June 25, 2024, 05:48:04 PM

Author Topic: Kalou's citizenship bid must be reconsidered, says court  (Read 6091 times)

Kalou's citizenship bid must be reconsidered, says court
« on: December 13, 2005, 07:58:28 AM »
Kalou's citizenship bid must be reconsidered, says court

9 December 2005
by Reuters

Salomon Kalou's bid to be fast-tracked for Dutch citizenship, ruled out earlier this year by immigration minister Rita Verdonk, must be reconsidered, a Rotterdam court said on Friday.
The Ivory Coast-born striker, who plays for Feyenoord, has been assured of a place in the Netherlands' FIFA World Cup™ squad by coach Marco van Basten if he is given Dutch citizenship. The minister now has six weeks to reconsider her decision.

"He is an exceptional talent with special qualities. He could make the difference," Van Basten told the court in a hearing two weeks ago.

The 20-year-old Kalou, younger brother of Ivory Coast international Bonaventure, has rejected several invitations to play for the country of his birth. He appealed against Verdonk's decision in August to refuse a fast track procedure.

The Dutch are third in the FIFA world rankings but are not among the eight seeded teams at the FIFA World Cup.

www.yahoo.com

Re: Kalou's citizenship bid must be reconsidered, says court
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2005, 08:30:26 AM »
I didn't know Kalou was born in Ivory Coast. Well look at that. Ivory Coast playing Netherlands in the world cup. Sorry to say but i hope he get blank. Anyway he can't start for the Dutch team in this world cup. They just want to cap him.

« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2005, 09:40:55 AM »
I didn't know Kalou was born in Ivory Coast. Well look at that. Ivory Coast playing Netherlands in the world cup. Sorry to say but i hope he get blank. Anyway he can't start for the Dutch team in this world cup. They just want to cap him.
I dont think so. I dont think thats Van Basten Intentions. the guy is sick. Him an castelen mash people every week. If he gets nationaity as long as Van Basten his there Kalou will be a major part of the team.
But I still think its out of order for Kalou has subbed his country of birth really its not like hes been in holland long(not even as long as Adu has been in america I think) and really and truly if he plays for Holland I dont think he WONT be able to go home, thats If he still considers it home.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2006, 04:24:46 PM by Carib-briton(aka Futbol) »

« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2005, 09:45:48 AM »
So he could possibly come up against his brother in the World Cup. That should be interesting.

« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2005, 09:50:04 AM »
he should go back and play for ivory coast

« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2005, 02:09:13 PM »
he should go back and play for ivory coast
Yep

Offline marcovbasten

« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2005, 03:55:06 AM »

kalou is in holland from his youth
he speaks dutch,thinks dutch
just like other people he has the right to become dutch citizen.
the dutch only want to fasten up things
so he can play this worldcup
if its denied,he doesnt play this worldcup,but he plays the next worldcup/eurocup
so he's becoming dutch anyway
he wants it himself,nobody is pushing him
he even asked marco van basten to go to the court with him,and v basten did
so its now or within 2 years that he plays a major tournament with the dutch
and that the people from cote ivore dont like that ,thats there problem

Offline trinibug

« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2005, 05:15:06 AM »
I guess Holland must be a backward country. Look how they eh let the man in, and he could help them in the world cup! At least the courts step in to save them from that foolish immigration policy.
Must rhyme with an O

Offline marcovbasten

« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2005, 05:57:49 AM »
trinibug

what do you know of our foolish immigration ?

« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2005, 09:38:44 AM »
wat position he does play

Offline rastafari

« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2005, 09:44:53 AM »
trinibug

I want to get Dutch citizenship.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Offline marcovbasten

« Reply #11 on: December 14, 2005, 10:04:21 AM »

kalou is a left/right forward

everyone that works in holland,or is married to a dutch person has the right to become dutch

it takes five years to become a dutchman/woman

even when you come to our country illegal,if you can proof that you were here for a period  of time (say 10 years),then you have the right to become dutch.(??)strange i know.

But we're dutch,you can smoke cannabis here legal
we even have shops where you can buy it

if you are a harddrug addict and you are broke,just make as mess,and you get your dope for freefrom the goverment!

holland is the home of xtc allso
you can go to a party ,and the red cross checks if your xtc is good or not

maybe a nice trip to make when you are in germany!
visit holland!

« Reply #12 on: December 14, 2005, 10:09:20 AM »
trust me fellas holland is ah damn nice country.

« Reply #13 on: December 14, 2005, 10:11:52 AM »
trinibug

vanbasten on a personal note do you know the kickboxer brothers.there surname is rodgers.they were european champions about 12 years ago.

Offline marcovbasten

« Reply #14 on: December 14, 2005, 10:17:12 AM »

hi tutticapi

i dont know them.

i will check it and let you know

greetzz

Offline trinibug

« Reply #15 on: December 14, 2005, 10:20:35 AM »
trinibug

Sorry Marco,
It was a sarcastic remark referring to a debate on this board about T&T immigration policies and Jose Luis Seabra.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2005, 10:32:20 AM by trinibug »
Must rhyme with an O

« Reply #16 on: December 14, 2005, 10:24:09 AM »

hi tutticapi

i dont know them.

i will check it and let you know

greetzz
ok thanx.

Offline marcovbasten

« Reply #17 on: December 14, 2005, 10:35:13 AM »

i understand trinibug

it is a stupid immigration,you re right

thats why i asked

the dutch are sarcastic thereselves about our immigration

there are living 16 million people in the same space as t&t

and ther is still immigration

EVEN WORSE!! they want kalou allso!!

we only have v nistelrooij,mackaay,kluivert,vennegoor,kuijt as forwards
so another one is allways welcome(sarcastic)
the dutch themselves find it kind of stupid that there is a big problem for yet another forward

just let him play with his brother for cote ivory

im going home now

see you tomorrow!

Dutch hit new low with Kalou case
« Reply #18 on: December 20, 2005, 08:59:33 AM »

« Reply #19 on: December 20, 2005, 09:30:56 AM »

everyone that works in holland,or is married to a dutch person has the right to become dutch

even when you come to our country illegal,if you can proof that you were here for a period  of time (say 10 years),then you have the right to become dutch.(??)strange i know.

if you are a harddrug addict and you are broke,just make as mess,and you get your dope for freefrom the goverment!

visit holland!
This sound like ah real Dutch Ad...they should send yuh a check in the mail :rotfl:
« Last Edit: December 20, 2005, 09:40:09 AM by Tallman »

Offline marcovbasten

« Reply #20 on: December 20, 2005, 09:46:26 AM »

well......

great that the english have an opinion too!
too bad that they don't know were they are talking about.

KALOU WANTS TO PLAY FOR HOLLAND

and that is something completely different than that we ask him to play for holland

the guy speaks dutch,thinks dutch,IS dutch,lives here allmost for ever
so...why not

than we have yet another 1st class striker!

great ...why not?

and thats exactly what v basten and cruijff were thinkin,and supported
its an hounor to hear that somebody that good wants to play for Holland

and dont blame the holland covernment or something 

« Reply #21 on: December 20, 2005, 10:19:47 AM »

visit holland!

Yeah yuh right, nice place tuh visit, nuff girls in dem windows. But ah doh know bout de drugs thing nah padnah, ah not on dat, anyway to each his own.  :beermug:
« Last Edit: December 20, 2005, 10:26:49 AM by SUPA »

Brothers could clash in Germany
« Reply #22 on: February 15, 2006, 03:49:54 PM »
I find this story interesting

BBC SPORTS

Brothers Bonaventure and Salomon Kalou could play against each other at next year's World Cup finals in Germany.
This follows Friday's draw in Leipzig which put the Ivory Coast and the Netherlands in the same group.

Bonaventure is the 27-year-old captain of the Elephants while his 20-year-old brother Salomon has applied for Dutch citizenship.

He would be in line for a place in the Dutch squad for the finals if his nationality switch bid succeeds.

Bonaventure, who plays for Paris St Germain, has 40 caps and has scored 10 goals for the Ivory Coast. He is one of the team's most influential players, adept both in attack and midfield.

He was bought from ASEC Abidjan's academy by Dutch club Feyenoord, where he spent six seasons, winning the UEFA Cup in 2002.

Salomon, who, like his brother was born in the Ivory Coast, moved to the Netherlands when he was 15 and is still at Feyenoord where he has scored 25 goals in 47 matches, including five this season.

His citizenship claim was given a boost on Friday when a Dutch court ruled that a government department must re-consider his appeal for a passport after earlier turning it down.

Both national coach Marco van Basten and the legendary Johann Cruyff have supported Salomon's case for Dutch citizenship.

With Argentina and Serbia & Montenegro also in Group C, the Ivorian coach Henri Michel said the draw had been unkind to his World Cup virgins. "I think this is the toughest one. It's extremely difficult but it will do us good as we will see some great football," the Frenchman said.

Michel said that playing against the best in their first World Cup outing would do his young and inexperienced Ivorians a lot of good.

"If they have confidence, we should be able to do something special. We have nothing to lose and everything to gain," Michel said.

Two-time world champions Argentina and the Netherlands, runners-up twice, contested the 1978 final and will face off in the last Group C match, possibly with World Cup survival on the line.

"If you start out with a tough group, you immediately know what you are worth," Marco van Basten said. "We know it is not going to be an easy job."

Argentina will be doubly motivated after a disastrous first-round exit four years ago, also from a tough group which included England and Nigeria.

"We have a lot of confidence, we have no fear," assistant coach Hugo Tocalli said. "On the other hand, we have faith."

Serbia-Montenegro are also brimming with confidence after finishing their qualifying campaign unbeaten and only conceding one goal.

"We draw with Holland and Argentina in our first two matches, and then we beat the Ivory Coast," striker Mateja Kezman said.

"The first game against the Dutch is the most important and it could be our hope because the favourites sometimes freeze under pressure of the opening game."

Re: Brothers could clash in Germany
« Reply #23 on: February 15, 2006, 03:55:59 PM »
bonaventure should 4get dutch citizenship and play 4 ivory coast  :beermug:

Re: Brothers could clash in Germany
« Reply #24 on: February 15, 2006, 04:09:44 PM »

next thing he get dutch citizenship and eh  van basten change his mind

« Reply #25 on: February 15, 2006, 04:16:30 PM »

even when you come to our country illegal,if you can proof that you were here for a period of time (say 10 years),then you have the right to become dutch.(??)strange i know.

visit holland!

Say no to Drugs
;D  We doh run down that kinda ah thing.  If ah man want ah draw, that is he business, but we doh deal with de smoke zone business.

« Reply #26 on: February 15, 2006, 04:16:47 PM »
Not Bonventure. You Mean Salomon.

All of you are WRONG! Salomon SHOULD get Dutch citizenship

THEN PLAY FOR IVORY COAST  :rotfl: :rotfl:

West Indians do it.They get British Citizenship(the elders) and come back every six months for free medication(and visit their lovely pickney and grand-pickney)  ;D
« Last Edit: February 15, 2006, 04:19:05 PM by Carib-briton(aka Futbol) »

« Reply #27 on: February 22, 2006, 11:55:26 PM »
I have heard that Kalou won his appeal making him a Dutch Citizen. Do anyone know if this is true....

« Reply #28 on: February 23, 2006, 08:16:06 AM »
I guess Holland must be a backward country. Look how they eh let the man in, and he could help them in the world cup! At least the courts step in to save them from that foolish immigration policy.

Why allyuh have to cry down other people country so? What is T&T's immigration policy? Ent not long ago people was saying we should allow Sebra to play, so what is different? Sebra come T&T as a big hard stones man 25 years old and almost everone on this site was bumping dem gum about how they should make him a T&T National.

« Reply #29 on: February 23, 2006, 08:26:09 AM »
Maybe this will help from Wikipedia

"Kalou has also been in the news regarding his possible naturalization as a Dutch citizen. Kalou is interested in a place in the Netherlands national football team. He has never played for the Côte d'Ivoire team, so would be eligible for the Dutch team if he was naturalized. His brother Bonaventure had given him this advice after experiencing regular problems with the Côte d'Ivoire football association."