Sidebar

Fri, Apr

Typography

1. Josh, you started off playing regularly at Wrexham but then they had a change in management.  A change that would affect you as you were then regulated to the bench for most part after the new manager took over. Care to touch on this?

A: No Comment.

2. You played against some top teams in the FA-Cup such as Liverpool, Manchester City, Birmingham City and Derby County. In your personal view, were you able to cope with such a high level and do you feel you have what it takes to play for one of those teams at present?
A: Yes, I was able to cope very well and it was a great experience to play against these top teams and players, I believe that I have what it takes to play for one of these top teams given the opportunity.

3. Seeing that you were tipped to fill the void Carlos Edwards left, did that by any means affected your play in anyway?
A: No it did not affect my play. Carlos Edwards gave 100% and I am giving 100%.

4. Now that you are playing in a very low division one above the conference league, wasn't the Pro-League better?  Not to mention the cost of living is very high in the UK, is it really worth your while?
A: My dream was to leave Trinidad and play English football and that is what I believe I am doing.

5. If your team fails to get promoted next season will you consider returning home to San Juan Jabloteh, especially since you will be based at home and your chances to make the T&T national team stands a better chance?
A: We have seen this year that Wrexham FC has what it takes to stay up and even go higher so the club being regulated to conference and me returning home to San Juan Jabloteh has not crossed my mind.

6. How are you adjusting to the lifestyle, food and weather across there?
A: I have my beautiful wife who is also from T&T so I don't miss the great food from home, the lifestyle is really different, there is no liming on the block here and I really had to get use to the weather especially winter this year was my first time seeing snow so I was really excited.

7. Do the other T&T players across there keep in contact with you? If yes, do you guys go "liming" or spend time together?
A: Yes we do keep in contact but they live long distances away and when the season has started it's very difficult to take time off to go and hang out with them.

8. How hard was it to adjust and who helped you?
A: Adjusting was not really difficult because my wife has helped me every step of the way.

9. You stood out for us in the pro league and you were one of the names we heard and read off a lot while playing for the 2004 T&T Olympic team. You guys ended up beating Jamaica in the last qualifing game 2-1 - I remembered. You seemed like you were destined to be promoted to the T&T senior team. My question, what went wrong? Did you feel you were given a fair chance to prove your worth on the T&T team?
A: No I was never given a fair chance to prove my worth for the T&T team, I hope in the near future I will be given that chance to represent my country and make T&T proud.

10. In your view, who do you think were good player/s from the 2004 T&T Olympic team? Who did you feel would have reached the furthest?
A: All the players gave their all for the team and I cannot say who would reach the furthest they all have something great to contribute towards football be it locally or internationally.

11. In your view, you also played for the T&T U-20 team. Who did you feel would have reached the furthest from that team?
A: Again, I cannot say, I wish them all the best in their goals.

12. Your proudest moment.
A: Scoring my first debut league goal for Wrexham AFC.

13. Your dullest moment.
A: Being dropped after the Derby match.

14. How hard was it to leave T&T? Do you still go back? What do you miss the most?
A: It was hard leaving my country that I love, this year will be my first time going back I miss my family the most and (KFC).

15. Many describe you as inconsistent and don't help too much defensively. Care to add to this?
A: I go out and give 100% in every game no exception, my defence is not the strongest but I get back and help.

16. What is you favorite position on the field?
A: Right mid-field is my favorite position.

17. Who was responsible for your success in life, in other words, who motivated and supported you in life? Why did you choose football?
A: My motivation came from a primary school teacher Mr George who saw my talent and encouraged me to pursue my goal in becoming a professional footballer, it was a sport that I fell in love with the first time I kicked a ball.

18. The fans on the Soca Warriors Online is always curious to find out how you are doing and is always in praise of you. Do you have any words for them?
A: I thank them all for their prayers, thoughts and support and will always do my best to make the people of T&T proud.

19. We were all surprised when you suddenly left San Juan Jabloteh and signed with Wrexham. Who made the contact and who was instrumental in your move?
A: I have to give all credit to Mr Mike Berry he has been there for me in a way words cannot even tell.

20. Are you still interested in playing for T&T?
A: It is a question that needs no answer I am ready and waiting to represent my country when ever I am called upon.

21. What’s your thoughts on the current impasse with the TTFF and the players?
A: I do not know the full extent of what is taking place so I therefore cannot comment on the situation, I just pray all will be sorted out in good terms for the good of the country.

22. Are you in full support of a Players Union? What’s your thoughts on this?
A: It is good for players to have a voice on behalf of them so I do support a players union.

23. What can we look forward to from you for next season?
A: Great performances and goals.

24. What’s your thoughts on T&T at the 2006 FIFA world cup?
A: I have nothing but high praises for the players this has really brought T&T on the map big time I am very proud to call myself a Trinidadian.

25. We have formed the Warrior Nation with groups of supporters from all over the world. We support T&T football players playing in every part of the globe. Something that will benefit the T&T players in many ways, one being, making them feel at home where ever they are. We aske that you come join up with us and lets show the world what real supporters are about. Or just pass on the word to others out there about us, visit: warriornation.com.
A: Thank you for that opportunity and I hope we can do this again soon. I also want to thank the T&T professional footballers Dwight Yorke, Dennis Lawrence etc who have paved the way for players like myself whose goal is to play international football, also to my agent Mr Mike Berry who has been more than a agent but a friend and brother who I can always count on for advice and support and who I will not hesitate to recommend to any player who is looking for a great agent to all my Soca Warriors God Bless. I AM A SOCA WARRIOR.

Thank You...
Josh Johnson.

Note:
On behalf of the Soca Warriors Online I just what to say Thank You to Mr. Josh Johnson for taking the time to do this interview for us. Please keep up the great work you are doing and we wish you all the best in the future.

27-May-2007