February 05, 2025, 12:52:23 AM

Author Topic: Jan promising safe hands for Digicel Cup.  (Read 3464 times)

Jan promising safe hands for Digicel Cup.
« on: January 08, 2007, 04:35:51 PM »
Jan promising safe hands for Digicel Cup.
By: Randy Bando (ttproleague.com).

Trinidad and Tobago and Vibe CT 105 W Connection goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams is promising to take the new look ‘Soca Warriors’ through to the Digicel Cup finals as he looks forward to putting on a good show between the uprights.
Williams has occupied the number one spot in goal for the ‘Warriors’ since after the 2006 World Cup in Germany. The W Connection custodian played four international friendly matches, his last being against Austria.
Speaking with ‘ttproleague.com’ ahead of Trinidad and Tobago’s Digicel Cup matches Williams said, “I have played four matches in a row for the national team, I think that I can take this team to the finals of the Digicel Cup, and hopefully go on to win the competition. The experience and skill that I have gained so far, my aim is to try and keep a clean sheet throughout the tournament.” said the confident W Connection goalkeeper.
Williams also expressed satisfaction with the squad of players chosen by national coach Wim Rijsbergen, even without players from Pro League giants CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh, “I have to admit that Jabloteh has a lot of quality players, and they will be missed, but Trinidad and Tobago on a whole has a number of good players.”
“I have seen quality players over the last month who I have trained with, both the US based and local guys. I believe the coach has selected the best players in the camp, who can do well at this tournament. It is now a good opportunity for the new guys to impress and earn themselves solid positions on the team.”
“As for me I am going all out to put in a solid performance in the Digicel Cup and help the team to a place in the CONCACAF Gold Cup where I hope to be the number one choice in goal as well,” added the goalkeeper.
As for who will wear the Captain’s armband for T&T, Williams said, “It is obvious we only have a few senior players. We have World Cup player Densill Theobald who could be first choice and then we have the likes of Kerwyn Jemmott and Gary Glasgow who are very experienced players, but I don’t believe there would be a problem with who wears the armband. We are all going to do our part,” ended Williams. Trinidad and Tobago will face Barbados in the opening match of the Sedley Joseph Group at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Friday 12th January.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2007, 05:56:02 AM by Flex »

Offline chic

• diva warrior
Re: Jan promising safe hands for Digicel Cup
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2007, 05:13:02 PM »
Good going to Jan :beermug:... big up W Connection all the time!!!!
we know he'll do us roud he alwasy erform stronger on the home soil
he is one the talented younger players that would do T&T proud in the future

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2007, 05:58:45 PM »
ah voting fro meh breddah tuh wear de armband, I think he will captain de side and midfield well for this digicel cup.. :beermug:

God is de BOSS....

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2007, 06:28:33 PM »
ah voting fro meh breddah tuh wear de armband, I think he will captain de side and midfield well for this digicel cup.. :beermug:

God is de BOSS....

Yuh talking bout Jan, cause it cyar be Hardest.  Boss ah man with dat kind ah disciplinary history cyar wear the armband.  This is his first stint with the national tema in a while and yuh picking him to wear the armband.  Come on TI.  Let some objectivity guide yuh here.

« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2007, 06:36:04 PM »
Well ah hear theo might be the captain ...if daiz d case hardest might as well do it ,he might shine with the responsibility oui. No offence densil .
« Last Edit: January 08, 2007, 10:12:01 PM by Compre »

« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2007, 06:41:21 PM »

God is de BOSS....

Yuh talking bout Jan, cause it cyar be Hardest.  Boss ah man with dat kind ah disciplinary history cyar wear the armband.  This is his first stint with the national tema in a while and yuh picking him to wear the armband.  Come on TI.  Let some objectivity guide yuh here.

I am actually impressed with TI... fellahz still givin him pressure... myself included... and he has subdued most of this kinda nonesense talk for ah while now despite the fact Hardest pull ah back tur life on we...

we'll have to see... I cyah tell if he really in it fuh de country and he mind set right but i can hope...

I still agree strongly with you though... him gettin the armband would be an insult to the prestige that the armband represents.

Go make St.Anthony's boys proud JAN!

« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2007, 09:35:41 PM »

God is de BOSS....

Tenorsaw, wid due respect tuh yuh statement, which is ah valid one. However, I have seen players wid history as "Hardest" wear de armband, and it either bring out de best in you tuh lead yuh country or club or yuh flop. I think wid all de negatives in his past, and all de fight down he does get, give him de armband. Besides he is we midfield general, I think being de captain and leading yuh national team out in ah tournament, together wid his midfield responsibilities will only make us see "Hardest" at his best on de field. Ah quick example dat come tuh meh mind is Craig Bellamy from Liverpool, ah complete bad boy on de field and at night clubs. He was given the armband fuh his country recently, and ah believe he still wears it. Leh we doh fight down "Hardest" at dis stage nah, show him some love and give him all de support he need. HIGHLY BLESSED.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2007, 09:47:44 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2007, 02:02:56 AM »
I may regret this but here goes

Using a military perspective on this one I think that would be a good move. We have often upon signs of improvement given a soldier with a history of indiscipline more responsibility to show them that their hard work trying to turn the page in their life has not gone un-noticed.
It is an incentive for improvement and often has great results for the soldier and the ones placed in their responsibility because they are also incouraged to improve.

HARDEST FOR CAPTIAN ;D ;D ;D

Re: Jan promising safe hands for Digicel Cup.
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2007, 07:38:52 AM »
We needed a central defender too maybe Keyeno Thomas was a good one to add too and right back Cyd Gray, is not like they will miss Jabloteh games, they will still get a chance to play for T&T and Jabloteh but Fenwick (Terry) and Hosepdales (Jerry) is assholes...

Tom and Jerry.... (Terry and Jerry)..