Sidebar

Thu, Mar
28 New Articles

Typography

Defence Force’s Richard Roy, right, wins the battle for the ball ahead of St Ann’s Rangers’ Kareem Moses in their Digicel T&T Pro League match at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar, on Tuesday night. Roy scored a hat-trick in his team’s 3-1 win.National Under 23 team defender Kareem Moses left a good impression with his performances in T&T’s two closing 2012 Olympic qualifying matches against Panama and Honduras and is now hoping to force his way into the T&T Senior Team.

Moses remained on the bench in T&T’s opening 7-1 loss to Mexico but coach Angus Eve gave him the starting role for the next game against Panama and his efforts at the back saw T&T salvage a point in the 1-1 draw at the Home Depot Center.

The St Ann’s Rangers player also played in T&T’s 1-1 draw with Mexico and Ecuador at the 2011 Pan American Games in Guadalajara.

Looking back at the Olympic campaign, Moses said he took everything from the experience.

“It was tough but I took everything from it. From the moment the campaign started last year to the last match against Honduras was a truly fulfilling experience for me. Personally I thought we did well but we could have done more in this final round to qualify for the Olympics,” Moses said.

“I thought we worked too hard to get to this stage and maybe we could have given some more. I badly wanted to qualify. I didn’t have the opportunity to play in any youth World Cups and so now there’s only the senior World Cup in 2018 and maybe afterwards for me.

As a player you want to take make use of every opportunity you have especially when it comes to play for your country. I would also like to thank Angus Eve for giving me that opportunity to be part of the Olympic team.”

Moses hails from Morvant/Laventille and is hoping that his efforts can help inspire some of his community friends.

“I would hope that my efforts can show some of the persons from the Morvant area that there could be good in life and you have to work hard to get opportunities and then maximize on it.

We didn’t qualify for the Olympics but at least I have a chance to do something that I like and it’s away from the crime scene or just liming out on the street. I want to achieve something and I will continue to strive towards that,” Moses said.