June 28, 2024, 11:37:26 PM

Author Topic: 2026 World Cup Thread  (Read 17784 times)

Re: 2026 World Cup Thread
« Reply #180 on: June 08, 2024, 09:02:56 AM »
Soca Warriors want 'ruthless' World Cup qualifier against Bahamas
By Roneil Walcott (T&T Newsday)

The T&T men's football team will be without the services of ace forward Levi Garcia when they face The Bahamas in the second game of their 2026 Fifa World Cup qualifying campaign at the St Kitts and Nevis Football Association Technical Centre on June 8. The match kicks off at 5.30 pm.

The Greek-based Garcia came off at the halfway stage of T&T's 2-2 draw with Grenada at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo on June 5. At the post-match briefing, Soca Warriors coach Angus Eve said Garcia felt discomfort in his lower back after receiving a challenge from a Grenada defender. Garcia was scheduled to receive scans on June 5, but no further update was provided on the seriousness of the knock.

It's another setback for the AEK Athens forward who missed most of the Soca Warriors' 2023/24 Concacaf Nations League A campaign due to a series of niggling injuries. Left-back Andre Raymond, who became a regular fixture in the Soca Warriors defence in the Nations League A campaign, has also been ruled out through injury. The pair of Josiah Trimminham and silky central midfielder Michel Poon-Angeron will replace Garcia and Raymond in Eve's 23-man squad.

T&T salvaged a point after trailing by a 2-0 margin versus Grenada, and now they will face a Bahamian team which brought their 2022 World Cup qualification campaign to an end. Under then coach Terry Fenwick, T&T played to a goalless draw away in Nassau, Bahamas – a result which contributed to a surprise first-round exit for the 2006 World Cup participants.

T&T have got a measure of revenge against their Bahamian counterparts since then, as they defeated them in both matches in the 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League B campaign. A Neveal Hackshaw goal led T&T to a slender 1-0 win in Mucurapo in June 2022, while Eve's charges got a more comfortable 3-0 result in the return fixture in Bahamas last March. The visitors got all their goals in the first half on that day, with Kareem Moses, Joevin Jones and flanker Ryan Telfer finding the net.

Telfer was one of T&T's better players against Grenada, and he registered a goal and an assist to help T&T open the 2026 campaign with a point. In their second group B match, though, the Soca Warriors are hunting all three points.

"We have to be ruthless. We have to put away our chances," T&T's Canadian-based forward Malcolm Shaw told T&T Football Association media on June 7. "We have to be organised and keep possession for the whole 90 minutes. We can't take our feet off the gas. We have to show our quality...we can't switch off mentally."

Shaw was an unused sub for the Grenada match, but the Cavalry FC player is eager to make his mark.

"If (coach) Angus calls upon me for this game, I know I'll be ready to contribute and do what I do well to help the team going forward in attack."

Shaw said T&T showed good resilience to fight back against Grenada, and he wants the team to be on the front foot from kick off in St Kitts.

"That's a game we were expected to win. Obviously, (the Bahamas match) is a must-win for us. The whole camp has to be ready to contribute and be at their best."

Eve said the Soca Warriors have a chance to redeem themselves.

"The good thing about football is that you always have another game," Eve said. "It could have been worse. We fought back and I thought the second half was a good building block coming into this game. We hope to be more clinical in this particular match here."

With the game being played on artificial turf, Eve is banking on his players' experience in the Canadian Premier League and the varying US leagues to come to the fore. The T&T coach said his team wasn't as cohesive as he would have liked against Grenada. He would be hoping for a much more fruitful outing against the 200th-ranked Bahamas team.

On June 6, favourites Costa Rica jumped to the Group B summit with a thumping 4-0 victory over St Kitts and Nevis.

« Reply #181 on: June 08, 2024, 12:03:47 PM »
This isn't directed at anyone in particular, just a general post...but check out minute 8:20 and tell me if I does be on here talking foolishness or not :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=imve9vva2-0&t=324s

« Reply #182 on: June 08, 2024, 03:07:51 PM »
Anyone have a link to see the game?

« Reply #184 on: June 08, 2024, 03:33:20 PM »
Sorry. That stream went out. Anyone have a link?

« Reply #185 on: June 08, 2024, 03:37:01 PM »
1-0

Shaw.

« Reply #186 on: June 08, 2024, 03:45:45 PM »

« Reply #187 on: June 08, 2024, 03:56:44 PM »
1. Still very tentative, somewhat plodding football.

2. Not impressed with Muckette's decision-making.

« Reply #188 on: June 08, 2024, 04:00:01 PM »
Yeates is playing excellent!

« Reply #189 on: June 08, 2024, 04:18:57 PM »
4-0. Mukette 2 goals

« Reply #190 on: June 08, 2024, 04:20:39 PM »
Concacaf on Youtube has the game live again for whoever  needs it

« Reply #191 on: June 08, 2024, 05:06:22 PM »
Where is this YouTube link, I could never find it… except some cartoon crap. Not on flor, sportsman, ttt, once ccn6, ceen..  Boo

« Reply #192 on: June 08, 2024, 05:14:32 PM »

« Reply #193 on: June 08, 2024, 05:18:45 PM »
Flat track bullying but we move

« Reply #194 on: June 08, 2024, 05:23:24 PM »
We shouldn't have conceded so late. But good result.

Woodley. . Fitness. Glad he got a lil sweat

« Reply #195 on: June 08, 2024, 05:31:20 PM »
Now dais more like it!!  Agreed @gawd on pitch, shouldn't have conceded so late...

« Reply #196 on: June 08, 2024, 05:35:15 PM »
Good win - 7-1. The New guys looking good. A little slow in the first half but picked up the Pace in the second.
 Yeates was man  of the Match. Was every where and compose on the ball.

« Reply #197 on: June 08, 2024, 05:38:43 PM »
@brownsugar this group might come down to goals. We got to go to Costa Rica. So who knows what can happen

« Reply #198 on: June 08, 2024, 05:40:02 PM »
The CPL scored 4 goals. 3 assists.

I hope Denzil can get a run in the CPL. He has plateaus in the TTPFL.

« Reply #199 on: June 08, 2024, 05:42:01 PM »
I hope Bahamas finds a way to keep down the score in their remaining games...Julmis and Adderly should start against St Kitts!

Granted it was only Bahamas but it was great to see what Yeates and Dantaye look like, and they both looked very good.
Current starting-midfielders places in jeopardy come September.

Offline lil damo

« Reply #200 on: June 08, 2024, 06:40:33 PM »
The CPL is serving our football very well. Yeates is one of the best young midfielders in the CPL and I’m glad to see him in a T&T uniform. Luke Sign need another look as he is developing slowly but surely. Denzil could make a side in the CPL too.

We should continue to aspire to have our players play in the top 10 leagues in the world but with our world ranking, we need to find a quality league close to home that our players can develop in. A quality league in terms of play, pay and professionalism and the CPL, as we can see from the players we’ve brought in from that league, is the best option. Yeates being the latest example of the quality we can find in the CPL.

« Reply #201 on: June 08, 2024, 06:50:48 PM »
CPL now eh lord have mercy our standards have dropped

Offline lil damo

« Reply #202 on: June 08, 2024, 07:28:40 PM »
It’s not a drop in standard. It’s leveraging opportunity based on reality. The reality is we not producing many players that going straight into top 10 leagues. One here and one there but not many and right now none.

We need a spot for the “many” to go until our world rankings improve and it becomes easier to get our players into top 10 leagues. Too much talent is wasting in T&T. I appreciate what the US pyramid leagues like USL has done for our players but the CPL is clearly better in terms of football quality and pay. Both USL and CPL will serve us well until we start producing the next set of Latapy, Yorke, John, Jones, Edwards and co.

We should keep aiming high but not while ignoring reality.

« Reply #203 on: June 08, 2024, 07:51:25 PM »
@Trini_2026 you could keep waiting for our boys to make Man U, or Real Madrid. It ain't about standards, it's about being realistic. The CPL players are showing up. It'd be delusional to think that we should keep focusing on Europe and not consider the positive performances coming from having CPL boys.

This is a practical solution to building the national team up. Get players into the CPL. Forget about 1st division Honduras, India, El Salvador. We are getting the return on the CPL. Let's continue to keep that up.

« Reply #204 on: June 08, 2024, 08:11:51 PM »
The Bahamas keeper, man, that was tough to watch.
I'm glad to see the newer guys get a run.

« Reply #205 on: June 08, 2024, 09:09:35 PM »
Trini _2026 our "golden" generation grew up eating and sleeping football and still only manage 1 world cup in d sunset of their careers........d streets savannas  and alleyways not going and produce no more Yorke/s and Latapy/s because tiktok, PS5 and X-box grab up all dat raw material, alyuh still living on Nostalgia........man still talking nonsense about attractive football when fast, physical, mechanical football beating we ass coming and going since after 1989..........Eve is a pussy is why d way we playing not really working out, you can tell this team plays with fear and inferiority in dey heart when is not Bahamas and dem so.........man doh want to hear it but we not Barca or Brazil or Argentina, we was jus lucky enough to have a generation dat grow up on dat kinda football........dat gone never to return, it was never standards, it was man taking it upon dey self to emulate ah standard, ah hero, ah country in SA............and it became a delusion dat man still livin today,

It not real........it never was

Offline ffisback

« Reply #206 on: June 08, 2024, 10:30:04 PM »
It's a good thing this was Bahamas 1st game they would get better in their next couple of games and hopefully be a stumbling block for Grenada and St Kitts & Nevins.
Steffan Yeates played well but he is not #10 he's looks more like #7 or #8 the USL and CPL is not where you want to send your best players if you want to go to a WC. is the CPL even 1 of the 5 top leagues in the Concacaf i would say the Mexican league is #1 MLS is #2 Costa Rican league #3 Honduran league #4 are they even as good as the Guatemalan league you can maybe send a young up and coming player there who is under 23 but that's about it.

« Reply #207 on: June 09, 2024, 04:47:30 AM »
Does the quote function work without having to wait a generation before the quote loads?

@gop that was a fairly sensible post (Reply #203) until the baseless disparaging of the Honduran and Salvadoran leagues.

« Reply #208 on: June 09, 2024, 04:55:02 AM »
1. Still very tentative, somewhat plodding football.

2. Not impressed with Muckette's decision-making.

Despite notching two, the above should still be at issue for interrogation by the technical staff --- although, their occasional marginalization of the player suggests he isn't at the heart of the future. There was much promise there to unlock doh
« Last Edit: June 09, 2024, 05:01:57 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #209 on: June 09, 2024, 05:05:32 AM »
I am very pleased to see we stung dem like Jack Spanya, revenge fuh knocking we out a few years ago,sorry it wasn't 10 nil,mek dem go park de bus now against Grenada,ah notice Joseph chatting quite a bit,him seh im come fuh 3 points,he lucky the Ref was on Grenada side by refusing a blatant penalty.Well done to me Soca Warriors!!!