April 19, 2024, 08:36:45 AM

Author Topic: 2014 Holiday Food Drive  (Read 5044 times)

2014 Holiday Food Drive
« on: November 08, 2014, 09:46:08 PM »
2014 Holiday Food Drive

This is the eighth edition of our annual charity/food drive to help the less fortunate amongst us. This year we have selected Mothers' Union Children's Home from San Fernando to be the recipient of our donations.

Let's show our Warrior spirit and help to provide the kids with fundamental items which we may take for granted.

Please get your friends, co-workers and family involved. Thank you for supporting this food drive which will benefit our children. Donation details are outlined below.

About Mothers' Union Children's Home (M.U.C.H.)
The Mothers' Union is an organization that campaigns and lobbies on National and International issues such as parental rights, child abuse and the protection of children. With these ideals in place and working with other NGOs and ecumenical groups, the Mothers' Union Children's Home was formally opened in 2001. For years the organization has strived to fulfill its objectives, to provide favourable conditions for stable family life and the protection of children, and to help those whose family life had been met with adversity. To this day the Home has been a place of refuge for children who are victims of abuse and those who are temporarily displaced. The Home has provided a safe and nurturing environment for these disadvantaged children ranging in age from 18 months to 12 years, all of whom were referred to by the Social Services and Family Unit of the Ministry of Social and Community Development.

Monetary contributions can be made via Paypal by clicking on the button below:

or you can send a check or money order to:

Soca Warriors Supporters Club
PO Box 566088
Miami, FL 33256-6088

Food can be dropped off at the following locations at the designated times. The deadline is Wednesday, December 17th. Please call or e-mail before delivering the goods.

NORTH:
Park Plaza - First Floor
Corner of Park and St. Vincent Streets, Port of Spain
Drop off time:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, 10 AM - 4 PM
Wednesday, Friday, 10 AM - 2 PM
Contact: Joann Charles (e-mail: jcharlestnt@hotmail.com, phone: 754-9226)

EAST:
#4 Fourth Street West
Cazabon Avenue, Trincity
Drop off time: Monday-Friday, 8 AM - 6 PM
Contact: Dayne Brizan (e-mail: zionsoldier@hotmail.com, phone: 732-2784)

PLEASE! No fresh fruits or vegetables. Non-perishable items only.

Here is a sample list of acceptable items:
  • Canned Fish: Tuna, Salmon, Sardine, Mackerel
  • Rice, and Dry & Canned Beans/Peas
  • Spaghetti, Macaroni & Cheese, Pasta Sauce
  • Evaporated milk, Powdered milk, Aseptic milk
  • Peanut Butter, Jam/Jelly
  • Fruit Juice (Cans, Bottles, Boxes)
  • Dried Fruit
  • Nuts
  • Soup
  • Bread, Biscuit/Crackers
  • Cereal
  • Flour
  • Sugar, Salt
  • Toothpaste, Toothbrush, Shampoo, Soap, Detergent, Deodorant, Toilet Paper

Past Food/Charity Drives
2013 - Operation Salvation (Laventille/Morvant)
2012 - Operation Smile Home for Children (Williamsville)
2011 - Ferndean Children's Home (Point Fortin)
2010 - Sylphil Home in Love (Scarborough, Tobago)
2009 - Individual families recommended by a Medical Social Worker for St. George West
2008 - Phillip’s Children Home (Couva)
2007 - FEEL (Foundation for the Enhancement and Enrichment Of Life)
« Last Edit: December 17, 2014, 03:32:46 PM by Tallman »

Re: 2014 Holiday Food Drive
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2014, 04:34:02 AM »
Time is clicking guys, its for a good cause.

« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2014, 10:04:53 PM »
Time is clicking guys, its for a good cause.

It is on its way.

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2014, 07:57:15 PM »
We making it easy for de local-based. All of those who will be in attendance at de T&T Women vs Ecuador match can simply give weary1969 their donation on that day. Don't worry, you will not have to meet her in de car park and throw money in de backseat of a Mercedes Benz. Give her a call at 754-9226 or email her beforehand at jcharlestnt@hotmail.com.

« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2014, 08:19:01 PM »
We making it easy for de local-based. All of those who will be in attendance at de T&T Women vs Ecuador match can simply give weary1969 their donation on that day. Don't worry, you will not have to meet her in de car park and throw money in de backseat of a Mercedes Benz. Give her a call at 754-9226 or email her beforehand at jcharlestnt@hotmail.com.

Now self dey eh go bring none how I go be able 2 afford a Benz?

« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2014, 08:22:18 PM »
BTW 150 alone deposited peeps. Dec 1st is tomorrow lets get goin PEEPS.

« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2014, 10:29:18 AM »
Man does come here with they big f00cking mouth that they not giving money to0 de TTFA how they go thief it.

Ah wonder what is they excuse now?

Trinidadians is a bunch of f00cking low-cho.

« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2014, 09:37:57 AM »
COME ON PEOPLE, we only have 10 more days. Let's put some smiles on these children's faces. Pass de money or donate some food items.

Thank You to those who have already contributed.

« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2014, 09:40:27 AM »
Come on guys, even if its $5.00 bucks ( ;D) , anything to help the kids.

« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2014, 05:27:10 PM »
I tried to use the Paypal donate method but I didn't get through............Let me give it another try......

« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2014, 05:30:46 PM »
I will have to drop off food stuff........I eh know what happening with the paypal option.  I usually have no problems using it..............

« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2014, 10:02:28 AM »
$365 is what we collect so far.

« Reply #12 on: December 16, 2014, 10:40:00 AM »
Thank You Organic for your contribution

« Reply #13 on: December 16, 2014, 11:11:39 AM »
We reach 505 keep it coming.

« Reply #14 on: December 16, 2014, 01:25:29 PM »
Thank You Patriot for your contribution.

Offline royalian

« Reply #15 on: December 16, 2014, 05:15:17 PM »
Done, sorry for the last minute contribution.

« Reply #16 on: December 17, 2014, 07:19:00 AM »
OK, allyuh procrastinators have until about 3pm to get in allyuh last-minute donations.

« Reply #17 on: December 17, 2014, 08:17:49 AM »
Done, sorry for the last minute contribution.

« Reply #18 on: December 17, 2014, 08:19:32 AM »
As Tman say we on the home stretch we have 600 food eh cheap so lets see if we can help this home with as much as possible.

« Reply #19 on: December 17, 2014, 10:18:22 AM »
 :beermug: Touches food items in meh office

« Reply #20 on: December 17, 2014, 11:05:05 AM »
Thanks Dinhio and Jah Gol we starting to look lil decent.

« Reply #21 on: December 17, 2014, 01:40:56 PM »
Thanks Brownsugar

« Reply #22 on: December 17, 2014, 03:32:38 PM »
THANK YOU to all those who contributed. We'll update you once the items have been handed out.

« Reply #23 on: December 27, 2014, 08:34:50 AM »
Much joy for children in San Fernando
By Nigel Myers (SWO).

The socawarriors.net community has once again been able to rise to the occasion and deliver food items to children in need. For our eighth annual Holiday Food Drive, we directed the proceeds to the Mothers’ Union Children’s Home in San Fernando.

Through the benevolence of our contributors we were able to ensure that the home’s residents had food on their tables during this time of year. We give a big thank you to all of those individuals and organizations who made this possible.

About Mothers' Union Children's Home (M.U.C.H.)

The Mothers' Union is an organization that campaigns and lobbies on National and International issues such as parental rights, child abuse and the protection of children. With these ideals in place and working with other NGOs and ecumenical groups, the Mothers' Union Children's Home was formally opened in 2001.

For years the organization has strived to fulfill its objectives, to provide favourable conditions for stable family life and the protection of children, and to help those whose family life had been met with adversity.

To this day the Home has been a place of refuge for children who are victims of abuse and those who are temporarily displaced. The Home has provided a safe and nurturing environment for these disadvantaged children ranging in age from 18 months to 12 years, all of whom were referred to by the Social Services and Family Unit of the Ministry of Social and Community Development.

DONATED ITEMS

Item   Quantity
Purex   1 pkt
Vienna Sausage   2 tin
Maggi Vegetable Soup Mix   4 pkts
Macaroni   1 pkt
Peanut Butter   1 tube
Tuna   2 tins
Corned beef   1 tin
Lentil Peas   1 pkt
Split Peas   1 pkt
Tooth Paste   1 tube
Rice   1 pkt
Palmolive   12 bars
Soya Bean Oil   2 bottles
Lentil Peas   4 tins
Peas and Carrots   3 tins
Corned Beef   2 tins
Condensed Milk   4 tins
Kidney Beans   3 tins
Red Beans   1 tin
Green Pigeon Peas   6 tins
Black Eyed Peas   2 tins
Whole Peeled Tomatoes   2 tins
Fruit Cocktail   2 tins
Grapefruit juice   1
Orange juice   1
Whole Corn   7 tins
Creamed Corn   1 tin
Mackerel In Tomato Sauce   2 tins
Curry Channa   1 tin
Vienna Sausage   4 tins
Sardines   6 tins
Tapeo Latino   1 tin
Toilet Paper   40 rolls

PURCHASED ITEMS

Item   Quantity
Powdered Milk   4 pkts
Coconut Milk Powder   20
Ciff   4 pkts
Macaroni   30 pkts
Crix   40 pkts
Evaporated Milk   48 boxes
Fruit Cocktail   64 pkts
Milo   2 tins
Oats   8 pkts
Microwave Popcorn   32 pkts
Oreo biscuits   60 pkts
Orchard Juice   48 pkts
Devon Biscuit   96 pkts
Corn Flakes   10 pkts
Ketchup   24 pkts
Mayonnaise   4 btls
Powder soap   2 large pkts
Peanut Butter   4 btls
Tang   2 large bts
Salt   4 pkts
Colgate   12 large boxes
Sugar   2 large pkts
Elbows   6 pkts
Twists   6 pkts
Vienna Sausage   36 tins
Spaghetti   30 tins
Oil   1 lt
Split Peas   9 pkts
Lentil Peas   9 pkts
Mixed Peas   9 pkts
Noodles   12 pkts
Gel Cups   32 pkts
Harpic   4 btls
Scotch Brite   6
Disinfectant cleaner   5 tubes
Rice   2 large pkts
Bleach   2 large btls
Laundry Detergent   2 large pkts
Hershey’s Chocolate   260
Bath Soap   48 bars
Tooth Paste   12 tubes
Condensed Milk   24 tins
Pigeon Peas   18 tins
Mixed Vegetables   12 tins
Nesquik   2 btls
Snacks   36 pkts

We would like to acknowledge the following people for their support:

asylumseeker
Juma Bridgewater
Joann Charles
Peter DeCoteau
Chris De La Rosa
Robert Engelmann
Darryl Frontin
Damian Joseph
Peter Khan
Inshan Mohammed
Nigel Myers
Duane Pena
Kevin Reveley
Omar Romero and MAD FC
Nigel Scott
Samuel Edwards
Patricia Smart
Brian Springer
Denzil Streete
Antonio Tobas
Anthony Valley
Marvin Wiley
« Last Edit: December 27, 2014, 11:53:31 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #24 on: December 27, 2014, 08:36:55 AM »
22 members donated, imagine that and we have thousands here and this is for the kids.

Weary, do you have more photos?

« Last Edit: December 27, 2014, 11:53:41 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #25 on: December 27, 2014, 08:46:52 AM »
Weary, do you have more photos?

All of the photos more or less showed the same thing. We didn't have a photographer this year as we have had in the past.

« Reply #26 on: December 27, 2014, 03:02:35 PM »
Flex boi camera and I are enemies. We have to find Pardners he is d camera man

« Reply #27 on: December 27, 2014, 05:06:50 PM »
No probs guys.

Thanx for your hard work and dedication. Both you and Tallest.

« Reply #28 on: December 28, 2014, 10:45:09 PM »
No probs guys.

Thanx for your hard work and dedication. Both you and Tallest.

:beermug: 2 Organic it is his brain child.