Yes
12 (17.9%)
No
34 (50.7%)
Hell Yes
21 (31.3%)

Total Members Voted: 66

Voting closed: January 02, 2006, 04:58:17 PM

Author Topic: Jamaica Football Thread.  (Read 648470 times)

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
Re: Grenada vs Jamaica in Caribbean final ...........
« Reply #1890 on: December 14, 2008, 07:18:18 PM »
That Trini referee taking bribe.....iz boboll going orn......spice boiz done! :beermug:
2-0 Jamaica.

2 penalties...
You mean like the bribed ref that gave T&T 2 penalties against Barbados.
jjbrown

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #1891 on: December 14, 2008, 08:00:57 PM »
That Trini referee taking bribe.....iz boboll going orn......spice boiz done! :beermug:
2-0 Jamaica.

2 penalties...
You mean like the bribed ref that gave T&T 2 penalties against Barbados.
whatever man... whatever!
All American

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #1892 on: December 14, 2008, 08:12:40 PM »
Caribbean football real jokey yes....

Funny, you never say that when Jamaica was beating the likes of Mexico, Canada, Honduras. But I agree with you, Caribbean football is in a sad state when a relatively poor team like Grenada can be playing in a Caribbean cup finals at the expense of more accomplished teams like Cuba, haiti and T&T, all of which failed to impress in the current tournament. And even though Jamaica never got out of fitst gear all tournament, they were still able to walk away unbeaten.

« Reply #1893 on: December 14, 2008, 08:20:08 PM »

Funny, you never say that when Jamaica was beating the likes of Mexico, Canada, Honduras. But I agree with you, Caribbean football is in a sad state when a relatively poor team like Grenada can be playing in a Caribbean cup finals at the expense of more accomplished teams like Cuba, haiti and T&T, all of which failed to impress in the current tournament. And even though Jamaica never got out of fitst gear all tournament, they were still able to walk away unbeaten.

T&T has also beaten the likes of Mexico, Canada & Honduras... and I still say that Caribbean football is jokey...

If you took the time to pay attention to the quality of our regional championship final (that you guys won today)...you'd know what I'm talking about...

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #1894 on: December 14, 2008, 08:37:27 PM »

T&T has also beaten the likes of Mexico, Canada & Honduras... and I still say that Caribbean football is jokey...

If you took the time to pay attention to the quality of our regional championship final (that you guys won today)...you'd know what I'm talking about...

I am not disagreeing with you that caribbean football is of a low standard...especially when you take into consideration the poor showing of supposedly better teams in Haiti, Cuba, T&T.

Jamaica players just showed up to collect the US$120K check...they never really got out of first gear the entire tournament.

« Reply #1895 on: December 14, 2008, 09:19:50 PM »
ah know there's probably ah good reason eh, but watching dis 2nd half all i could think bout is, "imagine ah team wid ah defender taking de goal kicks, beat my SocaWarriors eh?" ah just have to laugh and shake me head.

ah was watching that too! i share yuh pain pardner!

That make d 3 ah wee.....imagine Grenada boi...i was expecting ah lil quality in this game tonight cuz ah didnt see them play the game that they won against we....thing rel sad...Maturana is a confirmed jackass now...buh say wahh...we still ha biggger fish to fry (hopefully with ah new coach),...all yuh reggae bois cld boast all yuh win ah cell phone competition, congrats...well done, Big up... :beermug:

« Reply #1896 on: December 14, 2008, 09:26:50 PM »
ah know there's probably ah good reason eh, but watching dis 2nd half all i could think bout is, "imagine ah team wid ah defender taking de goal kicks, beat my SocaWarriors eh?" ah just have to laugh and shake me head.

That make d 3 ah wee.....imagine Grenada boi...i was expecting ah lil quality in this game tonight cuz ah didnt see them play the game that they won against we....thing rel sad...Maturana is a confirmed jackass now...buh say wahh...we still ha biggger fish to fry (hopefully with ah new coach),...all yuh reggae bois cld boast all yuh win ah cell phone competition, congrats...well done, Big up... :beermug:

you know if de standard so low den we players have to take the majority of the blame ..n'est pas ? You kyah blame maturana if de players played a pile. The players must be ashamed that grenada beat we. In my days we eh blaming no coach for no loss to a second rate team ....we beating dem to make sure.

« Reply #1897 on: December 14, 2008, 09:29:19 PM »
[quote author=bakeandshark link=topic=40738.msg508811#msg508811 date=1229302737]
that 2nd penalty look like a poorly executed flop -a phantom foul.
ah stop watching after da one.

[/quote]wham ! no imagination on this board or what! another duplicate name. just cool oringinal ( jus cool) duplicate, reggeafan original (reggea fan) duplicate, now we have bake n shark original ( bake and shark) ! where's the originality ? :o :o

« Reply #1898 on: December 14, 2008, 09:29:57 PM »

I am not disagreeing with you that caribbean football is of a low standard...especially when you take into consideration the poor showing of supposedly better teams in Haiti, Cuba, T&T.

Jamaica players just showed up to collect the US$120K check...they never really got out of first gear the entire tournament.

If you say so breds... They didn't necessarily look like a smooth outfit coasting through the motions- more like the better of two scrappy Caribbean teams who needed the ball put on the penalty spot in order to hit the net in an amateur contest.... after watching this game I cringe at how poor T&T musta looked in this competition as well....cringe.

But y'all are the champs so yuh deserve to show off...though I'm not buying it.

« Reply #1899 on: December 14, 2008, 09:31:49 PM »
Congrats to Jamrock. 

« Reply #1900 on: December 14, 2008, 09:50:26 PM »

That remark sound's like sour grapes to me! i find Jamaica played real good, they controll the pace, they dominated in every aspect of the game , grenada didn't even got ah decent shot off or ah corner BC JA shot dem down in the final 3rd, ah wonder what game allyuh was watching ? if anything it was greneda who sh!t down the place.

plus this is ah B team JA played with. and they did fairly good IME. i recall the last time we played in this tourney we all got phones and accessories from degicel! so why step so low as to minimize JA's accomplishments, it shows ah lack of sportsmanship and class.

JA is ah damn good team and i have no doubt that their A team would beat our A team @ the moment. who vex , then that's yuh business. just cool doh cater to one and their bias.

CONGRATULATIONS JAMAICA ON AH JOB WELL DONE!!!!!                     POSITIVE.

« Reply #1901 on: December 14, 2008, 10:00:27 PM »
Yeah boy Elan...just imagine eh.....any who...

GO GRENADA!!! 

Yuh tink jes MAYBE...BOTH TEAMS would trade places with T&T right now?

Tink there's ANY chance of dat?  8)

The now Palos the now is very important in maintaining sanity and the overall mental well-being of an individual.

« Reply #1902 on: December 14, 2008, 10:10:15 PM »

It isnt any sour grapes padnah...when man from there talking ah kinda outa timin talk bout trini eh in class with them, and that how we flukes to be in de hex, yuh expect me too be like yea yea....all yuh is king...nahhh...dont buss up yuh mouth like that....how we flukes, if them was in we position, or we group them  wlda more than be in there....wham..cant repsect we talent too? And yes, it not "classy" to pick up that challenge...but as you said...now in my words...who vex loss! :beermug:

Another thing....their A versus our A...u mad...our A team, with the likes of Jones, Birchall, C. Edwards, Lawrence, Yorke....nahhh...sumn ha be wrong!

That remark sound's like sour grapes to me! i find Jamaica played real good, they controll the pace, they dominated in every aspect of the game , grenada didn't even got ah decent shot off or ah corner BC JA shot dem down in the final 3rd, ah wonder what game allyuh was watching ? if anything it was greneda who sh!t down the place.

plus this is ah B team JA played with. and they did fairly good IME. i recall the last time we played in this tourney we all got phones and accessories from degicel! so why step so low as to minimize JA's accomplishments, it shows ah lack of sportsmanship and class.

JA is ah damn good team and i have no doubt that their A team would beat our A team @ the moment. who vex , then that's yuh business. just cool doh cater to one and their bias.

CONGRATULATIONS JAMAICA ON AH JOB WELL DONE!!!!!                     POSITIVE.

« Reply #1903 on: December 14, 2008, 10:13:52 PM »
It isnt any sour grapes padnah...when man from there talking ah kinda outa timin talk bout trini eh in class with them, and that how we flukes to be in de hex, yuh expect me too be like yea yea....all yuh is king...nahhh...dont buss up yuh mouth like that....how we flukes, if them was in we position, or we group them  wlda more than be in there....wham..cant repsect we talent too? And yes, it not "classy" to pick up that challenge...but as you said...now in my words...who vex loss! :beermug:

Another thing....their A versus our A...u mad...our A team, with the likes of Jones, Birchall, C. Edwards, Lawrence, Yorke....nahhh...sumn ha be wrong! and ur rite...they did dominate...against a VEry pooor playing grenada...but on ah realllll no sarcasm, hats off too Jamaica. cheers!

« Reply #1904 on: December 14, 2008, 10:37:24 PM »
Yeah boy Elan...just imagine eh.....any who...

GO GRENADA!!! 

Yuh tink jes MAYBE...BOTH TEAMS would trade places with T&T right now?

Tink there's ANY chance of dat?  8)
day go have to put ah HEX on demselves for that to happen :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #1905 on: December 15, 2008, 04:35:31 AM »
Ah doh mind Yard winning dis crap but ah will have to put up wid the headline"Caribbean Kings"for 2 years or is it 1 year,the less the better.Jamaica need something and anything would do at the moment.

« Reply #1906 on: December 15, 2008, 04:57:51 AM »

Another thing....their A versus our A...u mad...our A team, with the likes of Jones, Birchall, C. Edwards, Lawrence, Yorke....nahhh...sumn ha be wrong! and ur rite...they did dominate...against a VEry pooor playing grenada...but on ah realllll no sarcasm, hats off too Jamaica. cheers!
BREDDREN i not fighting no body no war , and even though i understand where yuh comming from, as far as i'm concerned those same kinda yard man who yuh talking bout , i encounter them every day for the 20 someting yrs i traveling the globe.

they always feel they better and more talented than every one else, but i dont let that stop me from being rightious towards others, especially their own kind, BC to every bias jamaician i met, i also meet damn decent gracious ones.

so when and where wiil the fackry end!!!!!!!!! BC to every action is an equal and opposite reaction. so are you a reactionary like every emotional subjective minority, or redneck bottom of the barrell thinker ?!!                                   positive

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #1907 on: December 15, 2008, 04:58:41 AM »

Sour grapes! Like I have said, the general consensus amongst Jamaicans is that being in with a chance of making it to the world cup finals carries more weight than playing Grenada for the title of Caribbean champions.

And anyone who follows CONCACAF football will tell you that Mex, Hon, USA, CRC will start overwhelming favorites to qualify for the world cup finals, even some of your own country-men holds that view.

lastly, it takes more than 11 players to make a good football program. Your so called "B" team that failed to spark in te Caribbean tournament had all of 5 world cup veterans in the starting line-up for christ sake. Coaches will tell you that the true strength of a football team lies in the strength of its bench.

« Reply #1908 on: December 15, 2008, 05:04:05 AM »

Sour grapes! Like I have said, the general consensus amongst Jamaicans is that being in with a chance of making it to the world cup finals carries more weight than playing Grenada for the title of Caribbean champions.

And anyone who follows CONCACAF football will tell you that Mex, Hon, USA, CRC will start overwhelming favorites to qualify for the world cup finals, even some of your own country-men holds that view.

lastly, it takes more than 11 players to make a good football program. Your so called "B" team that failed to spark in te Caribbean tournament had all of 5 world cup veterans in the starting line-up for christ sake. Coaches will tell you that the true strength of a football team lies in the strength of its bench.

1 world cup veteran against grenada( whitley) 3 against barbados ( whitley, avery john and cyd gray) and one against JA, whitley.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #1909 on: December 15, 2008, 05:11:41 AM »

If you say so breds... They didn't necessarily look like a smooth outfit coasting through the motions- more like the better of two scrappy Caribbean teams who needed the ball put on the penalty spot in order to hit the net in an amateur contest.... after watching this game I cringe at how poor T&T musta looked in this competition as well....cringe.

But y'all are the champs so yuh deserve to show off...though I'm not buying it.

Cornell Glenn, Whitley, Avery John, Cyd Gray, Philips are all players who have played for T&T at the highest level over the past years (some in Germany). Hyland, Daniel, James are all players that have been spken of highly on these very same forum. 

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #1910 on: December 15, 2008, 05:14:10 AM »

1 world cup veteran against grenada( whitley) 3 against barbados ( whitley, avery john and cyd gray) and one against JA, whitley.

And what is your point? I suppose Cornell Glenn didnt take part in the tournament?
You just fell on your own sword.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2008, 05:17:02 AM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #1911 on: December 15, 2008, 07:01:03 AM »

And what is your point? I suppose Cornell Glenn didnt take part in the tournament?

I think he's simply saying that they were never utilized collectively or consistently, as they should have

« Reply #1912 on: December 15, 2008, 07:24:20 AM »
I saw the JAM vs GRE game and the level was very poor, imagine GRE beat T&T, makes me wonder how poor T&T played.

If I was a scout I wouldn't even bother coming to the Caribbean to scout any players, it would be a waste of time and money.

After Yorke and Latapy the Caribbean will never produce anther top players of that standard. No other caribbean born players ever play that high standard Yorke and Latapy played and its very sad what the future holds, from Martinique, to Cuba, to Suriname, Jamaica to Trinidad, football dead because for over a decade nothing has improve and further more the people incharge dont care to do much for the youths coming up...

Sooner or later ever caribbean team will be like Jamaica, IMPORT a foreign born team.

« Reply #1913 on: December 15, 2008, 08:08:16 AM »

BREDDREN i not fighting no body no war , and even though i understand where yuh comming from, as far as i'm concerned those same kinda yard man who yuh talking bout , i encounter them every day for the 20 someting yrs i traveling the globe.

they always feel they better and more talented than every one else, but i dont let that stop me from being rightious towards others, especially their own kind, BC to every bias jamaician i met, i also meet damn decent gracious ones.

so when and where wiil the fackry end!!!!!!!!! BC to every action is an equal and opposite reaction. so are you a reactionary like every emotional subjective minority, or redneck bottom of the barrell thinker ?!!                                   positive

sense...its all in good fun tho! :beermug: nun personal

« Reply #1914 on: December 15, 2008, 08:09:17 AM »

Yuh talking shyttt, shytt ah tell yuh, blasted shyttt! :beermug:

« Reply #1915 on: December 15, 2008, 08:20:24 AM »
HAWK TWO

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #1916 on: December 15, 2008, 10:00:18 AM »
Ah doh mind Yard winning dis crap but ah will have to put up wid the headline"Caribbean Kings"for 2 years or is it 1 year,the less the better.Jamaica need something and anything would do at the moment.
Ironic!!!!!! Isn't it. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
jjbrown

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #1917 on: December 15, 2008, 10:05:56 AM »

Well! Mutarana did say the day after T&T were in the HEX that he was coming to win the Digicel Cup in Jamaica with the best T&T team. ::)
jjbrown

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #1918 on: December 15, 2008, 10:12:13 AM »
I saw the JAM vs GRE game and the level was very poor, imagine GRE beat T&T, makes me wonder how poor T&T played.

If I was a scout I wouldn't even bother coming to the Caribbean to scout any players, it would be a waste of time and money.

After Yorke and Latapy the Caribbean will never produce anther top players of that standard. No other caribbean born players ever play that high standard Yorke and Latapy played and its very sad what the future holds, from Martinique, to Cuba, to Suriname, Jamaica to Trinidad, football dead because for over a decade nothing has improve and further more the people incharge dont care to do much for the youths coming up...

Sooner or later ever caribbean team will be like Jamaica, IMPORT a foreign born team.
Foreign born.  ??? ??? :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Every Reggae Boy in the Digicel Cup are 100% born and bred Jamaican. Even the two coaches and the entire staff. ;D ;D
Man! That's really a bunch of sour grapes.   
jjbrown

« Reply #1919 on: December 15, 2008, 10:15:43 AM »
This happened already folks and at the time I would have given anything for us to be in the next round ..we beat Jamaica to win the caribbean championship but they beat us to progress in the world cup. I prefer where we are and I give kudos to Jamaica for what they have achieved. jamaica beat who reach de final ...it eh dem fault that is was grenada ! We lost to Grenada ..unlike others I blaming de players nolt de coach !..no way Grenada beating dat same team if man was playing for dey country.
Unlike us jamaica always play with heart and soul in every sport.....unless and until we change we go forever be behind de eight ball ..no matter who is de coach.
When maradona took his first session man was expecting big coaching drills and ting ...he spent most of the time talking about what it meant to wear de Argentina shirt...it disappointed many reporters who were looking for a big scoop .....well many missed the big scoop !
Sometimes i wonder if dat is not what we missing ...we draw with Bermuda at home yet we beat dem in bermuda..we draw with Bahrain at home yet we beat them in Bahrain ...we always seem to want to put ourselves in ah must win situation ..just my view