June 21, 2024, 02:21:28 PM

Author Topic: 2nd Test Pak vs Windies  (Read 9265 times)

2nd Test Pak vs Windies
« on: November 18, 2006, 11:09:41 PM »
http://content-wi.cricinfo.com/pakvwi/content/current/story/268908.html

No Sarwan and no Edwards. Pakistan are unchanged and have won the toss and elected to bat first. 15/0 after 8 overs. That 8th over Collymore beat the bat on 4 occassions including one appeal for LBW to one missing leg stump.

Re: 2nd Test Pak vs Windies
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2006, 11:52:23 PM »
You beat me to it

« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2006, 12:11:32 PM »
Pakistan ended day 1 on 263/4. Inzamam and Malik the not out batsmen.

Taylor 15-2-61-2 (4.06)
Collymore 16-5-23-0 (1.43)
Powell 12-2-50-0 (4.16)
Gayle 22-6-52-1 (2.36)
Bravo 14-5-30-1 (2.14)
Mohammed 11-1-39-0 (3.54)
Morton 1-0-4-0 (4.00)

« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2006, 12:32:28 PM »
Pakistan ended day 1 on 263/4. Inzamam and Malik the not out batsmen.

Taylor 15-2-61-2 (4.06)
Collymore 16-5-23-0 (1.43)
Powell 12-2-50-0 (4.16)
Gayle 22-6-52-1 (2.36)
Bravo 14-5-30-1 (2.14)
Mohammed 11-1-39-0 (3.54)
Morton 1-0-4-0 (4.00)

i think lara could bowl mohammed for more overs, gayle bowling 22 overs compared to mohammed's 11 overs doesnt make sense, lara need tuh bowl mohammed more bc the more he bowls the more effective he is, nice to see the secret weapon take a wicket, we should clean up the other 6 wickets by today...

« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2006, 11:11:11 PM »
8 overs into the morning it is 297/5. Inzamam caught behind off Taylor for 31. We still have a lot to do.

Offline sinned

« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2006, 12:25:21 AM »
anyone have a live stream btw?

« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2006, 01:13:40 AM »
On the stroke of lunch time the Windies bowl out Pakistan for 357. 6 wickets in this morning session... an impressive come back for the lads. Collymore bowled almost the entire session and Powell 2 maiden overs at the end to keep the pressure on. Good job I think to bowl them out for this score when at one point they were 263/4 with Inzamam looking good for plenty runs. I also think we did quite well in only giving up 15 extras in 124 overs, 2 no balls and zero wides so we gave up little in extra deliveries.

These are the bowlers who were used this morning:
Jerome Taylor 26-7-91-5  3.5
Corey Collymore 31-9-67-2 2.2
Daren Powell 14-4-50-0 3.6
Dwayne Bravo 19-6-41-1 2.2
« Last Edit: November 20, 2006, 01:17:09 AM by dwolfman »

« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2006, 05:37:40 AM »
Windies opening pair grind deep footholds into the pitch and after a slow tentative start they have started to play alot more freely and they have set up West Indies well.

142 without loss of a wicket.

Chris Gayle on a solid 80 of 160 balls (a much slower scoring rate than usual but just as effective)

and our enigmatic Darren Ganga is for now looking as technically sound as ever and he hasnt shown any sign of playing a rash shot anytime in the duration of his innings, however I think we'd know better to be alittle scepticale about the possibility of a century.

We'll just have to see how it plays out.

A Chris Gayle Century would be in perfect order, but its Ganga who im really expecting a big innings from.

Enjoy it folks.

« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2006, 06:02:30 AM »
End of Day 2 Windies 151/0 from 57 overs. Gayle on 87 from 163 balls and Ganga on 59 from 179 balls. Batting at 2.65 runs per over, but we're now only 206 runs behind with all our wickets in order. Lara hasn't had to come in like an opener for a change so I think it's a very good start for us. It shows that these 2 can apply themselves and we hope it spreads to the rest the team. A good day for us all in all.

Offline monty

« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2006, 10:32:39 AM »
We need to get a score of 700  :o and then try to bowl out the Pakis!

A run rate of at least 4 runs per over is de target and we should bat for 1 1/2 more days.

« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2006, 10:44:55 AM »
We need to get a score of 700 :o and then try to bowl out the Pakis!

A run rate of at least 4 runs per over is de target and we should bat for 1 1/2 more days.

we should not bat more than 2 sessions and a bit maybe, bc pakistan want to draw this test by the way they are playing, if we stay longer than today it will be a draw bc the wicket will take spin by 2day, pakistan may want to go for the jugular if we dont post a 500, that should be our score, nothing more, nothing less, in order to get a result out of this match... :beermug:

we need 150 in our first session and 200 in our second session, this may be difficult, personal milestones is a waste of time right now bc we are trying to win a test match, if a batsman is not excelerating the run rate, i would advise him to play more aggressive in order to get a bastman out there to reach the 500, so that it will give us at least 25-30 overs to bowl at pakistan b4 day 4 of the test match, so we need 350 in 61 overs..... :beermug:

« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2006, 10:57:47 AM »
you know i have to put in my 2 cents...good to see the start by Gayle and Ganga..hope they continue tomorrow..we're half-way there and no wickets- good going...
now all we have to do is WIN

Offline monty

« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2006, 11:26:10 AM »

we should not bat more than 2 sessions and a bit maybe, bc pakistan want to draw this test by the way they are playing, if we stay longer than today it will be a draw bc the wicket will take spin by 2day, pakistan may want to go for the jugular if we dont post a 500, that should be our score, nothing more, nothing less, in order to get a result out of this match... :beermug:

we need 150 in our first session and 200 in our second session, this may be difficult, personal milestones is a waste of time right now bc we are trying to win a test match, if a batsman is not excelerating the run rate, i would advise him to play more aggressive in order to get a bastman out there to reach the 500, so that it will give us at least 25-30 overs to bowl at pakistan b4 day 4 of the test match, so we need 350 in 61 overs..... :beermug:

350 ins 61 overs?  :rotfl:

My first suggestion is for us to be on par with Pakistan and then look to start building a lead there. All results are still possible from here and given Windies propensity to throw away good foundations, there is no need to 'rush the brush' here.

Let us at least play out the whole of tomorrow. That will give us a lead close to 200. Then let us get the newball on the 4th day in the morn with some dew on the wicket. See what Collymore/Taylor/Bravo/Powell made of. Mohammed look like he playing as a batsman! He might still have something to say yet.

« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2006, 11:33:41 AM »

350 ins 61 overs? :rotfl:

My first suggestion is for us to be on par with Pakistan and then look to start building a lead there. All results are still possible from here and given Windies propensity to throw away good foundations, there is no need to 'rush the brush' here.

Let us at least play out the whole of tomorrow. That will give us a lead close to 200. Then let us get the newball on the 4th day in the morn with some dew on the wicket. See what Collymore/Taylor/Bravo/Powell made of. Mohammed look like he playing as a batsman! He might still have something to say yet.

you have to remember that we cannot go longer than the 3rd day breds, the 4th day is for bowling to pakistan, we need to bowl them out on the 4th, if they score 300+ we need at least a day to bat...

Offline monty

« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2006, 11:40:04 AM »
Thaz why I saying let us play out tomorrow and score as much as possible. We took a lot of wickets this morning .. the ball was seaming a lot as it was new and the moisture in the pitch. So we need to exploit that situation as much as possible.

The last thing WI wants to do is lose this game. We cannot go out there with guns ablazing. We need to steadily accumulate runs. We have plenty time still in the game. We need to pick up the run rate.. that is for sure. 4 RPO is good with me.

« Reply #15 on: November 20, 2006, 11:43:10 AM »

350 ins 61 overs? :rotfl:

we have about 30-35 more overs with the old ball today, then the new ball will be taken by pakistan for the remaining 60 overs, if gayle and ganga get out b4 the new ball is introduced we may be in trouble bc the batsmen will have to take the shine off the new ball once more and graft their innings once more, gayle and ganga need to outlast this old ball for another 25-30 overs and face the new ball for about 10-20 more overs, if they get out then we will have about 300+, close to the target with about 40-45 overs left in the day for the other bastmen like morton and lara to make their name and push the total to 500+, getting 557 will be sufficient enough, which means 405 runs must be put on by day 3 in 91 overs of play... maybe even a declaration b4 lunch on day 4 will also be accepted dependent on what happens at stumps of day 3....

« Reply #16 on: November 20, 2006, 11:48:16 AM »
Thaz why I saying let us play out tomorrow and score as much as possible. We took a lot of wickets this morning .. the ball was seaming a lot as it was new and the moisture in the pitch. So we need to exploit that situation as much as possible.

The last thing WI wants to do is lose this game. We cannot go out there with guns ablazing. We need to steadily accumulate runs. We have plenty time still in the game. We need to pick up the run rate.. that is for sure. 4 RPO is good with me.

you must take into consideration that the spinners may slow the run rate or keep it below 4rpo, today for the remaining 30-35 overs is very crucial to the west indies and gayle and ganga must bat it out and face the new ball once more in order for us to win, keeping a 4.0 runrate will be difficult especially since this wicket is turning and the spinners will come into play, however it could go in the west indies favour, we will see today... :beermug:

Offline Remie

« Reply #17 on: November 20, 2006, 04:12:08 PM »
We should be looking to only bat once. If that means batting out the next 5 sessions then so be it. You do not want to be batting last chasing anything over 200 on this surface against Kaneria.

« Reply #18 on: November 20, 2006, 07:19:22 PM »
I agree with Remie. We cannot plan to bat a second time. At 151/0 we need to look to bat until bowled out. The bigger the lead the better for us. The pitch is expected to deteriorate as the match goes along so even a lead of 100, if the bowlers apply themselves, could have us in a great position to force a result.

« Reply #19 on: November 21, 2006, 01:10:26 AM »
What an innings by Lara!  Inzaman stubborn like dem Sri Lankans...who try to counter Lara with Murali.  He eh see wha Lara does do to top class spin?  Now is 26 off Kaneira in ah over...he hit de ball over man on de boundary and all.  63 balls and de man was in he 90's.  Is real wood passing dey boy.  Class is class fellas.

« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2006, 01:14:18 AM »
What an innings by Lara! Inzaman stubborn like dem Sri Lankans...who try to counter Lara with Murali. He eh see wha Lara does do to top class spin? Now is 26 off Kaneira in ah over...he hit de ball over man on de boundary and all. 63 balls and de man was in he 90's. Is real wood passing dey boy. Class is class fellas.

kaneria get remove one time, lara send him off, it looked like lara was vex at the no balls that shouldhave been called, but he destroy kaneria and make him look like ashley giles  :devil: i think it was insulting putting close in fielders for lara, lara addressed the disrespect right away..

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #21 on: November 21, 2006, 06:34:08 AM »
I understand he hit him for 25 in an over, is this true?
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #22 on: November 21, 2006, 06:36:50 AM »
some quotes from cricinfo.....

Lara became only the sixth batsman to speed from 0 to a 100 in one session. His charge to his 34th Test hundred included a belligerent attack on Danish Kaneria. It left him level with one legendary Indian batsman, Sunil Gavaskar, in the century tally and just one behind another, Sachin Tendulkar. The Kaneria-dismantling operation began with the 11th ball he faced, sashaying down the track and lofting straight into the sight-screen, but it was complete in the 25th over of the morning, when he scored 26 runs in a single over. Four pendulum-smooth swings of the bat - depositing the ball to long-off, midwicket, long-on and the roof straight behind the bowler's arm - and one swat down midwicket resulted in the phone number sequence of 406664. It was the second time that Lara had score more than 25 in an over, after his Robin Peterson bashing at Johannesburg three years ago.

In between, Kaneria went through 13 overs that cost 83 runs; 29 of those balls to Lara were whiplashed for 60. Kaneria, who'd dismissed both the openers with well-pitched legbreaks earlier in the day, didn't bowl anywhere as bad as his figures suggested. One man's mastery just left him clueless. The legbreaks were picked on the half-volley and the extension of the bat after striking the ball helped it soar way over the boundary. With extraordinary body balance, a perfect arm-swing and hand-eye co-ordination that few batsmen possess, Lara was simply unstoppable. His contribution in the 61-run partnership with Runako Morton, in just 31 balls, was an awesome 56.

Offline Patterson

« Reply #23 on: November 21, 2006, 07:23:18 AM »
some quotes from cricinfo.....

One man's mastery just left him clueless. The legbreaks were picked on the half-volley and the extension of the bat after striking the ball helped it soar way over the boundary.... Lara was simply unstoppable. His contribution in the 61-run partnership with Runako Morton, in just 31 balls, was an awesome 56.

ah love it

« Reply #24 on: November 21, 2006, 08:53:56 AM »
Just when you think he's done, that he couldn't possibly be capable of any more great innings, we get this masterclass.

Forget the Prince of Port-of-Spain....

Hail King Lara!

« Reply #25 on: November 21, 2006, 09:52:15 AM »
no is not true....... is 26  :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #26 on: November 21, 2006, 10:28:14 AM »
no is not true....... is 26 :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Lara does treat Kaneria with great disdain:  4,6,6,6,4.  That is real demoaralizing.  De man said he was going back to the drawing board to deal with Lara after the beating he take in the WI when they toured, but it ain't look like it making a diference.  They say that Kaneria wasn't really bowling poorly' it's just that Lara does make decent bowling look pedestrain.  Ah love Viv, but Lara really is ah legend.  Gone now, catch Sachin.  I remember when Sachin had about 10 more test centuries than Lara.  Now the margin almost gone.  He getting tht good wine.  Bennett King right to say that he resting Lara from one day cricket when possible, in order to prolong he test career.

Offline monty

« Reply #27 on: November 21, 2006, 11:15:43 AM »
Tenors.. the thing about Lara is that he looks like he could play another 2 years at least. If his eyesight hold, it is very possible. The man closing in on the 12,000 and the most # of centuries.

Tendulkar is a boss.. talent for days. But the man look like he bruk down for good. Too many injuries.

Lara broke his arm against Sri Lanka a couple years ago and it look like the man just grow back one without any issues.

That is why I argued with many on this forum about sportsman of the year award. Many were saying to give the Socawarriors(Yorke), but Lara is light years ahead of any accomplishment the socawarriors will ever bring. No disrespect at all to the footballers, they did yeoman service for us and made us proud. Lara just on a whole different level.

It will be a sad day when he retires...

« Reply #28 on: November 21, 2006, 12:58:25 PM »
any highlights of the innings?
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #29 on: November 21, 2006, 01:19:17 PM »
man de game so late i keep on watching it then falling asleep but Lara real put on ah show when I was awake ;D