February 04, 2025, 11:58:01 PM

Author Topic: Shaun thanks for the videos..  (Read 10447 times)

Re: Shaun thanks for the videos..
« Reply #30 on: October 11, 2008, 01:42:08 PM »
Yeah tanks...........how bout 100% Soca in d future........
Allyuh back on dat music thing again ! that's what make the man stop posting them for ah while, BC ppl was complaining bout back ground music.

leave the man alone let him do what he want , after all , allyuh not doing it and when someone else does it allyuh finding fault, so instead of full appreciation it's disatisfaction . thanx mr fuentes! always appreciated, don't stop, keep them coming.                                      positive
if he eh playing Soca exclusively in d background den let him stop.........ah could tolerate some Ragga Soca or Groovy Soca if need be.......but we SUPPOSE 2 b a Soca Nation..........come nah man.....it SUPPOSE 2 b we culture......den people does wah kno why we doh have enuff songs tuh sing wit d riddim section during games.........steups
Let him stop ?! to please who you!! if yuh want to hear soca THEN PAY YUH MONEY AND FIND AH SOCA FETE, what about the religious ppl who doh listen to soca but is more patriotic than you and every one here put together! what about the ppl who can't stand soca BC it too vulgar for their taste, or the ppl who just don't dig it.

not BC yuh from T&T yuh have to like soca, calypso or even pan. what happen to freedom of choice! every one can't love the same thing.

it have some trinidadians who only listen to classical, jazz or show tunes and oparah who serve their country better than anyone of us can! what yuh gonna say bout them , they unpatriotic BC they don't like soca .

what about the white americans who don't like country and western which is the purest form of american music if there ever was one, but they believe in the Constitution and pledge their undying allegiances to the flag and what it stands for! are they also unpatriotic?

i thought patriotism was love for country and constitution ? if ah fella love national football, soca and buss up shot, then all of ah sudden he's ah die hard patriot?! what ah crock !! 9 out of 10, that said fella don't even know the first thing about the constitution or the oath of allegiances of the country, but he beating his chest talking bout he patriotic.

You missed the point... but nutten new there.  More interesting is the vein you offer that soca music can only be sacrilegious.
  how so ?

« Reply #31 on: October 11, 2008, 02:22:09 PM »
how so ?

The argument isn't being made from a position of personal preferences... so it's not about playing what people like from what they don't like.  The argument as I see it is that we are TnT, we are the SOCA warriors, soca is our thing it is who we are.  If this is the TTFF "Media Officer"...whatever the meaning of that nebulous term, then we should be representing our own culture and not that of another country.

Me personally, I sure Fido ent really put much thought into it, typical TTFF ad hoc modus... and so he not trying to make statement any one way or another.  I won't knock him for not playing soca exclusively, but I certainly understand the arguments in support of that stance.

« Reply #32 on: October 11, 2008, 02:32:58 PM »
We could take dis real far if we want.  Ah mean man carryin on about Shaun should play Soca cause is "we ting".  But den yuh could go further...

He should be playin chutney too not so?

Why he not playin pan?

Christmas comin...how come he eh droppin some parang?

It have Trinbagonians does sing reggae fuh a livin....daz not "we ting" needah if dem sing it?

Wha bout Big Mag and Jointpop?  Or Orange Sky? 

If Shaun play Defence wit Machel & Pit Bull....daz we ting too?

Or if he play On De Floor by Destra & Mr Vegas?

Guess he cyah play de Beenie Man & Dwayne Bravo chune needah.

Heaven forbid he play any a de soca Elephant Man did sing.....or dat ok?  I cornfuse.

If Shaun play dem...it go be representative of we or not?

How far peeps REALLY want to go wit dis?
« Last Edit: October 11, 2008, 02:35:55 PM by palos »

« Reply #33 on: October 11, 2008, 02:48:40 PM »
We could take dis real far if we want.  Ah mean man carryin on about Shaun should play Soca cause is "we ting".  But den yuh could go further...

Why he not playin pan?

It have Trinbagonians does sing reggae fuh a livin....daz not "we ting" needah if dem sing it?

Heaven forbid he play any a de soca Elephant Man did sing.....or dat ok?  I cornfuse.

beenie man and dwayne bravo have ah chune ???

« Reply #34 on: October 11, 2008, 02:49:23 PM »

Why he not playin pan?

Palos yuh over analysing it..its really simple. we want our national team videos to be associated with our culture..yes we have trinbagonians singing rap and reggae but is rap and reggae our culture??..so the answer is very easy...Yes i think its more appropiate to hear may national steelpan instrumentals, rhythm section or chutney soca hits from locals instead of 50 cent, Britney Spears, Buju Banton etc when watching my national team on video, because that is  my culture...
« Last Edit: October 11, 2008, 03:31:00 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #35 on: October 11, 2008, 03:47:45 PM »

Why he not playin pan?

Palos yuh over analysing it..its really simple. we want our national team videos to be associated with our culture..yes we have trinbagonians singing rap and reggae but is rap and reggae our culture??..so the answer is very easy...Yes i think its more appropiate to hear may national steelpan instrumentals, rhythm section or chutney soca hits from locals instead of 50 cent, Britney Spears, Buju Banton etc when watching my national team on video, because that is  my culture...

breds dese days it have so many sub-genres and riddims in Soca music that everybody betting ah bligh.......I am not ah purist and have ah open mind out of consideration for others.......once is some kinna Soca I happy

« Reply #36 on: October 11, 2008, 03:52:10 PM »

Why he not playin pan?

breds dese days it have so many sub-genres and riddims in Soca music that everybody betting ah bligh.......I am not ah purist and have ah open mind out of consideration for others.......once is some kinna Soca I happy

Same here..once its some kinda soca i happy too..once our culture on display i'm happy...but i'm not down with listening to michael jackson hits or Patra a song (and i can give more examples) when watching de Soca warriors train at de stadium
« Last Edit: October 11, 2008, 03:57:57 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #37 on: October 11, 2008, 07:33:39 PM »

Why he not playin pan?

You talking shit... people saying represent we culture, not play every blasted type ah music yuh could possibly find in Trinidad.  Unless yuh could come with ah argument that shows reggae as somehow being part of TnT culture then your argument fails miserably.

« Reply #38 on: October 11, 2008, 07:35:58 PM »
hate it or love it reggae is part of our culture

in the ghetto is reggae year round besides christmas and carnival

« Reply #39 on: October 11, 2008, 07:37:30 PM »

In de ghetto 50 cent and lil wayne is also played every minute randomly through the year...is rap/hip hop part of our culture?..every youth in T&T know every new lil wayne, jay -z and TI  song coming out..what makes rap so different from reggae on this issue?
« Last Edit: October 11, 2008, 07:41:21 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #40 on: October 11, 2008, 07:40:25 PM »
I think one thing we've also overlooked here is that I don't think T.I. or John Legend will be looking to collect royalties from this .... or even have any idea that their music is being used for this documentary.

On the other hand, COTT will be so far up Mr. Fuentes' derierre for compensation to local artistes that I believe that in itself will be a deterent to associate any local music with the presentation.

I think we appreciate it being free (and timely), as is.

« Reply #41 on: October 11, 2008, 07:41:34 PM »

In de ghetto 50 cent and lil wayne is also played evry minute...is rap/hip hop part of our culture?..every youth in T&T know every new lil wayne and jay -z song coming out..what makes rap so different from reggae on this issue?

depends on what you define culture as. from my experience i grow up on reggae. dais just me

« Reply #42 on: October 11, 2008, 07:43:32 PM »

In de ghetto 50 cent and lil wayne is also played evry minute...is rap/hip hop part of our culture?..every youth in T&T know every new lil wayne and jay -z song coming out..what makes rap so different from reggae on this issue?

depends on what you define culture as. from my experience i grow up on reggae. dais just me

Ok now i have a better understanding of your choice in music..and i will never knock u for that because Trinis love different music (i myself like meh jazz and R&B) but admiring something does not qualify it as your culture...but does your choice in music represent your country culture that should be associated with your country football team?
« Last Edit: October 11, 2008, 07:45:20 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #43 on: October 11, 2008, 07:45:16 PM »

Ok now i haev better understanding of your choice in music...but does your choice in music represent your country culture that should be associated with your country football team?

no it should not be part of our team. and for the record i  love soca more than anything else :beermug:

« Reply #44 on: October 11, 2008, 07:49:14 PM »

Ok now i haev better understanding of your choice in music...but does your choice in music represent your country culture that should be associated with your country football team?

no it should not be part of our team. and for the record i  love soca more than anything else :beermug:

No scene Morvant :beermug:..I grow up listening to alot of rap and hip hop alongside de soca ..so am not just about listening to my country music..but i know what is my culture and whenever a team/entity from my country is being represented on the global stage i want my culture to be showcased ..
« Last Edit: October 11, 2008, 08:41:39 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #45 on: October 11, 2008, 08:20:15 PM »

I sure yuh could hear hip hop year round in certain quarters... dat doh make it part ah we culture.

Come better dan dat.

« Reply #46 on: October 11, 2008, 08:22:59 PM »
I think one thing we've also overlooked here is that I don't think T.I. or John Legend will be looking to collect royalties from this .... or even have any idea that their music is being used for this documentary.

On the other hand, COTT will be so far up Mr. Fuentes' derierre for compensation to local artistes that I believe that in itself will be a deterent to associate any local music with the presentation.

You not making any kinda sense.  There are no copyright issues at play here, there is nothing that prevents one from using music for private (as opposed to commercial) purposes.

« Reply #47 on: October 11, 2008, 08:30:22 PM »
You may be absolutely correct - but Im just going off precedent on Youtube.

As it pertains to TT, with the Akon and Danah Alleyne incident at Zen .... the reason why the videos/ slideshow/ pictures were taken down from Youtube was because the music in the background (Akon's) was copyrighted.
It was being used for personal and not commercial purposes and it was still taken down because it violated copyright.

« Reply #48 on: October 11, 2008, 11:14:22 PM »
You may be absolutely correct - but Im just going off precedent on Youtube.

As it pertains to TT, with the Akon and Danah Alleyne incident at Zen .... the reason why the videos/ slideshow/ pictures were taken down from Youtube was because the music in the background (Akon's) was copyrighted.
It was being used for personal and not commercial purposes and it was still taken down because it violated copyright.

More like Akon had enough of the negative publicity...

But anyways... ah now recognizing dat yuh new tuh de forum, and already yuh fall een de ole talk... so welcome and ting :beermug:

« Reply #49 on: October 11, 2008, 11:49:01 PM »
thanx .. cheers. I figure it was time to stop being a "guest"

« Reply #50 on: October 13, 2008, 04:24:20 AM »

You not making any kinda sense.  There are no copyright issues at play here, there is nothing that prevents one from using music for private (as opposed to commercial) purposes.

I'm not so sure about that. Read youtube's terms and conditions. They explicitly state that declaring that a music video compilation posted as not for commercial use does not automatically prevent you from infringing copyright. You still technically suppose to have the artist's/producer's/photographer's consent to use his music/his images.

That's the point I was making.

ps : not that i seriously believe any kind of reflection was put into it; I personally think Fuentes just uses whatever he feels to put on a given day and whatever he could find/download. However, it is still a possibility if we dealing with even a semi-serious organisation.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2008, 04:25:57 AM by Midknight »

« Reply #51 on: October 13, 2008, 11:04:52 AM »

I'm not so sure about that. Read youtube's terms and conditions. They explicitly state that declaring that a music video compilation posted as not for commercial use does not automatically prevent you from infringing copyright. You still technically suppose to have the artist's/producer's/photographer's consent to use his music/his images.

That's the point I was making.

ps : not that i seriously believe any kind of reflection was put into it; I personally think Fuentes just uses whatever he feels to put on a given day and whatever he could find/download. However, it is still a possibility if we dealing with even a semi-serious organisation.

Midknight...there are no copyright issues at play here, not in this instance.  If you're interested in finding out more PM me and I'll send you the information so you could understand why I say that.

« Reply #52 on: October 13, 2008, 02:56:15 PM »
Personally, i could do without the music all together so I can hear the players communicating during training...to get the feel of the intensity, hear the sounds of the football being knocked around.