February 05, 2025, 01:45:14 AM

Author Topic: From TV to M.L.S., One Mexican Teen’s Soccer Dream  (Read 5887 times)

From TV to M.L.S., One Mexican Teen’s Soccer Dream
« on: June 10, 2008, 04:32:17 AM »
From TV to M.L.S., One Mexican Teen’s Soccer Dream

To describe how Jorge Flores ended up here — an unknown teenager traveling to South America and Europe to play for his country after emerging quite literally from a cast of thousands to win a tryout with Chivas USA — a word is worth a thousand pictures.

Sueño.

It is the Spanish term for dream. It is also the key word in the title of the “American Idol”-like tryout he won on Spanish-language television, “Sueño MLS.” Mostly, though, it is an apt description of the head-spinning path his life has taken in the last year.

(continue)

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
Re: From TV to M.L.S., One Mexican Teen’s Soccer Dream
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2008, 11:30:09 PM »
This story here touch me personally...it good to c where d youth come from and now he make it. I realise he ent makin much $ but that is another story, have alot of talented youths out here who never fulfill they dream.

I wonder if something like this could work in trini...ah reality show on something like Synergy or one ah dem...where d winner get this kinda opportunity, very positive thing for youths.

As a man use to watch Arima Snr Comp from like 89 - 01...i c many fellaz who was real good come and go, hail as kings in the street, then 2 years after they leave school they sprangin, jus smokin weed and doin nuthin with they self. One was a bredrin ah mine...make intercol all star team in like 98-99 around there...was a reaaal good player who all kind of teams wanted. Went home in 05...he was in gang and thing...doin robbery and everything...i ask y he not playin ball anymore...he said to me $ comin easier with the life he livin...a few months later i get a call men pump mad shots in him and he dead...so when i c something like this help one person...is ah real good look. bless
It's only kinky the 1st time

« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2008, 12:14:39 AM »
Yeah 2Cents...this is a real positive story.  Can you imagine the odds this kid beat?  But see this is the problem I have with many hispanic immigrants to the US...as I was reading this last week I couldn't help but look at the fact that this yute was born here, true he left, but came back and went to HS and everything, yet could barely speak a lick of English.  In fact had it not been for this opportunity he'd be consigned to a life of construction or picking fruit as some seasonal laborer.  Nothing wrong with those jobs, those are honorable livings and we can't all have cushy office jobs, but still...a critical lack of achievement because many don't realize the opportunity before them.

Anyways that's my semi-conservative rant...and as anti-immigrant as I would ever sound.  I'm happy for Jorge Flores, he's truly living a dream and for him and his family's sake I hope this leads to better things.

« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2008, 01:22:11 AM »
Don't be surprised if this kid soon gets a callup to the USA U-20 team.

« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2008, 07:09:52 AM »
thx 4 the positive article zep.

this is like the "Goal" movie in real life.

« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2008, 09:51:56 AM »
A very nice story

« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2008, 04:42:43 AM »
Flores makes the grade despite unusual background

Jorge Flores might be the only reality-show winner in the world to claim that avenue as a path to a professional soccer career. Though it went under the radar of many because the program was a Spanish language production, "Sueno MLS" was a show that tested out around 2,000 hopefuls in rounds of trials before declaring Flores the winner in 2007, the inaugural year of the competition. They awarded him a youth contract and later upgraded that to a roster spot on the MLS team that hosted the event, Chivas USA.

To a certain extent, Flores' route wasn't too unusual. Teams all over the world hold open tryouts to recruit players.

"My case was actually similar," said Chivas USA defender Claudio Suarez. "I went to try my luck with a team and that's what Jorge did.

(continue)

« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2008, 07:43:46 AM »
Jorge "El Sueño" Flores has been called up to the USA U-20 squad.

And for a game against Mexico, of all opponents.

http://www.ussoccer.com/articles/viewArticle.jsp_7340035.html

« Reply #8 on: July 03, 2008, 10:21:22 AM »
good for jorge but i notice that it have a fella with a tini sounding name on that US U20 roster.

Balchan, Richard   D   6-0   165   01/18/89   Carmel, Ind.   Indiana University

another potential soca warrior??????

« Reply #9 on: July 03, 2008, 11:50:49 AM »
good for jorge but i notice that it have a fella with a tini sounding name on that US U20 roster.

Balchan, Richard   D   6-0   165   01/18/89   Carmel, Ind.   Indiana University

another potential soca warrior??????

Doubt it.

But here's his bio if you want to see more of him.

http://iuhoosiers.cstv.com/sports/m-soccer/mtt/balchan_rich00.html

« Reply #10 on: July 03, 2008, 01:28:30 PM »
u never know zeppo.

IU is one of the best NCAA programs and this youth obviously good enuff to make the US U20 side.

we go take him for the TT senior side.

« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2008, 02:19:16 PM »
I know you guys are big on picking up our scraps.

But I'd wait on seeing some proof of his Trini ancestry before getting too excited.

« Reply #12 on: July 03, 2008, 07:59:23 PM »

But I'd wait on seeing some proof of his Trini ancestry before getting too excited.

No need to live up to the stereotype of the typical asshole American... the guy just asked a simple question.  Statements like this is what contributes to the US being so villified around the world.

« Reply #13 on: July 04, 2008, 03:48:46 AM »
I kindly responded to his simple question by providing additional information on the player. Then he responded by saying, "we go take him for the TT senior side." 

By now it's obvious that forumites as well as people in your federation pour over the U.S. youth rosters in the hopes of snagging a player for the T&T side: Findley, Kirk, Patterson, etc. And I'm sure you guys would just love it if another country tried to constantly snap up your youth players.

Sorry if you don't like the way I phrased it, but I guess the truth hurts sometimes.

« Reply #14 on: July 04, 2008, 09:53:33 AM »
I kindly responded to his simple question by providing additional information on the player. Then he responded by saying, "we go take him for the TT senior side." 

By now it's obvious that forumites as well as people in your federation pour over the U.S. youth rosters in the hopes of snagging a player for the T&T side: Findley, Kirk, Patterson, etc. And I'm sure you guys would just love it if another country tried to constantly snap up your youth players.

Sorry if you don't like the way I phrased it, but I guess the truth hurts sometimes.

By now the only thing that's obvious is that you couldn't pull your head out your ass even with forceps and an extra pair of hands.  If people in our federation as you put it were so desperate to grab these players then why did they decline Findley's offers years ago to play for the squad?  Why didn't they make a push for Ricardo Clark when the opportunity was there?  Besides... since they're 'your scraps'... why should you care.

"I'm sure you guys would just love it if another country tried to constantly snap up your youth players".... most people with real lives would chuckle and shrug it off, after all it's still the player's choice, no?  But understandably you have no life and feel the need to act like some obsessed mother hen around 'your' players.  Why don't you just pee all around them instead?  It works for the big cats...I'm sure it would work just as well for a pussy like you.

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #15 on: July 04, 2008, 11:17:16 AM »

By now the only thing that's obvious is that you couldn't pull your head out your ass even with forceps and an extra pair of hands.  If people in our federation as you put it were so desperate to grab these players then why did they decline Findley's offers years ago to play for the squad?  Why didn't they make a push for Ricardo Clark when the opportunity was there?  Besides... since they're 'your scraps'... why should you care.

"I'm sure you guys would just love it if another country tried to constantly snap up your youth players".... most people with real lives would chuckle and shrug it off, after all it's still the player's choice, no?  But understandably you have no life and feel the need to act like some obsessed mother hen around 'your' players.  Why don't you just pee all around them instead?  It works for the big cats...I'm sure it would work just as well for a pussy like you.
:rotfl:  :beermug: ah love dis forum too bad !!!  :beermug:  :beermug:  :beermug:

« Reply #16 on: July 04, 2008, 12:03:52 PM »
If people in our federation as you put it were so desperate to grab these players then why did they decline Findley's offers years ago to play for the squad?  Why didn't they make a push for Ricardo Clark when the opportunity was there? 

Incompetence? The rest I'm hearing from you is just noise. Blah, blah, blah...

Anyway, have fun combing the A League!

« Reply #17 on: July 04, 2008, 04:56:26 PM »
If people in our federation as you put it were so desperate to grab these players then why did they decline Findley's offers years ago to play for the squad?  Why didn't they make a push for Ricardo Clark when the opportunity was there? 

Incompetence? The rest I'm hearing from you is just noise. Blah, blah, blah...

Anyway, have fun combing the A League!

What's even funnier still is the fact that you have the nerve to talk about picking up other people scraps...lol.

Tabare Ramos, Ernie Stewart, Carlos Llamosa, Thomas Dooley...Benny Feilhaber....tell us Sherlock, what do these American players all have in common?  That's right, they were either bought in exchange for citizenship or otherwise imported from some foreign culture...Thomas Dooley speaks English with a heavy German accent, Ernie Stewart barely speaks any English... and even Jorge fukkin Flores...can't speak a lick of English.

So yeah... tell us again about picking other people's scrap heap for players...

« Reply #18 on: July 04, 2008, 06:37:32 PM »

Wateva Zeppo- firstly our federation isn't trying to "snag up" enough U.S. youth players for it to even make a blip on the radar so don't act like the TTFF is the cause of any football talent drain on the U.S.  ...so ease up on the drama queen routine..

Secondly- Players with multiple nationalities have the choice to play whoever they please- that's not our fault...

Lastly- As BnS implied don't think for a second that the U.S. wouldn't do the same if it actually had talent with U.S. roots being developed in stronger global regions...that's just how it goes. In fact, before the U.S.  nat'l programs were competitive, I'm pretty sure it was very much done....

...so hush.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2008, 06:41:35 PM by kicker »

« Reply #19 on: July 05, 2008, 03:16:57 AM »
Tabare Ramos, Ernie Stewart, Carlos Llamosa, Thomas Dooley...Benny Feilhaber....tell us Sherlock, what do these American players all have in common?  That's right, they were either bought in exchange for citizenship or otherwise imported from some foreign culture...Thomas Dooley speaks English with a heavy German accent, Ernie Stewart barely speaks any English... and even Jorge f**kkin Flores...can't speak a lick of English.

The USA is a nation of immigrants because millions of people want to move there.

T&T is not, because people do not want to move there. In fact, it seems that most people there want to move away.

« Reply #20 on: July 05, 2008, 07:12:26 AM »
Tabare Ramos, Ernie Stewart, Carlos Llamosa, Thomas Dooley...Benny Feilhaber....tell us Sherlock, what do these American players all have in common?  That's right, they were either bought in exchange for citizenship or otherwise imported from some foreign culture...Thomas Dooley speaks English with a heavy German accent, Ernie Stewart barely speaks any English... and even Jorge f**kkin Flores...can't speak a lick of English.

The USA is a nation of immigrants because millions of people want to move there.

T&T is not, because people do not want to move there. In fact, it seems that most people there want to move away.

Try to make an intelligent post if you will, the economy of TT (among other factors) has enticed migration from other neighbouring Caribbean islands/territories and other nations (including many South American countries) for many decades inspite of the recent uptick in the crime rate.  When a nation of 1.3 million the size of Delaware can boast of being the #1 producer of basic chemicals worldwide (Ammonia and Methanol) and a large supplier of LNG and oil, including supplying some 70% of the US' LNG that says volumes.

This is a forum of friends comprised of experts in many different arenas (including football) so think before posting or spare us the verbal diarrhoea

« Reply #21 on: July 05, 2008, 09:33:33 AM »

yeah... that's why TnT is the most cosmopolitan of all caribbean countries and has been that way since the early 1930's when the oil boom took off.  Today it's the fastest growing economy in the western hemisphere and the number one exporter of Ammonia and Methanol and the number one supplier of Natural Gas to the US, as pointed out.  As with any booming economy it attracts immigrants...and Trinidad is no different with a fresh influx of immigrants from South America, Asia, Africa and Europe.

So this coming winter when yuh turn on yuh stove to boil yuh Ramen noodles or yuh turn up yuh heat to stave off the winter chill... think about that while we count your dollars.  Then again, don't think about it... just continue to feed our economy and watch us smile in silence. 

Typical of so many Americans... can't tell you their asshole from their elbows... let alone know what's going on in other parts of the world.  No wonder Bush was able to steal the damn election with so much ignorance rampant in the US.  Go pick up a book and educate yourself before you open your mouth and reveal the true expanse of the vacuum between your ears you inbred.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2008, 09:36:04 AM by Bake n Buljol »

« Reply #22 on: July 05, 2008, 11:36:17 AM »
Andre yuh see wuh yuh cause, on ah weekend when zeppo should be eatin he hotdog, apple pie and flappin he flag..yuh ha de man collectin online licks

everybody know america is de greatest, no other immigrants desire to move anywhere else but america, allyuh ha de best teams, de best grocers, de best corn soup man.. allyuh does even spell best better than everybody

zeppo doh worry wit dese fellahs,, go to the best mall in yuh area and buy the best on yuh best credit card. enjoy yuh life
I bet the rare time anybody in america have a problem, is a better easier problem to solve than anybody else on the globe

« Reply #23 on: July 06, 2008, 12:33:20 PM »

Picking up on scraps?

A rather bodacious statement coming from an American.

Would it be better to woo immigrants from other countries and pretend that they are really from ur country?

« Reply #24 on: July 06, 2008, 12:35:17 PM »

Picking up on scraps?

A rather bodacious statement coming from an American.

Would it be better to woo immigrants from other countries and pretend that they are really from ur country?

"much Adu about nothing" there Zeppo :devil:

and before anyone says anything.....yeah, he is NOT a scrap ;)
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 12:39:53 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #25 on: July 07, 2008, 06:39:20 AM »

ironic statement considering the original subject matter of this thread.

buena suerte to jorge flores as he represents the USA vs. the mexican U20 squad.

« Reply #26 on: July 07, 2008, 03:08:54 PM »
I never questioned anyone's elligibility to play for T&T.

Just saying that you guys are good at scooping up the Yanks with Trini roots once they realize they have no shot with the USA. Like Patterson, for example.

« Reply #27 on: July 07, 2008, 03:11:14 PM »
Flores gets shot at Mexico

When the United States under-20 national team takes on Mexico next Friday in Laredo, Texas, a certain member of the American team might have his mind drift to what might have been.

Jorge Flores, the 18-year-old midfielder who has been a true spark this season for Chivas USA with three goals (and two game-winners), will face off against the country where he spent most of his life.

In fact, he admitted this week his dream was to play for Mexico when he was a youngster in Penjamo, Guanajuato.

(continue)

« Reply #28 on: July 07, 2008, 07:47:32 PM »
I never questioned anyone's elligibility to play for T&T.

Just saying that you guys are good at scooping up the Yanks with Trini roots once they realize they have no shot with the USA. Like Patterson, for example.

We must be following in the US lead then... scooping up 'Yanks' with foreign roots who themselves have/had no chance on the national squads of their land of birth...