Mon, Jul
25 New Articles


St Anthony's College midfielder Kenwyne Jones and Malick Senior Comprehensive striker Alania Burgin were named the male and female Player of the Year, respectively, at yesterday's presentation of awards for the 2002 season of the British Gas Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) at Barataria Secondary Comprehensive.

The top five male footballers are:
Kenwyne Jones (St Anthony's), Steve Sealey (St Anthony's), Jerol Forbes (Naparima), Michael Carrington (Scarborough Secondary), and Marvin Phillip (Princes Town).

The top five female footballers are:
Akila Mollon (Union/Claxton Bay), Alania Burgin (Malick), Maylee Attin-Johnson (Diego Martin Secondary), Jamilla Mathlin (Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive) and Linsey Murray (Providence). And Burgin was the best among them.

Both boys and girls' SSFL All-Star teams, each comprising 17 players, were also selected (see below).

St Anthony's received the most reward for their performances last season. The Westmoorings Tigers played unbeaten throughout the season, during which they scored 94 goals.

For their efforts, the Tigers were awarded $12,000 for capturing the British Gas Secondary Schools Football League and also received a similar amount for copping the RBTT Intercol Series.

Malick girls were the most prolific team for the 2002 season and scored a total of 116 goals. Having made a sweep of both girls competitions, Malick received $3,000 for clinching the RBTT Cup with their Intercol victory.

Goalkeepers—Jisele Sabeeney (Maple Leaf), Kadisha Winford (St George's College); Defenders—Natalie George (St George's College), Karen Wickham (St George's College), Michelle Reyes (St Augustine Girls), Nadia James (Malick Secondary Comprehensive), Alana Lum York; Midfielders—Tenekar Alexander (Malick), Afiya Castle (Malick), Niasha Reyes (Malick), Kenya Cordner (Roxborough), Avion Douglas (St George's); Forwards—Akila Mollon (Union/Claxton Bay), Alania Burgin (Malick), Maylee Attin-Johnson (Diego Martin), Jamilla Mathlin (Mucurapo), Linsey Murray (Providence).

Goalkeepers—Jan Michael Williams (St Anthony's), Marvin Phillip (Princes Town); Defenders—Julius James (St Anthony's), Kevon Neaves (St Anthony's), Dennison Scipio (St Benedict's), Selvin Duncan (Scarborough Sec), Roderick Anthony (St Anthony's); Midfielders—Keeron Benito (St Anthony's), Michael Carrington (Scarborough), Andre Pacheco (Princes Town), Kenwyne Jones (St Anthony's), Wendell Joseph (Naparima); Forwards—Steve Sealey (St Anthony's), Jerol Forbes (Naparima), Dwight Lewis (Arima Senior Comprehensive), Ian McAuley (St Anthony's College), Linsie Sherwood (Princes Town).