Thu, Apr


Eastern Boys Government School, yesterday won the Port of Spain and Environs Under-15 boys competition with a 5-1 drubbing of Newtown Boys RC at Queen’s Royal College Ground in St Clair. On Tuesday, the match was stop due to unplayable condition with 15 minutes left. Eastern Boys at that time was leading 3-1. 

Yesterday morning, Keron Manswell added another before Mathew Constantine headed home the fifth item to give Eastern Boys, a comprehensive victory. The Port-of-Spain champion also got goals from Emanuel Thomas while Joshua Lewis scored for the runner-up.

The 2013 Port-of-Spain and national champions, Eastern Boys, will attempt to continue its triumphant march toward the national final of the Atlantic National Primary Schools Football League, when they move to the National Playoffs next week. 

Dunross Preparatory School had to dig deep to defend its title, beating St Agnes AC in the U-12 boys final at the same venue. It what was one of the best matches of the season and of the U-12 league since inception, Dunross raced into the lead in the ninth minute of the first half through Jose Attong strike and proceeded to the dressing with a one goal cushion. 

However, in the second half, St Agnes shot into the lead with two goals in three minutes. Amare Toney struck in the 22nd minute before Donte Goddard put them into the lead in the 24th minute, 2-1. The champion would not go down and Jessica Harragin free kick raced into the far corner for Dunross to draw level in the 27th minute. 

The large crowd on hand were enjoying the game as the ball moved from end to end before Goodard sent the St Agnes fans jumping for joy, to lead 3-2. But that joy was shortlived as Alex Rojas blasted home from close range to level the score in the 57th minute to send the game into overtime.

At the end of the extra period, the score was still tied at 3-3 and it took the penalty kicks route to decide the champion. Dunross emerged which won 3-2 on penalty kicks to win their second title in two years.

In the U-15 girls championship match, St Agnes was in winner’s row defeating Diamond Vale Government by 3-0.