June 26, 2024, 07:56:53 AM

Author Topic: B'dos Griffith: 'We can beat Haitians' [??????]  (Read 3320 times)

B'dos Griffith: 'We can beat Haitians' [??????]
« on: January 28, 2007, 01:13:05 PM »
'We can beat Haitians'
by EZRA STUART (Nation News)

Published on: 1/28/07.

A CHALLENGE has been thrown out to new Digicel Caribbean Cup champions Haiti and losing finalists Trinidad and Tobago.

Technical adviser of the Barbados team Keith Griffith believes that if the Bajans were to play either the Haitians or the Soca Warriors in a one-off match at the National Stadium to open the 2007 domestic season on February 11, then they would win.

"Based on what we did in the qualifying rounds with the personnel we had, we would have gone very close to winning the tournament," Griffith said, noting the team badly missed seven regular starters in Alvin Rouse, Rommell Brathwaite, Elvis Defreitas, Mark McCammon, Paul Ifill, Kenroy Skinner, and Paul Lovell.

"Also, based on our performances against the two finalists – Trinidad and the eventual winners Haiti – I don't believe that they are a goal better than us. We just did not have the necessary replacements to fill the void left by the unavailable players," he added.

Barbados drew 1-1 with Trinidad and Tobago in the opening match and were beaten 2-0 by Haiti after conceding an early goal and another in the 89th minute after a power failure had stopped play for 25 minutes.

"To have done so well in five months after starting on August 15 and closing out on January 17, 2007, we must give the players and the rest of the management staff, as well as the BFA, who really did a lot to help the side with getting the overseas-based players to come down and play, kudos for a job well done.

"I would like to make special mention of the foreign-based players which the BFA brought back. Out of the 20 goals we scored in nine matches, they scored 13 among them and that is very refreshing," Griffith noted.

Ifill had six goals, while MaCammon had four, Harvey, two and Louis Soares, one.

Griffith said once the BFA puts things in place early for continued national training sessions, Barbados will have an outstanding chance of reaching the next Digicel Cup finals.

Re: B'dos Griffith: 'We can beat Haitians' [??????]
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2007, 01:22:16 PM »
Sour GRapes.....

My question now, How many true starters were we missing? We had only 1 WC player in the team. We made do with what we had and succeeded.

NICE fuh real

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2007, 01:30:52 PM »
  :D
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

Offline Swima

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2007, 01:44:26 PM »
'We can beat Haitians'

A CHALLENGE has been thrown out to new Digicel Caribbean Cup champions Haiti and losing finalists Trinidad and Tobago.

Technical adviser of the Barbados team Keith Griffith believes that if the Bajans were to play either the Haitians or the Soca Warriors in a one-off match at the National Stadium to open the 2007 domestic season on February 11, then they would win.

"Based on what we did in the qualifying rounds with the personnel we had, we would have gone very close to winning the tournament," Griffith said, noting the team badly missed seven regular starters in Alvin Rouse, Rommell Brathwaite, Elvis Defreitas, Mark McCammon, Paul Ifill, Kenroy Skinner, and Paul Lovell.

"Also, based on our performances against the two finalists – Trinidad and the eventual winners Haiti – I don't believe that they are a goal better than us. We just did not have the necessary replacements to fill the void left by the unavailable players," he added.

Barbados drew 1-1 with Trinidad and Tobago in the opening match and were beaten 2-0 by Haiti after conceding an early goal and another in the 89th minute after a power failure had stopped play for 25 minutes.

"To have done so well in five months after starting on August 15 and closing out on January 17, 2007, we must give the players and the rest of the management staff, as well as the BFA, who really did a lot to help the side with getting the overseas-based players to come down and play, kudos for a job well done.

"I would like to make special mention of the foreign-based players which the BFA brought back. Out of the 20 goals we scored in nine matches, they scored 13 among them and that is very refreshing," Griffith noted.

Ifill had six goals, while MaCammon had four, Harvey, two and Louis Soares, one.

Griffith said once the BFA puts things in place early for continued national training sessions, Barbados will have an outstanding chance of reaching the next Digicel Cup finals.

Rum talk... Mount Gay to be precise!
Success will never take you by surprise.

Offline Sentinel

• Adapt, Improvise and Overcome
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2007, 02:05:25 PM »
Is Griffith nickname...Bimblast?  Just curious

« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2007, 02:08:59 PM »
both Trini and Haiti should play them and cut they arse good and proper, then see what he have to say.

« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2007, 02:24:56 PM »
Sour GRapes.....

My question now, How many true starters were we missing? We had only 1 WC player in the team. We made do with what we had and succeeded.

NICE fuh real

I hear what you saying...but I think what he trying to say is that he admit his team not as deep as T&T or Haiti, ie a 2nd string bim not better than a 2nd string Haiti or T&T, but he believe his 1st team could compete....Rum talk all the same, but I'll be all for Whim puttin together the Digicel squad to rip dem up in they stadium.

« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2007, 02:25:58 PM »
if they paying and we get another game with Haiti too......

« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2007, 02:30:53 PM »
What ah backside ::)

« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2007, 04:01:52 PM »
Is Griffith nickname...Bimblast?  Just curious

« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2007, 07:32:52 PM »
Griffith have no shame!  But ah sure he was talking to the bajan fans..not for our consumption.  Still a bunch a bull!

« Reply #11 on: January 28, 2007, 07:48:28 PM »
Well...any team can beat any team in a one off game....that doh prove much. That being said......i cant see dat happening. Dem better go find a better way to convince expats to play fuh dem rather than that pathetic ad on they site.  :devil:
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2007, 07:35:43 AM »
They had 7 players missing and we had 22 world cup players missing and they talking about "we can beat de warriors?"

They only drew with us because Glasgow and Roberts missed some easy chances.

STEUPS!!.........send de U17 team for them!!

« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2007, 07:58:47 AM »
They had 7 players missing and we had 22 world cup players missing and they talking about "we can beat de warriors?"

They only drew with us because Glasgow and Roberts missed some easy chances.

STEUPS!!.........send de U17 team for them!!

That performance against Barbados was horrible. We made so many mistakes against them and they still only looked dangerous on corners. Barbados proceeded to get their backsides handed to them in the other 2 games. This man living in the the wonderful world of IF.

« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2007, 10:42:39 AM »
'We can beat Haitians'

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: