Sidebar

Fri, Mar
28 New Articles

Typography

"The player I really look up to these days is Chris Birchall." That's what came from the mouth of the latest midfield talent on the National football scene "Sean De Silva following his impressive debut for this country's Under 15 team in their 4-0 victory over Netherlands Antilles on the opening day of the Caribbean Football Union Under 15 Youth Cup at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

He went on to add that he's heard about the exploits of the Yorkes, Latapys and Johns and hopes to see some of his senior team favourites in Germany next year.
The  petite built 14-year-old product of La Foucade Coaching School, who was applauded when coming off in the second half, added that he was hoping to be part of a national team "that will start to make the country proud and go on to do even better things in the future".
From all shown so far, it seemed that the youngsters were on the right path as they held off their opponents and looked like scoring at least half dozen goals on the evening with winger Chad De Freitas missing at least three scoring opportunities, aside from his second half effort which crashed off the upright.
Earlier on, it was time for St Kitts/Nevis to open the tournament with a barrage of goals as they dominated Anguilla to end up 11-0 winners following a cultural ceremony to open proceedings.
St Kitts captain Patrick Williams scored the first goal of the tournament from the penalty spot in the 7th minute as both teams tried to get a first feel of the surface. The Kittitians would go on to enjoy much the better of it.
Three minutes later, Bradley Williams executed a perfect right footed volley to send the scores to 2-0 and from then on it was all goals for his team.
Elliot Devanghn (15th), Javeim Blanchette (19 th, 26th ), Alanje Rogers (22nd, 34th), Travis Somersall (38th, 88th), Kennedy Isles (44th) and Jason Kyte (64th) continued the scoring as the only consolation for Anguilla was conceding only two goals in the second half.
The second match on the cards was what the home fans had come out to see“ a new generation of T&T footballers. Outfitted in similar uniform to their senior counterparts, the Jesse Fullerton led team were a nervous bunch, with almost all admitting they couldn't fall asleep the previous night. But from Dianne James opening whistle, there was little to suggest that the little "Warrior" were unready for their challenge.
With 25 seconds ticking on the clock, De Silva, the little whiteboy on the team, sent teammate Sheldon Bateau open on the right and he whipped a ball in only for forward Daneil Cyrus, of Tobago, to force his shot straight at goalkeeper Jurzndy Tielman. Certainly it was a start to bring applauds from the near-filled covered stand.
But the visitors hit back and T&T had their first goal kick to take in the second minute after Gersinio Constansia's shot flashed wide of the near right post. Franz Husbands then got into the action on five minutes with a header which went over bar.
Left sided De Freitas pumped some good balls in from the flank, combining well enough with Cyrus and Husbands but T&T's finishing on goal lacked the real touch.
Cyrus, on one occasion tried to hit past the goalie who was off his line, but he didn't manage to direct even he rebound on target.
De Silva played one over in the 20th minute for Husbands to volley against the ‘keeper.
All this while, a bunch of energetic youngsters had the fans looking over as they screamed their voice strings out in support of the young T&T side. It was a group from the St Dominic's Children's Home, beating plastic bottles and appealing for goals from their team.
"T&T we want ah goal" T&T colours Red, white and black… Go T&T show them what you've got¦. Doh give them nutting they sang aloud.
It wasn't long after that they got more to scream about.
A ball came across the goal and Cyrus was there to guide his header past Tielman 1-0 T&T in the 41st minute.
"Das what we want, das what we want" was the new chant.
On the stroke of halftime, the lead doubled. De Silva slipped one into Brandon Rupert and he unleashed a left foot rocket into the net from near centre of the box.
T&T continued to enjoy the better of the exchanges as the second half got going with their opponents trying to close down and hope for something on the break. De Silva tried the goal a couple times from outside the penalty box and Rupert also shot against the goalie from close up inside the opening ten minutes.
De Freitas floated a free kick over for Andell Noray to head inches wide of the left far post but a minute later goal number three went up on the scoreboard.
This time Rupert was the provider as he hooked one back from near the touch line and Cyrus made no mistake from close up in the 59th.
“They say we go loss, we go show them who is boss! Trinidad go mash them up” was yet a new chant from the young T&T faithful.
De Freitas was switched over to the right side and he seemed more at home following the move. "Well that's where I am comfortable most times. I like to make the runs and I can run at defenders because I’m right footed as well,” he said after the game.
On 70 minutes, well positioned, he could only hit wide and soon after, to a much quicker incoming ball, he sent a volley wide of the right post. At the next stoppage, he was receiving some advice from assistant coach Hutson Charles on the sidelines.
A few minutes later, collecting again on his own space, the Superstar Rangers player forced the ‘keeper to push his effort out and then in the 82nd minute he went around his man and decided to square from the right for Rupert to slot home.
Netherland Antilles captain Gersinio Constansia was ejected following a second booking in the 84th minute and after that there was still sufficient time for De Freitas to power a right footer off the upright as T&T went in search of a fifth item. A handful or not, it was still a performance deserving of high fives for Fullerton and company.

Final Score:
T&T 4 (Daneil Cyrus 41st, 59th, Brandon Rupert 45th, 82nd) v Netherlands Antilles 0.

St Kitts/Nevis 11 (Patrick Williams 7th, Bradley Williams 10th, Elliot Devanghn (15th), Javeim Blanchette (19th, 26th), Alanje Rogers (22nd, 34th), Travis Somersall (38th, 88th), Kennedy Isles (44th) and Jason Kyte (64th) v Anguilla 0.

T&T Team Line-up not completed:

Starting Line Up:
22.Jesse Fullerton (capt), 3.Andell Noray, 4.Robert Primus, 6.Brenton Balbosa, 5.Ryan O'Neil, 2.Sheldon Bateau (8.Stephan Chan 53rd), 10.Chad De Freitas, 7.Sean De Silva (16.Mark Rivers 81st), 12.Franz Husbands (18.Leston Paul 69th) 11.Daneil Cyrus, 14.Brandon Rupert.

Subs Not Used:
21.Terrance Ramsaroop, 13.Jean-Luc Rochford, 15.Daniel Joseph, Stephen Knox (out due to injury).

T&T U-15 footballers aim for better show against St Kitts.

Trinidad and Tobago's Under 15 footballers will be aiming to secure their second win of the Caribbean Football Union Youth Cup when they take on St Kitts/Nevis in the second game of a double header at the Hasely Crawford Stadium from 7pm on Friday.
Fresh from a 4-0 win over Netherlands Antilles on Wednesday, skipper Jesse Fullerton and his teammates will also be mindful of the fact that their new opponents are coming off a dominating 11-0 win over Anguilla in their opening encounter.
Team coach Ken Elie said the match could determine the eventual group winners.
“We had a chance to work on a lot of things after seeing our game and then also seeing what St Kitts has to offer. Our finishing discipline is what we have to work on and we hope that while we have not been really tested at the back that we will of course continue to create scoring opportunities,” Elie told TTFF Media.
“I thought it was clear to see the immaturity among the players which was expected to an extent and it show us exactly what areas we have to work on. I thought the Netherlands were surprisingly aggressive even though it would have appeared as though we dominated them but our midfielders and defenders stood the test on the evening by winning balls and shutting them down,” Elie added.
Fullerton mentioned that his confidence was boosted by not conceding in his first game.
“Right now the score is not important though but we are more concerned with how we played and I thought we didn’t do too badly,” Fullerton said. “We didn't finish well but we will work on that as the tournament progresses. All the butterflies are gone now so we should settle and play some better football.
Midfielder Sean De Silva echoed similar sentiments saying. “It was a pretty good performance in our first game. There are some things we didn’t execute well. But with a lot more work we should be getting better as the games go on. At the beginning of the game we were all nervous because we didn’t know what to expect from them.”
“The player I really look up to these days is Chris Birchall,” added the latest midfield talent on the national scene. The  petite built 14-year-old product of La Foucade Coaching School, who was applauded when coming off in the second half, added that he was hoping to be part of a national team “that will start to make the country proud and go on to do even better things in the future”.
Winger Chad De Freitas who was unfortunate to have missed at least three scoring chances, said he’s desperate to get his first goal out of the way.
"I  was trying really hard to score the first one and hopefully it will come in the next game. I started playing more freely when the coach switched me to the right side. I like to make the runs and I can run at defenders because I’m right footed as well,” he said after the game. “All in all we are just looking forward to getting another positive result."