Tue, Jan


Maria MohammedMaria Mohammed led a group of two University of Tampa women’s soccer players as she was tabbed first-team all-South Region by Daktronics. Teammate Courtney Evans was also named to the second team.

Mohammed is the team captain and top defender for the Spartans, helping the squad to a 12-6-2 record and most recently its sixth consecutive NCAA tournament appearance. She has started all 20 games, tallying three goals and two assists. Evans is UT’s leader with 12 assists from her midfield position.

Montevallo placed four players on the All-South Region Team, including three first-teamers.  Rollins, Tampa, St. Leo, and Christian Brothers each placed one player on the First Team.

Lynn placed three players on the second team, while Rollins and West Florida placed two each.  Montevallo, Tampa, St. Leo, Nova Southeastern, and Florida Southern each had one player named to the Second Team.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

The online nomination and voting processes are powered by UT partner ATHLETICSITE.COM.  Headquartered in Charleston, S.C., ATHLETICSITE.COM is the official provider for college athletic websites for over 30 sports organizations, including 26 colleges, universities and conferences primarily at the NCAA Division II level.  To receive more information on how your institution can partner with ATHLETICSITE.COM for a customized website solution, visit

2008 Daktronics All-South Region Women’s Soccer Team

First Team
GK - Courtney Jones, Jr., West Florida
D - Shameka Gordon, Jr., West Florida
D - Adele Jackson, Sr., Montevallo
D - Maria Mohammed, Sr., Tampa
D - Dana Merrill, Sr., Rollins
M - Marcela Franco, Jr., West Florida
M - Stacy Balaam, Sr., Montevallo
M - Elin Svavarsdottir, So., Christian Brothers
F - Shaneka Gordon, Jr., West Florida
F - Hannah Beard, Jr., Saint Leo
F - Kami Kapaku, Sr., Montevallo

Player of the Year:
Shameka Gordon, F, West Florida

Second Team

GK - Corey Gros, Sr., Montevallo
GK - Lauren Hudson, Sr., Saint Leo
D - Kaley Morris, Jr., West Florida
D - Mindy DeCara, Jr., Lynn
D - Courtney O’Connell, Sr., Lynn
D - Leah Hirsch, So., Rollins
M - Courtney Evans, Sr., Tampa
M - Stephanie Quinones, Sr., Nova Southeastern
M - Erin Hopkins, Sr., Florida Southern
F - Lindsay Giblin, Sr., Rollins
F - Melissa Ortiz, Fr., Lynn
F - Dernelle Mascall, Jr., West Florida