October 31, 2024, 10:37:47 PM

Author Topic: Post ah Recipe!!  (Read 22908 times)

Re: Post ah Recipe!!
« Reply #60 on: March 15, 2009, 07:41:19 AM »
For lunch today i making some Braised beef short ribs in a red wine sauce
and ah here telling mehself look how I did use to curry and stew up everything back home  ;D

« Reply #61 on: March 15, 2009, 07:59:40 AM »
anybody familiar with all the 'bake' recipes?

the one ah looking for was for a kinda pot bake..i ent know if it was a spanish recipe or what
the 2-3 inch thick dough was placed in the bottom of a big iron pot and slow cooked on top the stove
a lot of lard was also used, thats why when it was done it used to look like a currants roll without the currants if u know what i mean
that stuff was flaky right through

ah just ent want to go through experimenting cause ah go just eat it lol
any help will be appreciated

« Reply #62 on: March 15, 2009, 08:02:52 AM »
and ah here telling mehself look how I did use to curry and stew up everything back home  ;D
so you are telling me there is more to my culinary experiences than Curry and Cook up Rice (as meh guyanese cricket pardnas would call it) :D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #63 on: March 15, 2009, 08:12:24 AM »
so you are telling me there is more to my culinary experiences than Curry and Cook up Rice (as meh guyanese cricket pardnas would call it) :D
boy is true lol
back home we use to cut up filet mignon and ribeye and stick it in curry and pelau cause we didnt know better :-[
only bbq was basically chicken, pork, lamb and fish, everything had sauce on it lol
so now in de midwest here yuh know is all meat and potatoes, so is steak non stop lol

« Reply #64 on: March 15, 2009, 08:52:21 AM »
I goin an cook some cow tongue this week
That does just melt in ya mouth

another thing that I discouvered recently is pork tenderloin
when cooked properly it also melts in ya mouth
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #65 on: March 15, 2009, 09:47:15 AM »
2 drinks I love anybody could drink them, old young, in between

Coke and milk.

serves 1

Ingredients

1 can of coke
1 cup of milk

Method

Open can of coke and pour into serving glass at the same time you pour your milk. Be careful because this thing have a tendancy to fizz and rise to the top of the glass quickly and overflow.

Add few cubes of ice.

Enjoy

NB> Coke can be substituted with Kola Champagne, or Solo Banana, or Solo Orange. Do NOT substitute with cream soda.

Milky Nightcap

Serves 2

2 cup of milk
1 tablespoon sugar
4 dash angostura bitters

Heat milk in a saucepan, wait until bubbling and then add sugar. Stir.
Add 4 dash angostura bitters, stir,  remove from heat.

Pour into serving cups.

Enjoy

NB. A dash of sherry or brandy can be added into cups for a more adult night cap.
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

Re: Recipe for coconut drops
« Reply #66 on: March 15, 2009, 02:41:15 PM »
alyuh know what that is?   my mudda used to make that long time but now i ent go beg she for dat now.  i was telling meh wife how much i like them and she say look for a recipe.  anybody here does make them still?   help me out nah...thanks peeps
here yuh go Fari
http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/coconut-rock-buns-recipe/
its actually called a rock cake but we alter it of course lol

thanks a lot bredda

« Reply #67 on: March 15, 2009, 02:50:16 PM »
Ice Cream Suprise

Ingredients
1. Raisin bran cereal
2. Tub of your favourite ice cream

Method
1. Pour cereal into dessert bowl until half full
2. Scoop ice cream into bowl until cereal is completely covered
3. Serve, but do not mention the cereal below to your friends

NB For variation add syrup of your choice to ice cream

Your friend will enjoy the ice cream until suddenly they feel a crunch when chewing. When they look at you bemused you yell "SUPRISE"!

« Reply #68 on: March 15, 2009, 06:39:34 PM »
I goin an cook some cow tongue this week
That does just melt in ya mouth

another thing that I discouvered recently is pork tenderloin
when cooked properly it also melts in ya mouth
tongue is de bomb,had some sweetbreads de other day.another treat.

« Reply #69 on: March 15, 2009, 06:54:25 PM »
Melongene choka

Get a baigan/eggplant/melongene...stuff about 3-6 cloves of garlic inside it, rub it with a little oil and roast the eggplant on a stove or oven till the skin turns black and the outside gets charred.

Chop up some onion, garlic and pimento and saute that in a pot or frying pan.

Scoop out the inside of the melongene and add it to the onion, garlic and pimento.

Take a spoon mash it up and stir well, mixing the ingredients....add some salt to taste.

Eat with a sada, pita bread or crix.

« Reply #70 on: March 15, 2009, 06:56:21 PM »
Touches do you know ,if you wrap it in foil it locks in the flavor and keeps your stove clean .

« Reply #71 on: March 16, 2009, 07:16:58 AM »
Touches do you know ,if you wrap it in foil it locks in the flavor and keeps your stove clean .
like yuh get plenty boff from yuh wife already.ah baigan choka does cut real nice.

« Reply #72 on: March 16, 2009, 12:30:37 PM »
But if you put it in foil...will cooking time move from 15min to 1hr?

I was thinking that the bun bun roasting thing is what does bring out the flavour. I cook mine saturday gone in my toaster oven.

I put it on toast on the highest setting...it come out good.

« Reply #73 on: March 17, 2009, 08:00:21 AM »
once made on ah bbq pit over some hot coals.

« Reply #74 on: April 03, 2010, 09:30:42 AM »
This all started with ah craving ah get for | salted peanuts' yuh know the one  yuh could buy in a bottle. Well ah try shelling some salted nuts and heating them up in  a frying pan  and then putting them in the oven; then sprinkling salt and some all purpose spice. It kinda work but  ..... ah goggle all kinda sites but I eh find ah true recipe for making salted roast peanuts. Anyone with a recipe for this? Remember it have tuh look like and taste like the ones yuh buy in the bottles back home.

So now ah asking  fuh folks to post their favourite Trinbago recipe; t could be yours , your mother, father, granny, uncle sister, aunt friend wife . partner or whomever  just share ah favourite nah.
Thanks
P.S doh forget if yuh have one fuh me salted peanuts in the bottle  put it on.

« Reply #75 on: April 22, 2010, 08:11:21 PM »
Looking for a real quick and easy way to peel hard boiled eggs?

Take the egg and knock it on the counter, just enough to crack the shell.
Put yuh palm over the egg, then roll it forward or backwards pressing with a little force.
The shell and membrane should then come off in 2 pieces.
I could do 2 dozen in under a minute..thats how fast it is  ;D