February 05, 2025, 03:40:01 AM

Author Topic: Ken Butcher: Kerry Noray Deserves A National Call Up.  (Read 7095 times)

Ken Butcher: Kerry Noray Deserves A National Call Up.
« on: June 21, 2005, 06:55:39 PM »
Butcher: Kerry Noray deserves a national call up.
By: Joel Villafana.

Former National Midfielder Ken ‘The Smooth’ Butcher has made a strong call for CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh’s striker Kerry Noray to be included in the National team as soon as possible.
Butcher, a former National Technical Director, is of the strong view that Noray deserves a chance just based on his performances for Jabloteh in the T&T Pro League this season.
Butcher told ttproleague.com, “Noray is quick, deceptive and hard working, he torments defenders and has great goal scoring ability.”
“When you look at the current national team, we don’t possess a striker of his nature, currently Stern John and Dwight Yorke are similar in style and someone like Noray will be a wonderful surprise package for Coach Beenhakker to have in his armory.”
Noray, just 24 years old has scored 5 goals this season in 7 appearances—and has impressed this season for San Juan Jabloteh. The diminutive striker is one of the main reasons Jabloteh have bounced back after their stuttering start to the 2005 season.
Noray’s lone item in the Pro Bowl final against W Connection was critical as it helped Jabloteh claim their first national title since winning the league in 2003.
The National team is expected to gather on June 26th for a camp in Miami ahead of the 2005 Gold Cup and National Coach Leo Beenhakker is expected to finalize his squad for the tournament pretty soon.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2005, 06:03:29 AM by Flex »

Noray is not a stranger tuh de national setup. He has 6 caps and 1 goal. His last match was against Venezuela in April 2003.

Offline Solo

That means it should be easier for Beenie to pull him in as he has some experience and a goal. Thats good. Who did he score against?

i think against st lucia

Who did he score against?

He scored against St. Kitts and Nevis in a Gold Cup Qualifier at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on November 15, 2002.

Here is Lasana Liburd's description of his goal:

A long, perceptive clearance from Jack and an unfortunate slip from Kittian stopper Darren Allers left Noray in possession with at least two yards of space from the nearest retreating defender and the goal at his mercy.

Too easy.

The Jabloteh striker slowed to a crawl allowing sweeper Keith Eddy to catch him before pretending to turn back for help.

A flick of his body in the opposite direction left a confused defender requesting directions and Noray alone with Byron in the penalty area.

Again, Noray paused long enough for the dreadlocked custodian to commit himself before neatly lifting home at the near post.

Off came his shirt as he celebrated with gusto.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2005, 08:44:08 PM by Tallman »

As much as every individual feels that some player "deserves" a call up to national duty, it look like  Beenie know what he's doing. I'm sure he must have heard bout Kerry and even seen him in a few games. If he's not on the team now should indicate that beenie feels he can add nothing new to the team. In the interest of fair play and he is called up.........

Who really will you leave out from the current squad??????

Just because a man score 5 goals in the PFL doesn't mean he deserves a place in the national side.  There are some young strikers out there like Glen and Scotland who have scored tons of goals in the PFL in past seasons, and who now have foreign league experience, and they couldn't even make our last squad.

Let the coach decide
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2005, 09:35:08 PM »
I trust that the coach will choose the right players for the qualifying campaign. The Gold Cup is a great oppurtunity for these players to demonstrate their quality.

yuh did see how noray and glen mash up chicago fire in de national stadium?

de man could real play.

yuh did see how noray and glen mash up chicago fire in de national stadium?

de man could real play.

i was in de stadium and it is important to note that glenn scored a hattrick and noray scored a double, but only glenn was sought after by scouts.

I think that noray is very skilfull, but it dont think he up for this level!

I don't see any harm in calling him up to train with the squad.  A call up does not mean sure pick.  If he performs better than the other forwards select him, if he does not..drop his a*s...very simple.

glen scored a hattrick, but how many of his goals come from Norays passes?

I was there too!

Thıs ıs why we should have some games going on around the country. The Probables vs. the Possıbles.

We could see fellas lıke Norway, Abu Bakr Jr., Jagdeosingh, Shakes, Hart and a few others.

Even if most of the possibles don't make the side. The Coach would have an idea for the future. And we could have a good idea if injuries or Red Cards give us any headaches.

I for one am miffed at the lack of options we have when these men taking FKs.

Peace,

Thank you, end of story.

glen scored a hattrick, but how many of his goals come from Norays passes?

I was there too!

ok cool, but why isnt anyone else seeing that?

i like noray as a player, and sam was the first one to mention that he should be on de team but i see him play often i and think that although he is very skillfull, he still needs to have more strength on de ball!

saviola and those guys are also small in stature, but what dey have is strength on de ball.

although he is skillfull, it will take a lot more than 5 (right place at de right time toe poke) goals in 7 games to convince beenie man to bring him in de squad, given the fact that he eh get tuh see more proven goal scorers like scotland and mc farlene and samuel yet!

but then again, nutten wrong with him training in de squad tuh see what he could do!

Re: Ken Butcher: Kerry Noray Deserves A National Call Up.
« Reply #15 on: June 22, 2005, 07:14:45 AM »
Players should be picked base on current inform performance and Noray is presently inform. How bad can he be if every week de man scoring against bigger stronger defenders. ?

Read Tallman break down of Noray goal for T&T again.

Ken Butcher even say "“When you look at the current national team, we don’t possess a striker of his nature, currently Stern John and Dwight Yorke are similar in style and someone like Noray will be a wonderful surprise package for Coach Beenhakker to have in his armory.” because of his style.

De point is, if you use your head and skills like Latapy use to then size dont really make a difference. Noray small size could make him find spaces and poke in goals, his style makes him hard to mark.

Atleast he should be training we de team then, remember when Vranes and Shabazz took over the team before we play Venezeula last year or something, Noray was de first man get called.

It seems to me Noray is a clinical finisher, forget how he score it, de point is he scoring and when it matters to... Fenwick seeing this to, he came back and one time he pick Noray on de team, he and Ricky Hill use Noray all de time in they line up..

Even Solo who see Jabloteh play ever week in T&T say he should get a call up. This is de purpose of the PFL league, to pick de best players in de league.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2005, 07:29:24 AM by Flex »

« Reply #16 on: June 22, 2005, 07:30:13 AM »
i know de goal that noray scored, i saw it!  It was on de right flank, he back was tuh de goal, he hit ah man a body fake, sent him de wrong way, turned, and fire de ball in de net!

i agree with u when u say that his size does make him hard to mark, because he is known to get into spaces very quickly, and is quick of de dribble

He is not ah quickie, so he cyar run wit the ball like sam or glenn, nor is he strong in de air like yorke, stern or jones, nor is he strong on de ball like scotland. 

I have no problem with him on de team, but who place he go take?   i woulda like tuh see him on de team because i like him as a player, but bertile f*ck up de chance tuh use him in the digicel cup (imagine nigel pierre get tuh play).

Andy Johnson score ah million goal in the Premiership and still he eh get pick as a striker for england (dey eventually play him for one game on de wing in ah friendly).

Sam, i just want u tuh recommend who place he might take.

K. Jones, D. Yorke, S. John, C. Glenn, J. Scotland, H. Sam  (i eh even talk bout sealey and glasgow yet).

Remember, we only want 4 strikers!

Ah love it!!

« Reply #17 on: June 22, 2005, 07:43:43 AM »
He will take any players place if he could beat them at they game and thats how it should be, de gold cup is a good time to see one or two new faces, nothing to lose.

Scotland attitude who feel he is a automatic pick have no place there, and he not inform at the moment, we cant use imporant warm up games to keep players fit and as soon as de SPL start back he gone again, we eh doing he club no favors.

Sam, Sealy and Glasgow could be replaced, they not proific same for Glen, all ah them on de same level. We need clinical finishers, strikers should know how to finish, they could be de best most excited players on de field but if we cant score then what sense is that, this is what strikers do... finish, Noray will control de box and find that space to poke it in.

As I said, Noray shouldn't be a sure pick because international football is a different vibes, but he should get de chance like everyone else to show his worth.

« Reply #18 on: June 22, 2005, 07:57:18 AM »
Can anyone tell me the last time Gary Glasgow scored a goal?

Glasgow's last goal
« Reply #19 on: June 22, 2005, 08:07:25 AM »

De last goal he score fuh T&T was against St. Vincent and the Grenadines in a Digicel Cup match at de Manny Ramjohn Stadium on January 9, 2005.

Re: Glasgow's last goal
« Reply #20 on: June 22, 2005, 08:19:04 AM »

De last goal he score fuh T&T was against St. Vincent and the Grenadines in a Digicel Cup match at de Manny Ramjohn Stadium on January 9, 2005.

Thanks

« Reply #21 on: June 22, 2005, 09:30:56 AM »

Is Yorke confirmed for the Gold Cup?
If he not there then it might have room for Noray

Offline Solo

« Reply #22 on: June 23, 2005, 08:06:03 PM »
Strange but I was looking at a picture of Noray and a Defence Force player fight for a ball ( on jabloteh website front page) and said to myself hey he is not so small and short after all. Maybe he crouches a lot. Nevertheless the guy has form and he is hungry I think he deserves a look from Beenie. It doesnt mean that he will be picked but week in week out he played and scored four goals against two of the teams with good and tough defenders ( Connection and Defence Force) and that must tell you that currently he is holding his own and can mix it up with bigger guys. I think his movement and clinical finishing can cause a lot of problems because he turns so darn quickly and never gives up a chase for a ball.

Offline Sando1515

« Reply #23 on: July 28, 2005, 11:22:05 AM »
How about picking a PFL 11 a superleague 11 and a Minor league 11 and pit them against the National team for training development and actual game situation training for the nationals. We may get a better look at the players and how they match up at least locally.

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #24 on: July 28, 2005, 11:31:51 AM »
    Blind man Beenie can't even see Shit John not playing well and doh even want to sub him. Glenn and Jones, who in my opinion has not done any wrong recently does get corbeaux sweat and sometimes they doh get any sweat at all, them 2 is quality fella for T'dad right now. And after all that men bawling Noray?? The sad thing is even if Noray playing that good and on form, if he was to be selected in the team, he MAY NEVER EVEN ACTUALLY PLAY!! Remember the whole point for him to be on T&T team is to actually PLAY in real games, on the field!! If Jones and Glenn not even getting to actually PLAY you think Noray will by pass them and just get games just so!!?!?!? I doubt it, EVEN if he were to impress in training, since this coach kinda cookoo. If John and Cyd Gray playing plenty and Charles and Glenn and to a lesser extent Jones not getting much run, I fear that Noray being SELECTED on the team may mean NOTHING, probably water boy or something. I do not agree with the coach Glenn and Jones must sweat together in a game for some time at least providing John plays like himself (doing nothing) if they miraculously get to play along with Atiba Charles (I feel real sorry for him after he played very good against Panama and Mexico) only then Noray will ever be considered. But from the Gold Cup, we see that the coach eh know what he even doing since John bribing him to play, so I fear Noray may be overlooked...

J.
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power." 

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare

« Reply #25 on: July 28, 2005, 02:36:12 PM »
How about picking a PFL 11 a superleague 11 and a Minor league 11 and pit them against the National team for training development and actual game situation training for the nationals. We may get a better look at the players and how they match up at least locally.
sando fantastic idea only a south man could come up with such a good idea...ohh lawd i know i goh get some stick for that ...anyway meh back broad lol

Offline Aymir

• JABLOTEH FOREVER
    • Jabloteh
« Reply #26 on: July 28, 2005, 04:10:22 PM »
if he's good enough then he should at least be training with the squad. i can assure you that if he does it for jabloteh he can do it for our national team because when i look at the performance of our strikers based on current form and when i look at how stern is scoring his goals here in england now. i would say we should try noray and sealey and jones. those lads are young fresh strikers that will keep the defenders tizzic.