June 25, 2024, 06:35:42 PM

Author Topic: U-17 - T&T vs Ghana Report.  (Read 13811 times)

Re: U-17 - T&T vs Ghana Report.
« Reply #30 on: August 20, 2007, 05:26:12 PM »
Report Above Up-dated.

« Reply #31 on: August 20, 2007, 05:36:37 PM »
I preaching to the choir about this long time. We have to get our guys to beef up, get in the blasted gym and add some poundage, work with track coaches to build speed and learn how to run and close down a man. Ghana was blowing past we with ease from the first whistle, how the hell we going to handle the rest of them treams

I agree. Those guys need to build to do some strength training in order to build some muscle. Every time a Ghanian tackled one our boys, they went flying to the ground and tended to be easily shouldered off the ball. Ghana was clearly the physically stronger team.

« Reply #32 on: August 20, 2007, 06:28:24 PM »
i find the fellahs play good but the scoreline doesnt suggest that and of course there is lots of room for improvement...big up to Campbell for scoring...Pres men run things.

« Reply #33 on: August 20, 2007, 06:42:39 PM »
Well said Touches!!

Offline Gazza

« Reply #34 on: August 20, 2007, 06:52:38 PM »
We jus making analisis because is our team. We are nowhere on the map where football is concerned we would like to be but we are not. Anton says that they let the ball do the work but that was jus the small picture, the bigger detail was the constant movement and interchanging of positions by the ghananians that left us baffled. Yes I am an arsenal fan because I love fast and imaginative football. All we from t&t like is to see a man dribble but when will we have a team that has the fitness and intelligence to play with the necesary movement and tactical skill to become world beaters and not home alone stars. But the problem is limitations of our so called local coaches. The bottom line is that they need capacitation and training, but as I said before they are mostly all very academically dunce so they would not understand the rudiments and principles of modern day coaching nor the anatomical aspect which all successful modern coaches have. Hudson charles out there he dont know he head from he foot cyar pass no proper exam but he dey. Dog eat we supper.Good luck Anton you are our only local hope but dey will fire for a foriegner by time world cup.Don't get ant horrors is the only way we will qualify.

« Reply #35 on: August 20, 2007, 07:48:41 PM »
I have nothing but applause and congratulations for this under 17 team.

Them fellas play damn good and is the best ever performance I have seen from a TT team in a long time.

Them fellas play better than the Warriors in Germany.(UNDER ALL SERIOUSNESS)

For any of you who have seen this team from under 15 to where it is today the improvement is remarkable and we were simply unfortunate.

Possession in the 1st half was 45% TT 55% Ghana and we were never outplayed.

We were beaten by 4 moments of mental lapses.

I really cant understand some of the comments being made from people who were looking at the game.

TT controlled the midfield well, we knocked the ball well and were stringing passes under pressure superbly. The opening 5 minutes we matched our opponents and throughout the game we created chances to score, it is just we did not have that killer instinct infront of goal.

We did not make silly passes, we did not have many errors, our off the ball runs, team chemistry and cohesiveness was good. We defended well in a block and we covered our space well.

The Ghanians were taller, but we were as fit, we won nearly every 50/50 ball, we were quicker to the ball and we won most of the aerial battles.

What we had a problem with and I don't know why corneal did not make the adjustment was that their two wingers were faster than our wingbacks and we did not make the appropriate sub to deal with them, neither did we "Play tough" or use tactics to "ahem" professionally foul or disrupt the wing play.

After conceding the early goal TT played the game at their tempo and dictated the pace. We simply got caught on the break and Ghanas game is a long ball to the flank, square and tap home.

We switched off near the end of the first half and conceded two within a minute, fitness and mental concentration being the factors.

Also right after we scored, it seems we did not regroup and like Ghana took the touch quickly and scored immediately.

Other than that I am extremelyproud of the work ethic, game plan, fitness, technique, possession and play of this Under 17 team.

Our fwds threw away frankoment sitters and had we buried the chances we got in the opening 15 min it would have been a totally different game.

Keep your heads up fellas.

All we have to do is adjust the wingback problem and we good to go.

I was not impressed with Ghana as any big side and they will get disposed of in this competiton. Their defence is not good. They will be caught by any team with a good passing game and once their two wingers are dealt with they ent have nuttin else to fall back on.

Our Keeper played well and he coulda do nuttin for any of the goals he collected. The wingback with the plaits needed to get subbed as he was too slow .

Lastly the spirit of the game was a good one, no malicious tackles, no setta fouls, and the players hugged the opponents at the end. It was as if they were all partners on the field.

Thank you fellas for representing our nation well. Job well done.

Aight Touches, thanks for this brother, because I was a little confused about which team play...me eh see de game yet, but I too was surprised to see men talking about fitness level low with this team. As far as I'm concerned, this U17 team is a fit team, and is actually their strength. I doubt that is the problem. I'm glad for this perspective, because just from reading what was said, my conclusion was that they were playing too high to try and compress the field to limit the space, as Anton said he wanted to do.

Problem was the Ghana wingers were just too fast for our defenders so that tactic was a giant mistake. It meant that we just gave them tons of space to run at the back, opposite of what was intended. I personally believe that tactically we made a giant error in team positioning. Coaching error.

I'm glad to see too that they limited the passing errors, their achilles heel. They must have been playing some serious ball then, because when they on point, they can play some serious ball. I also doh feel that Ghana stepped off the gas in the second as much as TNT fitness came into play. I going and look at the game now and see what happen, because I realize that 2 people could see the exact same game and come away with 2 opposite impressions.

I go make a comment after.

Re: Post match quotes
« Reply #36 on: August 20, 2007, 08:22:23 PM »
TRI - GHA: post-match quotes
FIFA.com

Sellas Tetteh Teivi (GHA), Ghana coach
"I'm very satisfied. The lads have done very well and played entertaining football, especially in the first 45 minutes. I have to say I'm not entirely satisfied with the second half, we slowed the pace far too much. If we want to win the tournament, we've got to keep it up for the full 90 minutes."

Anton Corneal (TRI), Trinidad and Tobago coach
"It's obviously tough once you're 3-0 behind, but we still came back and scored, and created a few chances. But we have to be realistic, we've just played one of the best teams in the tournament and we need to learn from that to be ready for our forthcoming matches. Ghana were very good at letting the ball do the work. We improved in the second half, but we didn't make the most of our chances. We created a lot of openings, and I hope that'll give us confidence for our remaining matches."

one think he play good in d second half (Corneal) and one saying (Ghana coach)oh yeh we slow down d pace we didnt want too buss dey throat to much  ::)

Ghana coach didn't imply that at all. T&T took the game to Ghana in the 2nd alf and the coach just making excuses. The Ghana coach actually sounds disappointed that they 'slowed in the 2nd half.  Better to say they lapse and could do better, than admit that the weakest team in the group gave them a run. Slowing down the pace was and easing up on us was clearly not the plan. T&T played a dam good 2nd half and was looking sharp and purposeful at times. Like I said before..impressive 2nd half. Too many panic specialist and alarmist on this board (not you DieHard). Two mental lapses in the 1st half and that blight how real people watch the rest of the match. Any neutral who watched that 2nd half would tell yuh T&T have ballers and they played a competitive 2nd half, albeit with some work still to do to. I not saying we were were as good as Ghana overall,but that was the first game man. Remember these youths in qualifying..Costa Rica and USA buss dey tail..and then what. Doh be so frighten when yuh watching T&T ball. I telling allyuh..Germany and Colombia getting a run ;D..and allyuh know I is not ah sugarcoating fella..but I giving this side props.

T&T FOREVER

« Reply #37 on: August 20, 2007, 08:49:07 PM »
I hav a funny feeling Colombia going to get blow out

« Reply #38 on: August 20, 2007, 10:37:10 PM »
After seeing this video I have to admit...our defensive scheme definitley needs some work:
http://www.fifa.com/newscentre/videos/player.html#ch=u17&id=575583
« Last Edit: August 20, 2007, 10:44:14 PM by trinbago »

« Reply #39 on: August 21, 2007, 12:01:31 AM »
After seeing this video I have to admit...our defensive scheme definitley needs some work:

Anytime I click on any of de videos on dat site, I only gettin de Sony ad and no football.  Someting I doin wrong perhaps?

« Reply #40 on: August 21, 2007, 12:42:01 AM »

Anytime I click on any of de videos on dat site, I only gettin de Sony ad and no football.  Someting I doin wrong perhaps?

I try to fix this all how and cudn't get it to work.  Used another PC and it work fine. That PC did a security update thing for rights management in WMP first before it worked but the first PC have that already. Didn't find much online for it.

« Reply #41 on: August 21, 2007, 02:48:00 AM »
I have nothing but applause and congratulations for this under 17 team.

Them fellas play damn good and is the best ever performance I have seen from a TT team in a long time.

Them fellas play better than the Warriors in Germany.(UNDER ALL SERIOUSNESS)

For any of you who have seen this team from under 15 to where it is today the improvement is remarkable and we were simply unfortunate.

Possession in the 1st half was 45% TT 55% Ghana and we were never outplayed.

We were beaten by 4 moments of mental lapses.

I really cant understand some of the comments being made from people who were looking at the game.

TT controlled the midfield well, we knocked the ball well and were stringing passes under pressure superbly. The opening 5 minutes we matched our opponents and throughout the game we created chances to score, it is just we did not have that killer instinct infront of goal.

We did not make silly passes, we did not have many errors, our off the ball runs, team chemistry and cohesiveness was good. We defended well in a block and we covered our space well.

The Ghanians were taller, but we were as fit, we won nearly every 50/50 ball, we were quicker to the ball and we won most of the aerial battles.

What we had a problem with and I don't know why corneal did not make the adjustment was that their two wingers were faster than our wingbacks and we did not make the appropriate sub to deal with them, neither did we "Play tough" or use tactics to "ahem" professionally foul or disrupt the wing play.

After conceding the early goal TT played the game at their tempo and dictated the pace. We simply got caught on the break and Ghanas game is a long ball to the flank, square and tap home.

We switched off near the end of the first half and conceded two within a minute, fitness and mental concentration being the factors.

Also right after we scored, it seems we did not regroup and like Ghana took the touch quickly and scored immediately.

Other than that I am extremelyproud of the work ethic, game plan, fitness, technique, possession and play of this Under 17 team.

Our fwds threw away frankoment sitters and had we buried the chances we got in the opening 15 min it would have been a totally different game.

Keep your heads up fellas.

All we have to do is adjust the wingback problem and we good to go.

I was not impressed with Ghana as any big side and they will get disposed of in this competiton. Their defence is not good. They will be caught by any team with a good passing game and once their two wingers are dealt with they ent have nuttin else to fall back on.

Our Keeper played well and he coulda do nuttin for any of the goals he collected. The wingback with the plaits needed to get subbed as he was too slow .

Lastly the spirit of the game was a good one, no malicious tackles, no setta fouls, and the players hugged the opponents at the end. It was as if they were all partners on the field.

Thank you fellas for representing our nation well. Job well done.

Touches I have a lot of respect for your analysis of games and I too still have immense pride in the way our team played.

But.... for fitness I would say we were not on par with the Ghanians, balls that were loose were not taken up by our boys, tackles that resulted in the Ghanians losing the ball were almost always recovered by a Ghanian.
The Ghanians were able to change pace at anytime and our boys just could not react, recovery on losing your man by having somebody else cover was non existent... all of this are indicators of fitness being unequal between teams.
That being said the team worked as hard as they could and are probably the fittest bunch I have seen apart from the Senior team at the WC (remember the work rate against Sweden and then England)
The skill levels were on par but that could only work if after you've made the space you have the stamina to use it ( Knox was brilliant with his first and second touches but the last touch failed him)

Also I think the teams to beat so far in this tournament will be Ghana and Brazil.
So losing to Ghana was nothing for the kids to be ashamed of.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2007, 02:55:18 AM by fishs »

« Reply #42 on: August 21, 2007, 07:35:39 AM »

fifa.com is the only streaming video source that gives me trouble, I does get the highlights but only as frickin freeze-frames! (J. Geils Band or wha?!)  Real frustrating!  anybody fable to figure out what might be causin' dat and how I can go about fixin' it?

« Reply #43 on: August 21, 2007, 09:36:49 AM »

fifa.com is the only streaming video source that gives me trouble, I does get the highlights but only as frickin freeze-frames! (J. Geils Band or wha?!)  Real frustrating!  anybody fable to figure out what might be causin' dat and how I can go about fixin' it?

The MS DRM is what is causing your problems. I haven't really found a fix for it, some machines it all works fine, others - nothing.

« Reply #44 on: August 21, 2007, 03:09:16 PM »
Watch the game again this morning on Eurosport & IMHO T&T defending has to improve. Their were times when the Ghana team had 4 attackers against 3. The poor players at the back were overworked, due to a lack of midfield defending. No marking, tracking and recovery runs.
When we get the ball their was some  decent play, but without the ball improvement is needed.

All the best against Colombia

« Reply #45 on: August 21, 2007, 05:54:19 PM »
Ryan O'Neil should replace Primus in defence. I remember he was the captain and did a great job for T&T during the qualifers.

4-4-2 or 4-4-1-1 against Colombia.

We need a ball winner in midfield.

Good luck against Colombia.

« Reply #46 on: August 21, 2007, 08:22:39 PM »
I have read everyone post and comment...and i have agree with Gazza...i guess everyone is missing the point...only excuse