September 07, 2024, 07:17:41 PM

Would you like to see Creole revived in Trinidad?

Yes
16 (80%)
No
1 (5%)
don't care
3 (15%)

Total Members Voted: 20

Author Topic: Patois!  (Read 19327 times)

Offline matapèl

Patois!
« on: June 12, 2008, 01:44:19 PM »
I decided to Create this tread to teach anyone who wants to learn Creole, feel free to post question about the people, culture, food, anything that concerns Trinidad's Creole here lets discuss how to save and learn too
« Last Edit: June 12, 2008, 01:58:21 PM by matapèl »
Si ou tonbé, fò ou lévé! If you fall, you must get up!

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Re: Patois!
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2008, 01:59:59 PM »
hmm...there is a trojan virus linked to this vote...

ca ka fete la, Matapèl? I'm always ready to promote and nurture the creole culture.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2008, 02:01:58 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

Offline matapèl

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2008, 02:34:33 PM »
é é! mi pawòl

sa ka fèt makomè? vini pou nou kozé (come lets talk)

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2008, 07:12:44 PM »
Je parle meilleur français que le kreyol..mais je veut essayer…(I speak better french than I do creole)
Mwen tu connai, wi? Ami nou? (Do I know you? Are we pals?)  <------- I asked that because I am trying to learn creole from a person I met online and don't know if this is the same person. Matapèl seemed to know me.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2008, 06:32:09 AM by Queen Macoomeh »

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2008, 08:36:51 PM »
ok o lose me with the trojan virus thing . ??? and give us the translations to nah.

« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2008, 09:59:20 PM »
who want condom.who trojan bust.

Offline matapèl

« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2008, 09:26:29 PM »
Je parle meilleur français que le kreyol..mais je veut essayer…(I speak better french than I do creole)
Mwen tu connai, wi? Ami nou? (Do I know you? Are we pals?)  <------- I asked that because I am trying to learn creole from a person I met online and don't know if this is the same person. Matapèl seemed to know me.

your guess is right on!

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #7 on: June 14, 2008, 06:59:39 AM »
dou dou! Bonjay!

Offline matapèl

« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2008, 02:00:49 PM »
 A few phrases in Trinidad French Creole.......

Good morning = bèl bonmaten  (bell+bon+ma+ten)

Good Afternoon = bon lapwè mini (bon+lap+way+me+dee)

Good evening = bonswè (bon+sway) use any time after midday before retiring to bed for the night

Good night = bon lanwi (bon lan+wi) use when going to bed

Hello = bonjou (bon+jou)

Hi = yalou (ya+lou)

What is your name? = sa ki non ou? (sah+ key+non+oo?)

What is your name? = ki sa non ou yé? (key+sah+non+oo+ yeah)

My name is.... = non mwen sé..... (non+mweh+say)

How old are you? = ki laj ou? (key+large+oo)

How old are you? = ki laj ou tini (key+large+oo+tee+knee) tini means to have so the phrase what age do you have

I am... years old = mwen tini... anné (mweh+tee+kee+... ann nay) I have .... years

What's up? = sa ka fèt? (sah+cah+feht)

What's up? = sa ou fè? (sah+cah+feh)

What's new? = kinèf-la? (key+nehf+la)

How are you? = komman ou yé? (com+man+oo yeh)

I am fine.. thank you = mwen byen mèsi (mweh+bi+yen+meh+see)

I am great and you? = mwen byen é ou menm? (mweh+bi+yen+eh+oo+meh+m)

I am holding on = mwen la ka tjenbé (mweh+lah+cah+chen+bay)

No bad = pa mal (pah+mal)

not so well = pa tou byen

more soon....

requests welcomed...

Offline matapèl

« Reply #9 on: June 20, 2008, 10:09:29 AM »
http://groups.msn.com/KreyolPalpagay

I created a group for the promotion of our Creole, hope to see you there! :)

Offline matapèl

« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2008, 11:40:31 AM »

Pronouns

I, me, my = mwen (mweh)

you = ou (oo) singular

you = zòt (zoht) plural

we, us, our = nou (n+oo)

they, them, their = yo (like the spanish yo)

« Reply #11 on: July 01, 2008, 03:39:54 PM »
Patosi,
          Do they still use the word Abattoir (slaughter house)  in TT.

Offline matapèl

« Reply #12 on: July 01, 2008, 10:18:06 PM »
yeah they still do, but most people think its from English!

« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2008, 10:26:29 PM »
Matapel,
               Long time no hear from you. I found  an article about a  Guadeouoe footballer who want to promote gwo ka.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/SA-9.html

Offline matapèl

« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2008, 02:54:21 AM »
yes I know about gwo ka it is a style of music that is native to guadeloupe while martinique trinidad saint lucia dominique have the belair, foulé, koupé ect music. 

one of the most famous gwo ka bands in guadeloupe is Akiyo! I love their music its very rasin (roots) I think gwo ka would go very well with trinidad's J'overt even though the original music for trinidadian J'overt is Kalinda. I have not heard that style in quite a while I know some of the songs but I don't know if there are people alive who can play the music; just another aspect of our culture lost and forgotten.

I do consider myself lucky to have been around people who know about these things. Most of them are in their 70's i am in my early 20's! Anyway gwo ka has a very militant sound to it and there is a dance as well. it was banned by the French until the early part of the 20th century and it has been growing in popularity ever since.

Annou dansé  :)

Deeks like i said any question you have about Creole culture ask me chances are I might be able to answer you
« Last Edit: July 31, 2008, 02:58:24 AM by matapèl »

Offline matapèl

« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2008, 03:00:44 AM »
mi gwo ka! (here is some gwo ka) with dance!

http://www.dailymotion.com/relevance/search/gwo%2Bka/video/x3ois4_100eme-video-la-vraie-musique_music

akiyo is playing here, this girl is very good too!
« Last Edit: July 31, 2008, 03:02:48 AM by matapèl »

Offline matapèl

« Reply #16 on: July 31, 2008, 03:11:17 AM »
this is the one of the closest things you would find to our j orvert in the french west indies!

http://www.dailymotion.com/related/x3ois4/video/x38wj2_akiyo-deboule-lesprikason-extrait

having been to martinique and guadeloupe i can tell you the vibe is amazing

this is called a vidé (vee+day)

« Reply #17 on: July 31, 2008, 03:50:19 PM »
Thanks Matapel,
                          Them 2 clips were fabulous. Bro, I certainly will be asking more about the creole culture. There is a song by Anselm Douglas called Bwah(When ah dead bury mih clothes). I heard before by one of the old time kaiso man. Do you think that was originally a creole song done by a chantuel in the early days of French migration to TT.

« Reply #18 on: July 31, 2008, 04:56:57 PM »
mi gwo ka! (here is some gwo ka) with dance!

http://www.dailymotion.com/relevance/search/gwo%2Bka/video/x3ois4_100eme-video-la-vraie-musique_music

akiyo is playing here, this girl is very good too!
Interesting. I see some bongo dance moves in there as well.

« Reply #19 on: July 31, 2008, 05:15:42 PM »
Thanks Matapel,
                          Them 2 clips were fabulous. Bro, I certainly will be asking more about the creole culture. There is a song by Anselm Douglas called Bwah(When ah dead bury mih clothes). I heard before by one of the old time kaiso man. Do you think that was originally a creole song done by a chantuel in the early days of French migration to TT.
Dat is an old stickfight lavway dat Anslem bring back. I first heard it several years ago from a drumming instructor. A fella who win better village back in de late 70's. He tell mih he father was a stickman and dat was one of several I learned from him.

« Reply #20 on: July 31, 2008, 08:04:06 PM »
Thanks Mose,
                      I like that sound too bad. Last year on the Parkway, a big truck bust that tune, if you see  how some people get on like they from Xangoland

Offline matapèl

« Reply #21 on: July 31, 2008, 08:35:25 PM »
one of the most famous calinda lavwé songs from trinidad would have to be Pwizonyé Lévé, he was a jailer back in Trinidad's slavery days and was well know for obeah which he willingly used on his own people. when he died there were huge celebrations across trinidad and the contemptuous song was composed by his own sister... so the story goes.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2008, 08:37:04 PM by matapèl »

Offline matapèl

« Reply #22 on: July 31, 2008, 08:43:46 PM »
looking at the vidé video my mind went back to the descriptions of the good friday rara's that I was told about that once took place in Trinidad, the ties between Trinidad and Guadeloupe and martinique are so strong is hard to tell how deep they really run!

Offline matapèl

« Reply #23 on: July 31, 2008, 08:53:24 PM »
one of the most famous calinda lavwé songs from trinidad would have to be Pwizonyé Lévé, kongo Bara was his name he was a jailer back in Trinidad's slavery days and was well know for obeah which he willingly used on his own people. when he died there were huge celebrations across trinidad and the contemptuous song was composed by his own sister... so the story goes.

« Reply #24 on: July 31, 2008, 09:59:12 PM »
I remember Good friday rara. But that tradition gone. I don't think they do that again.

Offline matapèl

« Reply #25 on: July 31, 2008, 10:38:06 PM »
in some islands it still goes on in haiti it is a must!

« Reply #26 on: August 01, 2008, 09:29:33 AM »
Thanks Mose,
                      I like that sound too bad. Last year on the Parkway, a big truck bust that tune, if you see  how some people get on like they from Xangoland
Deeks it just have something about dat stickfight riddum does just get yuh going. And when yuh drop a good lavwé on top ah dat, well...

« Reply #27 on: August 01, 2008, 02:11:32 PM »
Matapel

Sa ki fe ton ton?  ;D

Offline matapèl

« Reply #28 on: August 01, 2008, 08:05:01 PM »
ou ka kwiyé mwen yon tonton? mwen pa vyé mwen tini ven é yon lanné!  :) (you are calling me an uncle but i am not old, i am 21 years old!)

Offline matapèl

« Reply #29 on: August 01, 2008, 08:18:00 PM »
Thanks Mose,
Deeks it just have something about dat stickfight riddum does just get yuh going. And when yuh drop a good lavwé on top ah dat, well...

dat is so true, the other creole speaking islands have kept that primal sound in that Carnival music that made the white people shudder. In the old days Trinidad was one of England's most unruly colonies; they knew how far they could push us before something happened Over the years the meaning of the carnival and its music has changed so much. That resistant spirit has vanished form the music and It seems the people as well. This kind of music just gets the fires going that why i love martinique's carnival so much!