Glad to see the slight optimism. Wish I could share it.
Not a single finalist in a sprint event will we have.
Someone said MLA could get to 11.00 soon. Madness, She is LONG done as a threat in anything.
11.00? Maybe in Port of Spain with them artificial 100m times, and in any case, gone are the days that 11.00 is sniffing an Olympic final.
So medals will have to be relays - which is not even close to happening.
We are about 7 years into the long drought now. Nothing since 2017 Worlds/Olympics. Carifta Games were an utter disaster, despite the occasional triumph here and there. That is not a good sign at all.
I, too, like Jereem as a competitor but the M200 is probably harder to medal in than the 100m in Paris
DeGrasse (defending champ)
Lyles (3x world champ)
Tebogo (9.88/19.50/44.29)
Knighton (World silver)
Bednarek (Olympic silver)
Hughes (19.73, world 100 bronze)
It's depressing.
I don't even know WHAT the fix is at this point, short of waiting on new blood to get in power and then ACTUALLY make the right moves, but I do know that Stevie f**king Wonder could have seen this coming when you let them dopes who shouldn't have been running an HOA meeting run a whole sport into the ground by ignoring both field and distance events, blaming everyone else but themselves, picking teams based on who girlfriend/concubine/pardna gets to go on trips and just overall being dotish beyond belief, starting with letting relays which could have been threats waste away because nobody had sense to say "hey let's invest time and money in these relays", which are capable of being on podiums.
The younger ones coming through the pipeline are not world-medalist-level, either.
That could change, but I'd bet against it from what I have seen. I would LOVE to be wrong on this one.
It's not just that we have nothing to get for the foreseeable future, it's that I don't see an end to it in sight, and that is upsetting.