June 23, 2024, 01:21:04 PM

Author Topic: Maturana: Big game against England  (Read 2461 times)

Maturana: Big game against England
« on: April 30, 2008, 08:39:50 PM »
Maturana: Big game against England

“It’s a very big and important day for T&T,” said national coach, Colombian Francisco Maturana on the Soca Warriors match against England on June 1 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, in a report on the English FA Web site.

T&T will hosts England in a centennial match celebrating the existence of the T&T Football Federation.

Jack Warner, Concacaf president and special adviser to the T&TFF, has also confirmed that both former captain Dwight Yorke, who led the Soca Warriors to the 2006 World Cup Finals in Germany and Russell Latapy will be involved in the match against England.

Maturana expressed his excitement looking ahead to the friendly with England.

“It will be an exciting day because England is a very popular team with a lot of great players. We have to make sure that our team is in very good shape and that we have the players that we think can make up a good team for the game,” he added.

“It is not just a game but it could be one of the biggest in T&T and no one will want to have a team that cannot match the occasion.”

It will be the second meeting by both nations. The first time was in the group stages of the 2006 World Cup in Germany where T&T held England goalless for over 80 minutes before going under 2-0 after late goals by Liverpool duo Peter Crouch and Steven Gerrard.

source:Guardian

Re: Maturana: Big game against England
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2008, 08:42:17 PM »
Wow he said dat on his own or via a translator. He gettin 2 coach Dwight so I guess he excited

« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2008, 08:49:21 PM »
A big part a me still feel the dwight and latapy ting is a fete match syndrome

« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2008, 08:54:41 PM »
Yep once dem fellas play is a fete match

« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2008, 08:58:49 PM »
Wow he said dat on his own or via a translator. He gettin 2 coach Dwight so I guess he excited
:rotfl: u read my mind on dat one weary...he probably learn english real quick

« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2008, 02:53:33 PM »
......so we getting Dwight and Russell, good.......anything about de defence??  or we going with what we have right now and use "the best offence is de best defence" tactic??

Or we not really taking dis game serious.... :-\

« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2008, 08:56:46 AM »
Latas eh say yes yet...as far as i know...

« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2008, 09:07:41 AM »
When you have players who are getting work permits rejected because of a lack of international caps, players who are inexperienced and not up to the speed of international ball that needs the experience, players that need the exposure, players that would be involved in our actual WCQ matches, I don't see the point in playing Yorke and Latapy and taking up spots that a young player with a possible future in the Red, White & Black could otherwise have.

« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2008, 09:23:49 AM »
Latas eh say yes yet...as far as i know...

Well BM, I thought I was going crazy....after the press conference this week I got the impression that both men said yes.  But ah remember that when the initial talk of a match came up Dwight said yes right away and Latas was to be contacted....and as far as I know Latas had not yet responded....ah was even debating it with a coworker after the press conference....

However, I included both names in my post above since, according to the article, both men coming.  So I figure dem know something I don't..... but seriously when did Latas confirm??   ???

BM, yuh think de bait and switch start already??..
« Last Edit: May 02, 2008, 09:26:10 AM by brownsugar »

« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2008, 09:52:47 AM »
Well BS... is more ah kinda talk until the news come..tnt ting nah...

like having fete with this and that band and de band eh know bout it...

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2008, 12:28:47 PM »
i say this with all due respect

latas and dwight sit yuh asses dong n watch from the stands with uncle jack ok

let the up n commers prove and learn

nuff said

« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2008, 03:07:08 PM »
I don't particularly agree on having Dwight and Latas on the field, I find they could have them do the first kick off or something, but

If they want to make everybody happy, just agree on six subs. France and England do it all the time.

That way Dwight and Latas could get they 20 minutes and 6 "youth men" could get they cap

Though I feel If Dwight and Latas have any sense, they might just pull a muscle coming off the plane...

« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2008, 04:18:16 PM »
If they do play, neither one is likely to play a full game. Dwight will be coming off of a knee injury (if he recovers in time) and Latas has been riding some serious bench and getting the odd corbeaux sweat for a good lil while now. My guess would be a early take off in the second half for each of them. Ah was going an say dey would only play first half but they might want to give de crowd a chance to salute them as they come off.

« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2008, 04:35:27 PM »
Alyuh not worried about which dfender could run with Shrek? Or who will stop Joe Cole? on the side? Or who marking Crouch? Or which midfielder marking Lampard and Gerrard.  :nailbiting:

That is if any of them come to play.

Offline legal alien

« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2008, 04:44:38 PM »
dais allyuh yes. i wah see latas and yorke play again. we could see how latas could've played had he actually been in the 2006 game...

« Reply #15 on: May 02, 2008, 04:47:33 PM »
Alyuh not worried about which dfender could run with Shrek? Or who will stop Joe Cole? on the side? Or who marking Crouch? Or which midfielder marking Lampard and Gerrard.  :nailbiting:

That is if any of them come to play.

All I studying is which Rasta going and put Crouch on crutches :devil:

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #16 on: May 02, 2008, 09:21:37 PM »
I doh care either. I want tuh see dem old men play. Dow worry bout the youths right now, this is a tribute game fuh them fellas, this is their swansong game, testimonial game. We will never see them play in we colours again so leh them play, let dem show their skills for the last time In red white and black, on the national stadium field together, for the last time where they started so many years ago, its a respect thing. so respect the men one more time.... big up lattas and yorke