October 31, 2024, 08:32:20 PM

Author Topic: Why is it called sex?  (Read 4460 times)

Why is it called sex?
« on: November 03, 2006, 07:44:45 AM »
No, not that one. Why is passing the ball through someone's legs referred to as a "sex?" Is that a Trini thing, and what is the origin? Thanks  :beermug:

Re: Why is it called sex?
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2006, 07:47:16 AM »
No, not that one. Why is passing the ball through someone's legs referred to as a "sex?" Is that a Trini thing, and what is the origin? Thanks  :beermug:

Ah takin a wild guess dat u not Trini.

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2006, 07:49:31 AM »
Is this a candidiate for the Dave Jenny award ?

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2006, 07:55:31 AM »

I take it yuh is ah virgin?

« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2006, 08:11:38 AM »

I am. What I meant was, is it used ONLY in Trinidad, or has anyone ever heard it anywhere else? I know in the states it's a "nutmeg" etc. I'm just curious about how the expression came about in that context.
« Last Edit: November 03, 2006, 08:18:59 AM by boss »

Offline congo

« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2006, 08:17:17 AM »
No, not that one. Why is passing the ball through someone's legs referred to as a "sex?" Is that a Trini thing, and what is the origin? Thanks :beermug:

U too idle for me yes...To much free time. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2006, 08:24:34 AM »
Balls passing between legs and you not seeing the connection? A better question is why is it called ''nutmeg'' elsewhere?

« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2006, 08:28:57 AM »
A nutmeg (or tunnel or panna) is a technique used in football (soccer), in which a player plays the ball through an opponent's legs and retrieves it himself.

The origins of the word are a point of debate. According to Alex Leith's book Over the Moon, Brian - The Language of Football, "nuts refers to the testicles of the player through whose legs the ball has been passed and nutmeg is just a development from this". The use of the word nutmeg to mean leg in Cockney rhyming slang has also been put forward as an explanation. The most likely source, however, was postulated by Peter Seddon in his book "Football Talk - The Language And Folklore Of The World's Greatest Game". He states that 'to nutmeg' was a Victorian verb meaning 'to trick' or 'to fool' and arose after the nutmeg trade gained a reputation for duplicitous goings-on, with vendors selling fake nutmeg. It soon caught on in football, implying that the player whose legs the ball had been played through had been tricked, or, nutmegged.

In northern England the term nutmeg is often shortened to "Nuts" in informal use.

To be nutmegged is commonly seen as showing you are lacking in footballing skill and so amongst amateur players (particularly children) nutmegs are frequently tried so as to show up the opposition player and prove your own skill.

« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2006, 08:49:41 AM »
A nutmeg (or tunnel or panna) is a technique used in football (soccer), in which a player plays the ball through an opponent's legs and retrieves it himself.

The origins of the word are a point of debate. According to Alex Leith's book Over the Moon, Brian - The Language of Football, "nuts refers to the testicles of the player through whose legs the ball has been passed and nutmeg is just a development from this". The use of the word nutmeg to mean leg in Cockney rhyming slang has also been put forward as an explanation. The most likely source, however, was postulated by Peter Seddon in his book "Football Talk - The Language And Folklore Of The World's Greatest Game". He states that 'to nutmeg' was a Victorian verb meaning 'to trick' or 'to fool' and arose after the nutmeg trade gained a reputation for duplicitous goings-on, with vendors selling fake nutmeg. It soon caught on in football, implying that the player whose legs the ball had been played through had been tricked, or, nutmegged.

In northern England the term nutmeg is often shortened to "Nuts" in informal use.

To be nutmegged is commonly seen as showing you are lacking in footballing skill and so amongst amateur players (particularly children) nutmegs are frequently tried so as to show up the opposition player and prove your own skill.

Just replace the word "nutmeg" with the word "sex" in first sentence & you have a good explanation of what it is.

As for origins of the use of the word "sex" by Trinis its been used as long as I can remember playing football in T&T and I starting playing small goal on the streets of T&T in the 70's.

Maybe one of the older heads can help even though some here may class me as one of them!   8)

« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2006, 09:03:16 AM »
Boss how you could do this to your self ......what about getting  breed and " I want two puppies when they born eh  :rotfl:
and daiz yah wife

« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2006, 09:06:06 AM »
I feel is when yuh open yuh leg and ball and man passing.......hence the term.

I never understood "Saalaad" or salad from our cousins up north.

But I like how we take the term "sex" and modify it for the stinkness of the beat.

So yuh familiar with "twins" "rape", "from behind" "without grease" "tight" etc. or yuh need explaniations of dat too?.......use yuh imagination.

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2006, 10:35:23 AM »

But I like how we take the term "sex" and modify it for the stinkness of the beat.

So yuh familiar with "twins" "rape", "from behind" "without grease" "tight" etc. or yuh need explaniations of dat too?.......use yuh imagination.

Yeah...I really eh know why they call it Saalaad up here nah. The first time I hear it was when I drop one on a feller in a University league game and men say how I Salaad de man so bad. Well, the only way I make the connection was the way they were carrying on about it. The other term I heard use was 'meg' which I presume is the short form for the 'nutmeg' I guess even though the name might differ across the globe, the shame is universal.
well yes

« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2006, 10:49:26 AM »

Yeah...I really eh know why they call it Saalaad up here nah. The first time I hear it was when I drop one on a feller in a University league game and men say how I Salaad de man so bad. Well, the only way I make the connection was the way they were carrying on about it. The other term I heard use was 'meg' which I presume is the short form for the 'nutmeg' I guess even though the name might differ across the globe, the shame is universal.

deja vu!!!

Offline Phensic

« Reply #13 on: November 03, 2006, 01:52:49 PM »

:rotfl:  :rotfl: Indeeeeedddd

« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2006, 08:45:32 AM »
Dutty whey yuh dey, Give us a definition for what this fella asking.

« Reply #15 on: November 04, 2006, 11:11:51 AM »

I take it yuh is ah virgin?

ALL YUH MEN CRACKING UP MY ASS HERE YES.. ;D ;D

« Reply #16 on: November 04, 2006, 12:06:59 PM »
i eh hear sex in a long time.....
i hear Breed , bull or F*ck

« Reply #17 on: November 04, 2006, 12:08:28 PM »
nex yuh go be asking why dey does call de ting ah "box".....