th of June 2004 which T&T won 2-0. Scored his first World Cup qualifying goal on the 20th of June 2004 at home against the Dominican Republic, a goal which was voted "goal of the game" a "bullet" - T&T came away 4-0 winners.
NOTE: The talented central midfielder former clubs, Caledonia AIA and Arima Fire, the clubs which share the Larry Gomes Stadium in Arima, joined forces (merged) to form Arima Morvant Fire in 2004 and then in 2005 the club was again renamed to Caledonia AIA Fire. Captain a youthful T&T side to the finals of the 2007 Digicel Cup against Haiti.

Related  News: 
10-Feb-2008 Densill to leave hungary.
18-Jan-2008 Theobald joins national training.
17-Jul-2007 Theobald signs with Hungarian 1st Div club.
29-Jun-2007 Theobald injured in trial.
22-Jun-2007 Theobald & Jan Michael on trial in Hungary.
01-Jun-2007 Theobald still has reason to smile.
30-Jan-2007 Densill under pressure.
23-Jan-2007 Trophy time Densill plots Caribbean conquest.
28-Dec-2006 Theobald wants to step it up in Digicel Cup.
16-Sept-2006 Theobald talks about trying times.
03-Sept-2006 Wim: Densill made a mistake.
02-Sept-2006 Theobald back with Caledonia.
18-Aug-2006 Theobald: Why I left Falkirk.
12-Aug-2006 Port of Spain toasts Theobald.
03-Aug-2006 Densill Theobald leaves Falkirk.
02-Aug-2006 Blanking Beckham...the Densill Theobald story.
27-Jul-2006 Falkirk set to throw book at AWOL Theobald.
30-Jun-2006 Theobald in Falkirk hall of fame.

Densill's really trying for Falkirk debut.

By: Shaun Fuentes.
10-Mar-2006 - Scottish-based midfielder Densill Theobald is trying to break into the Falkirk first team in Scotland. He has been on the bench in recent matches but has been appearing regularly in the Reserves League.
“Right now I’m working really hard to break into the team. I know it’s an uphill task but I’m keeping up with it but I hope the gaffer can give me a chance pretty soon because he has been talking to me constantly and I have also let him know how important it is for me  be playing if I am to keep up my chances of making the national team that goes to the World Cup, "Theobald told TTFF Media on Thursday.
"But he knows this and he’s so heavy on me to keep working hard that I couldn’t even get the evening off to go see the boys play in London last month. I had a good game against the Rangers Reserves on the weekend and I am hoping to get my chance for the regulars soon. Russell (Latapy) knows this and he’s been very helpful since I came to Falkirk,” Theobald added.
Theobald is the only player out of the T&T Pro League who has gained an overseas contract since T&T's qualification for the World Cup. Teammates Cyd Gray and Aurtis Whitley have gone on trials but seem likely to begin the 2006 season with CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh after receiving lucrative one-year deals to remain with the club.

The inner city king.

By: Lasana Liburd (Express).
23-Jan-2006 - "I want to achieve so much great things like what (Dwight) Yorke was able to achieve for his club and for his country," Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Densill Theobald told the Sport Express on Saturday, "or Michael Jordan was able to do for Chicago Bulls and (Russell) Latapy was able to do with Hibs.
"I want people to remember me as a good person and a great player."
One might expect some level of incongruity between the speaker, 23-year-old Densill "Bleeder" Theobald, and his surroundings.
Theobald, one of Trinidad and Tobago's exciting finds of the 2006 World Cup qualifying campaign, is seated on the culvert outside his home, which is in one of a series of apartment buildings located between George and Nelson Streets in downtown Port of Spain.
His feet rest inside an empty drain.
Soon, he hopes to stand out in the Scottish Premier League (SPL) for his new employer, Falkirk Football Club. The attention of the world should follow.
Groups of mostly young men witness the interview from a respectful distance. Some offer brief greetings in passing.
"Respect Bleeder," said one youth, without slowing for a response.
"Yeah man, respect," responded Theobald.
The young man's face softened and he nodded towards Theobald with a thoughtful expression.
Theobald left on Sunday for rural Scotland where he agreed terms with SPL team, Falkirk. It was the icing after Trinidad and Tobago's historic qualification for the 2006 World Cup Finals in Germany.
Yet, his story is as remarkable for the obstacles as it is for the achievements. Mature beyond his years, he seemed to grasp this fact.
Born into what he referred to as the "ghetto", modelled by local coaches like Jean Lillywhite and Jamaal Shabazz into the talented player he became and now set to ply his trade in Europe.
The midfielder's best work thus far is his ability to link past with present and future. Theobald's humble beginnings help him to savour his accomplishments while maintaining a hunger for what is still to come.
He is not one to take life for granted. Just a few feet from his sitting place, Theobald witnessed his first murder at age 12.
"A gamble was going on and I was liming right in front there," he said, while pointing to a spot on the pavement. "And the person just walk up and 'pap!'; three to five shots (from) close range.
"Everybody just scattered The man just walked away."
Theobald, who was about to enter first form at Malick Secondary, found sleep hard to come by for months after. The unpredictability of Nelson and George Streets prompts many children to play indoors or on the rooftops.
He found solace in "Jah"; Jean Lillywhite that is. Theobald's cousin, Kervin Serrette, was a member of the Lillywhite Coaching School and took part in an overseas tour with the youth club. Theobald's deceased mother, Jasmine Theobald, was so impressed by this that she quickly talked her son into signing up.
Not that he needed much encouragement.
"I was in the savannah with (Lillywhite) from Monday to Sunday," said Theobald.
The nominal $50 a month fee sometimes went unpaid by the Theobald household. His late mother was a temporary worker doing odd jobs at various warehouses while his father was a government painter. But Lillywhite was so impressed by the scrawny midfielder's temperament that he turned a blind eye to the indiscretion.
Bleeder-he owes his nickname to his first adolescent rendezvous, which had a humorous outcome-progressed quickly up the ranks from schoolboy player to the national under-17 team.
Lillywhite arranged an overseas trial for him and he was signed by Canadian semi-professional club, Toronto Olympians, where he stayed for two and a half years. He credited this stint with his rapid development as a person.
"I was just 17 years when I went there," he said. "I was in and out of the first team and played (more) with the youth set-up... It was a good learning experience because it helped me to grow up as a person and a player.
"I was there by myself so I had to grow up. That is what helped me to be who I am today on and off the field."
There was a two-week trial at an Italian third division club as well before a 19-year-old Theobald returned to Trinidad to kick-start his senior international career. He joined Jamaal Shabazz at Caledonia AIA before winning his first cap, a year later, in a weakened team under interim coach Clayton Morris at the 2002 Sugarbowl Invitational Tournament in St Kitts.
He was then overlooked by Hannibal Najjar, Zoran Vranes or Stuart Charles-Fevrier until Bertille St Clair gave him a second chance. His first appearance came in stoppage time in Trinidad and Tobago's 4-1 loss to Scotland on May 30, 2004.
St Clair was livid with his team's performance on that afternoon and particularly bemoaned an apparent lack of character within his ranks. Perhaps it was that humbling experience which prompted St Clair to take a closer look at the lively Theobald.
Theobald, arguably, does not have the hypnotic final pass of Kerwin Jemmott, the dazzling pirouettes of Arnold Dwarika or the pace of Gary Glasgow. But his game, based on a solid work ethic and maturity in possession, combines some good elements from all three locally-based players.
A month later, St Clair offered Theobald his first international start in a World Cup qualifier away to the Dominican Republic and the Caledonia AIA Fire player responded with a goal in the 4-0 win. He has never been left out of the squad since; even when experienced Dutch coach Leo Beenhakker inherited St Clair's post.
Theobald singled out Beenhakker's first game in charge, a 2-0 qualifying win over Panama, as the most important of his career. He had just returned to full fitness and was desperate not to be left out-even if it meant playing out on the left rather than in central midfield.
"(Beenhakker) said I have the ability to work hard and go up and down (the field) and can use my left foot," said Theobald. "He said he will use me there because he has the balance he wants in central midfield. I have all the respect for Beenhakker; (so) if he sees that in me, I have to see that in myself also.
"I will play anywhere for the national team; even in goal."
Theobald singled out Latapy's return to international duty last September as the turning point for the "Soca Warriors".
"That game changed everything," he said, of their 3-2 win. "We had lost four games straight and, lose or draw, we were out. The return of Latapy brought back our confidence."
There was an added bonus. Latapy, a player/coach at Falkirk, was so impressed with Theobald's ability and application that he approached club manager John "Yogi" Hughes.
Theobald backed up his senior teammate's praise during trials at Falkirk last October and he is about to reap the benefits.
He is particularly intrigued by news that national captain and ex-Manchester United star, Dwight Yorke, might join the Scottish team on loan until the June World Cup Finals.
"It would be a dream come true," he said. "Knowing I would be able to rub shoulders with these guys at a club and national level; that I can call them up when I want to talk."
Theobald plans to force his way straight into the first team and Latapy believes, once fit, there is every possibility that the recruit could run out this weekend.
Once settled, Theobald hopes to strengthen himself mentally and physically for a long and successful career starting with the World Cup.
Theobald, who named United States basketball legend Michael Jordan as his sporting hero, confessed that he is far from the complete article and will not rest until he can rub shoulders with the best in the game.
"What (Jordan) was able to do for basketball and for himself also was just incredible," he said. "That is the thing that is lacking in my game internationally; maybe that is the reason that I don't start for the national team as often as I would like to. Being the person to influence the game; make a difference.
"Like the Russell Latapys, like the Dwight Yorkes; just like what Michael Jordan was able to do for Chicago Bulls... At the pro league level, yes, I am able to accomplish it because there is not much strong competitiveness in the Pro League. No disrespect to them.
"But at the international level, I am trying to do it The better I am is the better I want to become." Falkirk will be the next mark on his learning curve.

Theobold sets sights higher.

soccer365.com.
21-Jan-2006 - Densill Theobald believes he can use Falkirk as a stepping stone to one of Europe's most glamorous leagues.
The Trinidad and Tobago midfielder has joined the Bairns on an 18-month deal from Caledonia AIA Fire after being granted a work permit on appeal. Theobald is set to play for his country in this summer's World Cup in Germany and knows a starring role on football's biggest stage could attract attention from bigger clubs.
But before any of Europe's elite come calling, he first aims to impress for Falkirk as they strive to stay in the SPL. Theobald said: "Falkirk is a stepping stone for me to move onto greater things, no disrespect to Falkirk. Falkirk is a small club and one day I would like to move on and be successful."
He added: "I have come over here to get into the best possible shape physically and mentally to go into the World Cup and to produce the results for Falkirk.
"This move is like a dream come true thanks to God. It keeps a smile on my face and makes me happy.
"I want to continue to work hard as I know the sky is the limit. I have both feet on the ground and I will continue to work hard and after the world Cup you never know, maybe a Manchester United, Real Madrid or Barcelona will come knocking - or I could be straight back to Trinidad."

Densill gets work permit.

12-Jan-2006 - Falkirk FC, thanks to a letter from National head coach Leo Beenhakker, have been successful in their appeal for a work permit for national midfielder Densill Theobald and the young man from Nelson Street is now expected to go through with his contract with the Scottish Premier League club.
Falkirk won the appeal on Thursday after the initial application was turned down earlier this month.
Theobald’s deal came through the efforts of national midfielder Russell Latapy who is also an assistant coach with Falkirk. Latapy and the club management sorted the assistance of Beenhakker, team captain Dwight Yorke and experienced West Ham United goalie Shaka Hislop in submitting letters for the appeal.
“I must be thankful to all of them for helping me through this process. Finally I will have the chance now to go through with the deal,” Theobald told TTFF Media.
“When Russell called me today I was nervous at first but then he told me the news and I was a relieved man. I’m hoping that I can now go across there and settle into the team and take things from there,”  added Theobald who narrowly missed on the desired number of appearances in the initial application for the permit.
The Caledonia AIA Fire man is expected to head off to Falkirk next week.
”It took a lot of hard work to get him but he comes at a right good age," said Falkirk manager John Hughes.
Falkirk had also been trying to get player Anthony Wolfe over to Falkirk but negotiations there are expected to be on hold as he may experience more work permit problems having not been in a regular in the national team.

Falkirk sign Densill Theobald.

BBC Sport.
22-Dec-2005 - Falkirk have agreed to sign Trinidad & Tobago international midfielder Denzil Theobald on an 18-month deal.
The 22-year-old, who currently plays for Caledonia AIA Fire in his homeland, will join the Bairns in January after impressing on a recent trial.
Falkirk boss John Hughes said: "He did well in his two weeks here but I had to wait for my budget to open up again. "There is no work permit problem and we're all looking forward to welcoming Densill here."
Hughes is predicting the midfielder will make the same progress as former Livingston defender Andrews has made at Ibrox.
He said: "Densill can use both feet and is a natural football player.
"He is a young lad, is a non-stop talker with a smile like Dwight Yorke and wants to play football. "Hopefully, he has that desire to go and do something for himself now.
"We are giving him the platform and, if he can go to the World Cup and have a great tournament, it will be great for Falkirk.
"He'll definitely come in January and Russell tells me he is better than what we have - so that's real competition for places.
"If he is every bit as successful as the likes of Russell and Marvin Andrews have been in Scotland, then we have found an ace in the pack."
"There was another player from Trinidad and Tobago I'd been sniffing around but he doesn't meet the permit requirements at this stage.
"But I may push to sign him again if he has a good World Cup and gets on the bench or the pitch with the team.
"Hopefully Densill brings with him a desire to go on and do something for himself and we'll certainly give him the platform. If he goes to the World Cup and performs well it will be great for Falkirk as well as the player himself.

After December for Densill.

19-Oct-2005 - Home-based professional Densill Theobald will have to wait until end of the year to have the chance to sign up with Scottish Premier League club Falkirk.
Theobald, who impressed on a recent trial with the club of Russell Latapy, returned home to represent the country in 1-0 and 2-1 wins over Panama and Mexico. But the Caledonia AIA Fire player revealed that Falkirk boss John Hughes phoned him last week to explain the situation.
“Basically he said the club is interested but a deal probably will not come through until the end of this year. He was excited over the win we had against Mexico and you know everyone there loves Russell so they were really happy for us. I was grateful for the chance to come on the field against Mexico and the feeling was a truly great one for us. Now we must just get our heads down and repeat it against Bahrain,” Theobald said.

Falkirk snap up Densill Theobald.

By: Lasana Liburd (Express).
03-Oct-2005 - Twenty-three-year-old Trinidad and Tobago central midfielder Densill Theobald is set to become the latest addition to the growing list of British-based footballers after Scottish Premier League (SPL) club Falkirk declared their interest to sign him yesterday evening.
Falkirk and Theobald must still meet to discuss personal terms but the Caledonia AIA Fire midfielder is delighted at the prospect of moving to Europe.
"It is a dream come true," said Theobald, who spent the past two weeks on loan at the club. "It is the start I always wanted. I always wanted to get into the system and now I can think I can just push on and get even better."
Theobald was at Falkirk's stadium yesterday as his soon-to-be employers held league leaders, Hearts, to a 2-2 draw and he also watched them fall 2-1 in the CIS Cup to Celtic in extra time last week.
The international player admitted that he was taken aback by the passion of the British game.
"The fans make the games very entertaining," he said. "I have been taking in the atmosphere in the stadium and it is just amazing. I can't wait to be wearing a Falkirk jersey and not just sitting in the stands."
Thirty-seven-year-old Falkirk player/coach and Trinidad and Tobago star Russell Latapy, who recommended Theobald to the club in the first place, praised the player's attitude during his trial.
"(Falkirk manager John) Hughes liked what he saw and he just wants to work out a package now for Densill," said Latapy. "Because I have been away from Trinidad football for so long, I didn't see Densill play before I rejoined the (national) team, although I have heard of him from my brothers.
"I think he has good technique and a good brain and engine, so I am very happy for him that he has gotten this chance. What happens from now is up to Densill."
Falkirk are one of the few clubs in Scotland that builds their game around passing on the ground and Theobold is certain that he will fit into their philosophy of play.
He left Scotland this morning to rejoin the national team and hopes to contribute his renewed enthusiasm to Trinidad and Tobago's quest to qualify for the 2006 World Cup in Germany. "This news has definitely given me a confidence booster," said Theobald. "If (T&T head coach Leo Beenhakker) gives me a chance, I can't wait to show what I can do in these crucial games now for my country."

Theobald off to Latapy’s club for a trial.

18-Sept-2005 - National midfielder Densill Theobald arrived in Scotland on Sunday to begin a trial with Scottish Premier League club Falkirk which arose through the efforts of Scottish-based midfielder Russell Latapy.
Theobald, a member of Local Pro League side Caledonia AIA Fire, got the invitation from Latapy last week after the former national captain was impressed with what he saw of the 23-year-old player and was then able to have the club put arrangements in place for him to go on a one-week trial.
Latapy is currently attached as a player/coach with the Club’s First team which gained promotion into the Premier League after winning the First Division last season.
He indicated that his intentions to assist in the development of players and without delay, he felt the opportunity for Theobald to try out at Falkirk would be a good one at this time. Previously current Swedish-based midfielder Brent Rahim was also attached to Falkirk.
 “I’m actually really enjoying the coaching aspect of my job right now at Falkirk. It brings a certain satisfaction  when you could pass on  some of the knowledge you have acquired in the game to the younger players and they take it on board and try to make themselves better by using whatever they could pick up from you,” Latapy told TTFF Media.
“That is a high in itself, an experience I realize now that is really something like a personal satisfaction and is something that I can also get joy from in football outside of being just a player. When you can advice a young lad and he takes it up and scores a goal just by following something you may have shown him is quite a good feeling,” Latapy added.
As a result of that, Latapy said he still has ambitions of giving something back to his homeland.
“Football is what I have done all my life and I knew from early on in my career that I would get to this stage and I knew I wanted to stay in football. I wasn’t sure in what capacity I wanted to until I got the opportunity to go to Falkirk three years ago and I started to do the coaching. Now I know because of the satisfaction that I get out of it, what I want to do is management and coaching and definitely if that opportunity comes knocking from Trinidad and Tobago then I definitely will be looking to get involved. At the moment though the focus is on trying to help get the country qualified for the next World Cup and I am contributing to that from a playing aspect which is something that I have enjoyed too since I made my return for the last two games,” said the former FC Porto man.
Theobald received the blessings of head coach Leo Beenhakker before departing for the trial on a British Airways flight out of Tobago and will return to camp once required for the next 2006 World Cup qualifier against Panama on October 8. Beenhakker will finalize his team over the next few days and intends to start a live-in camp the five days before the encounter with the team scheduled to leave Port of Spain for Panama City on October 3.

Q&A with Densill Theobald.

30-Jul-2005 - Densill Theobald recalls the period when he was not being considered for selection on the last Trinidad and Tobago team trying to get to the Olympics in 2003. At the time he was now coming off injury while playing for Caledonia AIA but still he was left disappointed that the coach at the time Stuart Charles Fevrier would not consider him.
Close to two years after, he’s singing a different song, maybe Dutch if you like. The quiet easy going chap from Nelson Street, one known for robberies and other illegal activities in Port of Spain, has become a regular in the current National Senior team trying to get to the 2006 Germany World Cup. Some have said that he's the closest on the team now to Russell Latapy when it comes to passing the ball in a sort of caressing style.
His first real impression on the public came when he came off the bench to set up T&T’s only goal in a 2-1 loss to the United States in the February 9 World Cup qualifier at the Oval. Before that not only a spectacular volley in the preliminary qualifying match against Dominican Republic really did much to his fanbase. That alone would have proven to this midfielder that it takes a lot, maybe only on a big stage, to catch the attention of T&T fans. Surely he’ll be anticipating the August 17 away clash with the Americans.
Last match (against Colombia), Theobald was also resigned to the stands after Leo Beenhakker decided to go with another option in the Gold Cup match against Colombia. But having to work his way up with much of a fight is nothing new to the man they like to call “Bleeder”.
”I’m the youngest of three brothers and it was always hard to get that respect from them. I grew up knowing things wasn’t always easy because sometimes meals weren’t the best and the finance wasn’t always there to get things the way you might like it,” Theobald said.
“Growing up and living in an area where there were a lot of drugs and guns was scary. I have seen men been shot up close already near home in the Nelson. Everyday I get up knowing that I have to be strong to get out of there and get God into my life. He has been there for me. I have never held a gun, do drugs but a lot of people near me have done that,” the former Malick Senior Comprehensive player went on with a softer tone.
“That strength also came from my family and I have also learnt a lot from my mom who passed away when I was in Canada for my first overseas stint. Now I stay with my dad Delano but my aim is to get out of here and have my own home out of that area and get the rest of my family out of the area too.”
Looking back at his early days in the game, ‘Bleeder’ talks about his days playing on the Nelson since the age of five. “Those days you would kick any object in sight.”
“At age 9 I joined Jean Lilly-White White coaching school where my mom encouraged me to go and I took it from there. I learnt the basics of football at that time. I made my first tour to the USA with him in 1995. Then I went on to play for Malick at Under 14, Under 16 and Intercol level.”
He holds aspirations of playing in Europe and has attracted interest from English club Queen’s Park Ranger as well as MLS club Kansas City Wizards. In the meantime though, Theobald is thankful to Neal and Massy Motors for providing him with a TT$3,000 monthly salary to add to his Caledonia wages. And everything else is about playing in Germany come 2006.

Q&A With Densill.

1.What’s your most memorable moment or match, whether for country or Club?
T&T versus Dominican republic when I scored the volley in the first round World Cup qualifier. Because I scored one of the best goals in my career so far. It was a solid performance for me.

2. Name two persons, whether relative or not who have been an inspiration to you.
My mom Jasmine who is no longer alive and my cousin, Jay Stevens who resides in Canada. Mom was always there for me, making sure I attended training and support. Jay helped to understand more about life and what is important off the field as well. His knowledge passed on to me has been a blessing.

3. Any favourite player or team?
Zinedine Zidane, Real Madrid and Kerwyn “Hardest” Jemmott. That’s my Dawg.

4.What would be your preferred other profession.
I like Cricket but I’d maybe go with Tennis.

5. What do you hope to accomplish either in next 5 years or end of playing career.
First of all will be helping Trinidad and Tobago qualify for the 2006 World Cup and to earn a professional contract in Europe. To be remembered as a top notch player.

6. Who’s been among your most admired coaches and why?
Leo Beenhakker at this point, Jah Lilly White and Jamal Shabazz.

7. What do you think of T&T’s chances of making it to the 2006 World Cup.
Our dream is still alive. We just have to grind out the results. We are very much in there right now. We have to take each game on its own merit.

8. Any instances or plays that you always reflect on.
I always try not to take football skills for granted because anytime I could end up being like some of my friends in the ghetto who have nothing to fall back on. The Lord has blessed me with my talent and I always try to go out there to work hard and improve my game ….. to become  a better all round person for the team as well. I always remember my mom’s death, the way she passed away so suddenly in 2001. Life can be so short. I was playing in Canada with Toronto Olympians in the CPSL when I got the news.

9. What’s the best piece of advice you’ve received.
What you give to the world, the world gives back to you. Be honest to yourself. Read that in Michael Jordan’s book and my mom always told me to be honest to myself. Do good and good will follow you.

10.What do you do to relax away from the game.
Relax with friends, go to the movies with my girlfriend and look at a lot of sports on television.

11. What’s your favorite dish?
Macaroni Pie, Lentil peas, rice and some bake chicken with salad at the side. Hott Shoppe Roti and some Kamwah Chinese food. Don’t forget what we get from the Breakfast Shed.

12.Favourite drink
Nothing can beat back a Peanut punch from by Shawn from up on the Nelson.

13. Favorite time of year?
Christmas because it’s the day that Jesus was born. It always makes you realize a lot of things about life.

14.Most comfortable football boot?
Adidas Copa Mundial.

15.What was the high point for you this season as well as the low point?
Being able to earn selection on the national senior team and being consistent with my performances at the international level. Low point was being dropped from the National Team by Bertille St Clair for our first semifinal round game against St Vincent and the Grenadines. Suffering a broken instep in the Digicel Cup in Barbados.

Densill Theobald fit and waiting on Beenhakker.

13-Apr-2005 - National midfielder Densill “Bleeder” Theobald is making himself fit and ready for the return of Head coach Leo Beenhakker in the first week of May.
Theobald suffered an instep injury during the Digicel Caribbean Cup in February and has been ruled out of action since, missing the two 2006 World Cup Qualifying matches against Guatemala and Costa Rica. He earlier impressed in the 2-1 loss to the United States.
His foot had been in a cast but he has since resumed training with Caledonia Fire following a rehab treatment with National Team physiotherapist Zeph Nicholas. Midfielder Arnold Dwarika has also recovered from an ankle strain along with Derek King but Glasgow Rangers defender Marvin Andrews continues to be plagued by his cruciate ligament injury. He’s currently wearing a brace and undergoing rehab but is firm on his decision to avoid surgery. English-born defender Ian Cox has also recovered from a hamstring pull which ruled him out of the Guatemala match.
Theobald should make a return to action in Tuesday’s Pro league fixture between Fire and Vibe CT 105  W Connection.
“I think I have paid my dues with regards to getting over this injury which came at a very bad time for me. Daily rehab and a lot of rest brought me back to where I am now and I feel pretty good. I’m just looking forward to getting back on the pitch in time for when the new coach arrives,” Theobald told TTFF Media on Wednesday.
The former Malick Senior Comprehensive player has been one of the emerging players of recent and he thinks that the introduction of Beenhakker will spark a revival by the “Warriors”.
“I think we were in the process of getting it together as a team but maybe something was missing and I feel that the coming of the new coach could be the turning point. He’s bringing a lot to the team and I think it’s an exciting period for all of us going into the next set of games. Everyone will be anxious to do well especially with the new coach and the fact that we must get a victory against Panama,” Theobald said. He also feels the fans have a pivotal role to play in the team’s drive for success.
“I was in the stands for the Costa Rica game and you could have sensed that there are people who really want to see the team do well but yet you don’t really get that feeling. The people here are too shy or something when it comes to supporting,” Theobald said with a laugh. “They sit there and they don’t urge you on as you see in other countries and as players that extra push from the fans does make a difference in how we feel out there on the field.”
Apart from the ‘Warriors’ experience, Theobald is also anticipating a move to the overseas professional circuit. With English side Queen’s Park Rangers expressing interest, American MLS side Kansas City Wizards has also joined the teams following him. The Wizards, same side of local striker Scott Sealy, wanted Theobald on trial but had to delay because of his injury. They have maintained their interest and according to the player, they are likely to have him over following the 2005 Gold Cup in July. Beenhakker would obviously please to have as many of the regular fit players at his disposal come May.
“It’s important that I have access to most if not all because it’s an important process leading up to the game and with me now taking over the team. Apart from getting feedback and seeing what the players have done before, it would be a plus to have everyone around,”  Beenhakker said.

QPR calls Densill Theobald for trials.

09-Mar-2005 - National midfielder Densill “Bleeder” Theobald has been invited to trials by English Championship Division club Queen’s Park Rangers.
The 22-year-old playmaker, scheduled to travel to the club last week, had to push back the time as a stress fracture on his instep forced him to the sidelines. He could be out for up to two weeks.
The injury was sustained during the recent Digicel Caribbean Cup Finals in Barbados.
“It’s good to have been invited by Queen’s Park, but right now I am disappointed, because there is not much I can do because of the injury.
“I’m hoping that treatment and rest can cure me in time for the matches coming up, but it’s going to be close,” Theobald said on Monday.
The Caledonia Fire player was treated for the injury by Barbados-based Trinidadian Dr Mario John, following the 3-2 win over Barbados. He will undergo further treatment with national team physiotherapists Zeph Nicholas and David Cumberbatch.
QPR is currently 12th on the Championship table and manager Ian Holloway will be hoping Theobald recovers fully. Meanwhile, Densill Theobald's team-mate at Caledonia AIA Fire, national striker Conrad Smith, is expected to join Canadian A-League side Toronto Lynx, after agreeing to a new deal earlier.

Caledonia Fire’s Densill Theobald out for 3 weeks.

By: Joel Villafana -ttproleague.com
08-Mar-2004 - Caledonia AIA Fire’s young inspirational midfielder Densill Theobald is out injured and out for at least 3 weeks and will most likely miss Trinidad and Tobago’s next World Cup qualifier against Guatemala on March 26th.
The talented midfielder has fractured his left instep and his foot will be in a cast for 10-12 days.
The 22-year-old midfielder, who has impressed this year at the international level with the ‘Soca Warriors’ expressed disappointment at not being able to play in the upcoming Guatemalan clash, but he is looking on the positive side.
“Yes I am disappointed, but I am always one to look at things in a positive light, but yes I would have certainly liked to play against Guatemala especially after having a good game against the USA, but I guess that’s how it is sometimes.”
Densill Theobald has credited his rise in the game to two men, National Coach Bertille St. Clair and Caledonia Fire’s Coach Jamal Shabazz.
According to Theobald, both St. Clair and Shabazz pushed him to the limit and ensure he gave his best, “I worked hard over the years, I believe in hard work and I just want to continue doing my best for my club and my country.”
He told ‘ttproleague.com’ that the strongest aspect of his game is his passing ability, finding that pass that can create something positive on the field as well as inspiring his fellow teammates around him.
Looking ahead, the 22-year-old midfielder says he is aiming to have a much better season in 2005, “Last season was pretty o.k. for me, but this year I will be working hard to achieve a certain level of consistency in my performances.”
Theobald believes he was born to play football, “I started to seriously play the game when I was about six years of age and from then I knew I wanted to play the game professionally and make it my career, he says he is enjoying his stint with Caledonia Fire—but says if a overseas contract comes his way he will welcome it with open arms,” says Theobald.

'Bleeder' beating the ghetto trap.

Gregory Trujillo - Trinidad Guardian.
23-Feb-2005 - To many of his close friends and teammates on the national senior football squad, he is called "Bleeder." Densill Theobald, got the sobriquet "Bleeder" in the "ghetto" on Nelson Street, Port-of-Spain, where he lives.
Like his pal and national colleague Kerwyn Jemmott, who hails from the same area and is better know as "Hardest," Theobald has blossomed into one of the country's leading midfield players.
Although he had been making waves in the T&T Professional Football League for his club Caledonia AIA Fire, "Bleeder" has now moved a step higher and has had fans calling for him to be a starter on the national side after coming off the bench against the United States a fortnight ago in the country's opening match in the World Cup qualifying series at Queen's Park Oval.
Those who knew nothing of him before the Ash Wednesday game were asking more about the 22-year-old player after he added some spark to the T&T attack, when introduced for 19 minutes.
"Bleeder" eventually laid-off the ball which led to the goal by Angus Eve, which gave the home team supporters and players some hope in a fiery closing to an exciting encounter.
"I knew I had to go out there and make an impact. I didn't get into the starting team and I couldn't just let the chance to play in a big match like this just go away.
"I have worked hard in training and I want to do something to help the team once I am on the field.
"A lot of people have been calling for me to start now, but I won't rush into things, because maybe if I had started the last game, I may not have done too much. I'll take it one step at a time for now."
How he got the unusual name "Bleeder" is a question by itself?
"I got that name about 10 years ago. I had my first encounter with a girl and got so 'tiz-zick' that I ran home with a speed. On my way, I passed one of my best friends like a flash. He saw me 'bleeding' and from there on everyone called me 'Bleeder'.
Born June 27, 1982, Densill is the son of Jasmine and Delano Theobald.
In addition to battling with all that goes on around him in the ghetto - the drugs, the crime, the killings, the kidnappings and the breakdown of family life - "Bleeder" has had to put up with the death of his mother four years ago.
At the time of her sudden death, he was playing semi-professionally for Toronto Olympians in Canada.
He came home for the funeral on February 15, 2001, and did not return to Canada.
"When she died, I was shocked. It was painful for me. She was so close to me and meant so much to me that I felt like giving up the game," he noted.
"After taking a real hard look, I realised that I was the only one to make a difference in the family," he added.
"While I wanted to spend more time with my dad and three brothers, my focus was also bent on playing for the national team."
One of his brothers, Earnell is very close to him. "I call him my manager. He makes sure that my football clothes are clean and makes sure I eat on time and I get my night rest."
Densill, who got his primary education at Nelson Street Boys' RC before moving to Malick Senior Comprehensive where he acquired GCE passes in English and Principles of Accounts, played for Malick from Under-14 right up to the Championship Division.
"Bleeder" insisted that it hasn't been easy for him living on Nelson Street where the ringing out of gun shots, whether day or night, has become a norm.
"Growing up in the ghetto environment as a boy was a struggle. We played football on the streets and sometimes between the plannings (buildings) with anything you could kick.
"I must say that I admire my parents. They were always strict and disciplined. We (my brothers and I) had to be inside by a certain hour and must read a book before going to sleep. They made us say our prayers before going to bed and we had to go to church on Sundays.
"I was never exposed to drugs and crime, although it was happening all around me. I was one who never wanted to live that type of life.
"From day one, I also knew what I wanted to do and be in this world.
As a 20-year-old, Densill captained Caledonia AIA in his first season, which he claimed was a "learning experience".
The following year he left for the club of FIFA first vice-prsident Jack Warner, Joe Public but spent only one season there before rejoining Caledonia.
Asked why he did not stay at Joe Public, he said it was for "personal reasons".
His coach at Caledonia AIA Fire, Jamal Shabazz, believes that "Bleeder" has a bright future.
"Because of his skill and vision, I always felt that he was Pro League material and that one day he would become a player like Russell Latapy," said Shabazz.
"I have seen him improve tremendously, especially his work-rate. He is using the ball more effectively and is becoming more mature.
"Bleeder" is being sought by clubs in the MLS (Major League Soccer) in the United States and there are a couple of people in England interested in him.
"An official of the MLS and also people in England have been asking about him.
"I believe he now has to focus on cementing his place on the national team before he thinks about going abroad.
"Obtaining a career internationally depends on national team caps. That's the first step and everything will fall in place," Shabazz stated.
Theobald, who has represented both the national Under-17 and Under-23 teams, claimed that current national coach Bertille St Clair has been instrumental in getting him to work harder.
He said: "I believe that coach St Clair is the main reason for my improvement because he always pushes me to do better and work harder and maintain a consistent performance."
"I try my best to be influencial in both attack and defence - something I don't see many local players doing.
"I always try to fit into my schedule some individual training apart from that with Caledonia and the national team. That, I know, will make me better and help me to achieve my goals. "I keep fit because of the extra training I do on my own, eating properly and sleeping regular.
"I will like to see myself playing professionally in England or Spain.
"But my main focus now is working hard and letting God take care of the other things in life." At the moment, "Bleeder" survives on the salary he gets from Caledonia AIA Fire, sponsored by Neal and Massy Limited.

‘Bleeder’ leaves them calling.

16-Feb-2005 - The performance put on by second-half substitute, Densill Theobald, last Wednesday against the Americans have left many calling for him to be in the starting team.
Those who knew nothing of him, they were asking more about this Caledonia AIA/Fire player.
Theobald, referred to as “Bleeder” by his team-mates, added some spark to the T&T attack, when he was introduced, eventually laying off the ball which led to Angus Eve’s goal.
“I knew I had to go out there and make an impact. I didn’t get into the starting team and I couldn’t just let the chance to play in a big match like this just go away.
“I have worked hard in training and I want to do something to help the team once I am on the field.
“A lot of people have been calling for me to start now, but I won’t rush into things, because maybe if I had started the last game, I may not have done too much.
“I’ll take it one step at a time for now,” said the 22-year old from Nelson Street, Port-of- Spain.
Among the other home-based pros making an impact in the match included defenders Anton Pierre, and Marlon Rojas, who is carded to join American MLS side Real Salt Lake soon for pre-season training. The likes of Atiba Charles, Michael Celestine and Keyeno Thomas are also knocking on the selection door.

Densill Theobald’s been watching David.

02-Jan-2005 - Maybe he’s the only player on the current national team with the ability to execute a deadly through ball, or with the vision to play similar to David Nakhid.
And he’s not afraid to confess that he watches videos of Nakhid and Russell Latapy during their playing days for this country.
Arima Morvant Fire midfielder Densill Theobald, up to late last year, thought his chances of brushing shoulders with Nakhid had been gone. But he was all smiles when Nakhid’s appointment as assistant coach came.
“It’s a joy for me to be working with David these days. I’ve grown up watching him play and up to this day I still try to get my hand on tapes with him and ‘Latas’ (Russell Latapy) playing for Trinidad.
“I try to emulate them in my style of play and I think that once I can keep working hard, my chances of making similar plays like they did will only improve,” said Theobald.
Last week he sourced a tape of T&T’s first leg 2002 World Cup qualifier against the United States so he could see Latapy’s last appearance for T&T. The 22-year-old player from Nelson Street, Port of Spain, was in the T&T team that played Haiti at the Queen’s Park Oval yesterday.
Denzil also gave his thoughts on Dwight Yorke return to T&T; "For me, it's a real pleasure to be working with Dwight and I am certain myself and the other guys who may not have played much with him before can pick up certain things from him that can benefit the team on a whole and we too will be working to ensure that our game is at a decent level." No doubt Yorke would welcome such words from his once again teammates.

Back To The Top.