February 05, 2025, 09:48:14 AM

Author Topic: Roberts to leave Sparta!!!???  (Read 8637 times)

Roberts to leave Sparta!!!???
« on: April 18, 2008, 07:05:43 PM »
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/overseas/holland/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=international_feed/08/04/18/SOCCER_Ned-Sparta_Rotterdam.html&TEAMHD=holland

ROBERTS TO LEAVE SPARTA
 E-mail Article  Print-Friendly  Subscribe to RSS Feed
  Post to del.icio.us  Facebook

Sparta Rotterdam striker Darryl Roberts will leave the club at the end of the season.

The 24-year-old, who moved to the Eredivisie outfit in 2007, has been told he is surplus to requirements by technical director Danny Blind.

"I would have loved to stay with Sparta, but that is life" the Trinidad & Tobago striker told ELF Voetbal.

"I hope to find a new club in the Dutch or Belgian competition. My future as a player lies here.

"I will miss the Sparta fans, but that's just the way it is."

Roberts has scored nine goals in 33 appe

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
Re: Roberts to leave Sparta!!!???
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2008, 07:10:20 PM »
We boys ketchin they tail in these leagues boy. Who next? good luck to we boys.

Offline Gladman

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2008, 07:34:08 PM »
I wonder how a player feels when he is told your surplus to requiremets. hmm a f%#ked up ting
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2008, 08:01:50 PM »
Well this is a surpise well well .... dont worry he will find a new club soon ...

darryl avoid  the mls

« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2008, 08:03:11 PM »
Well this is a surpise well well .... dont worry he will find a new club soon ...

darryl avoid  the mls

He could always come home, plenty coconut trees without ah limer under dem.

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2008, 08:27:36 PM »

I'm sure he will find a top flight club.  He's young and is quality.

« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2008, 02:42:52 AM »

what an unbiased  thing to say Fury. cheers :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2008, 02:59:12 AM »
Daryl going to the prem!! no doubt about it.

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2008, 06:22:50 AM »

what an unbiased  thing to say Fury. cheers :cheers: :cheers:

I call it as I see it. Sometimes that's not popular.

« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2008, 06:44:52 AM »

Some Dutch club must take him.

« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2008, 11:34:17 AM »
Part of it might have to do with the fact that he takes up one of three non-EU spots..most competitive spots on any EU team. Darryl should seriously consider one of the more promising looking promoted teams

« Reply #11 on: April 20, 2008, 12:50:56 PM »
Hard luck but u know is Wim fault u go find a next club leave Holland dem Dutch eh like oui

« Reply #12 on: April 20, 2008, 01:19:41 PM »
But the Darryl Roberts have to get bigger if he want to survive in the top league.  He gets pushed off the ball too much by defenders.  Get Dwight Yorke or Stern John cell phone # and follow their work out program.  Hit up the gym man

« Reply #13 on: April 20, 2008, 02:29:02 PM »
Well well well. Interesting eh. Season done and Willem II manage to stay up, under a certain Wilhelmus Rijsbergen.

Ah wonder if they looking for any versatile winger/attacking midfielder/second striker types...

« Reply #14 on: April 20, 2008, 06:46:30 PM »
No Midnight u mistaken not d ex coach who attack d TD. Dat man eh good atal

« Reply #15 on: April 20, 2008, 08:45:35 PM »
Well well well. Interesting eh. Season done and Willem II manage to stay up, under a certain Wilhelmus Rijsbergen.

Ah wonder if they looking for any versatile winger/attacking midfielder/second striker types...

ey stay up under Wim?  I thought he was to take over AFTER this season was over?

Fill me in nah.

And  weary yuh is ah ass! v Wim is ah ass and de both ah allyuh need tuh find ah coconut tree.

« Reply #16 on: April 20, 2008, 09:04:57 PM »
No Midnight u mistaken not d ex coach who attack d TD. Dat man eh good atal
Your head so far up Wim ass is ah wonder you ent sprout gills yet.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2008, 09:27:48 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #17 on: April 21, 2008, 09:30:39 AM »

ey stay up under Wim?  I thought he was to take over AFTER this season was over?

Fill me in nah.

was checking to see if you was paying attention...

« Reply #18 on: April 21, 2008, 09:35:17 AM »
eh heh

« Reply #19 on: April 21, 2008, 10:15:25 AM »

« Reply #20 on: April 21, 2008, 10:28:37 AM »
ah hope meh boy find a bigger and better club next time around!!  :beermug:

« Reply #21 on: April 22, 2008, 05:35:31 AM »

« Reply #22 on: April 22, 2008, 10:05:39 AM »
He jes score a double for de reserves: http://www.sparta-rotterdam.nl/content/nieuws/default2007.asp?id=4749
I seriously hope this man get a look somewhere in Europe, preferably in Germany or right there self in the Eredivisie.

« Reply #23 on: April 22, 2008, 11:59:13 AM »
He jes score a double for de reserves: http://www.sparta-rotterdam.nl/content/nieuws/default2007.asp?id=4749

Yuh mean a brace?

Seriously though, I hope he gets another contract in Holland or elsewhere quick.
It would be good if he could stay in Holland.
Feyenoord is in Rotterdam too.

« Last Edit: April 22, 2008, 12:05:08 PM by Peong »

« Reply #24 on: April 22, 2008, 01:43:34 PM »
I could be reading this wrong, but is not like he languish in the reserves all season. I get the impression that the current coach (assuming he stays on) wouldn't mind holding on to him but club politics are dictating that they free up a non European spot/money to bring in a bigger player next season.

It would be interesting to see how many and which of the other players are released.

I don't have any doubt about Darryl getting another club. He might more quicker be a starter in Belgium than staying in Holland, but the clubs that get promoted might see him as a good investment.

Plus he shouldn't have any work permit issues seeing the run he get on the national team since the digicel

Darryl Roberts says goodbye
« Reply #25 on: May 20, 2008, 05:59:16 AM »
Today is Darryl's last day at Sparta Rotterdam. General Manager Peter Bonthuis presented him with a souvenir of his time spent at the club, and wished him well in his future endeavours.

« Reply #26 on: May 20, 2008, 07:18:02 AM »
It have no barber in Holland ah what? Why the man finish like that?

Any way I really hope he finds a club soon. If he get a run out against England that wouldn't hurt his chances either.

« Reply #27 on: May 20, 2008, 07:54:04 AM »
I pray the best for him

« Reply #28 on: May 20, 2008, 08:47:25 AM »
he should try to go to eidhoven, ajax, rotterdam or feyernord, if not, try germany or spain

God is de BOSS...

« Reply #29 on: May 20, 2008, 10:29:08 AM »
Roberts, you are a big player and it is important for you to keep you head above water. Good things will soon come your way AGAIN.