Typography

#9 - Midfielder Hughtun Hector vs MexicoMidfielder Hughtun Hector is on a fine run with Song Lam Nghe An in the Vietnam Premier League. The ex-W Connection man has played 18 league matches so far and has found then net seven times while contributing seven assists.

He has already taken home a winner’s medal after helping the club to the Vietnamese Super Cup and is hoping to help them into the top three position as they currently occupy fifth position on the League table.

“I’m enjoying this experience a whole lot. Questions were raised about playing and living in Vietnam but it’s been tremendous so far. The football league is here is well organised and the standard is pretty good. Overall the experience in Vietnam has been really good for me,” Hector said.

The season ends in August with a one month break in June. “The standard of the League is better than back home in terms of the environment and the atmosphere in the stadiums. Sometimes you get like 15,000 fans coming to watch games and to hear them chanting your name is pretty cool.

If the T&T Pro League could get anything close to that it would make it much better for players and for the overall vibe at the stadiums,” said the Point Fortin-born player. Hector resides in a team apartment which he says is perfect for him. “Everything here is very comfortable.

I’ve got my own room with internet, television... the full works. It’s nothing like you would think of when you hear of Vietnam. The country has a history with war and stuff but for me it’s just another country with a good football league and I feel very safe here plus I’m enjoying playing here,” Hector said.

“My teammates and I even go out liming on our off nights. They’ve got nightclubs and restaurants here that are quite cool.

Okay, maybe they dance a little funny compared to what I am accustomed to back home but it’s not bad at all,” he added. The 27-year-old has six goals in 19 appearances for the T&T senior team.