I think winning any competition in football is generally difficult. I understand why you might think that SSFL and the like don't prepare the same, but are we going to get someone who has won a top-tier professional league? It'd be interesting to find out exactly what competitions any of our NT managers have ever won?
Vranes seems to be competent at whatever he puts his hand to in T&T football - he did well at Central in his many roles and did well for the NT.
I don't think Vranes is the right man for the job. I don't know which team he coaches. Maybe QPCC? I just don't know. I saw him with the TT team in Richmond. They were preparing for that same Shell cup in JA. The played the US B team and loss 1-0. They had a small reception for them and he spoke very briefly. He appeared to be a soft spoken guy. Did not know how to asses him. But then a week later, to my surprise I read that they won the cup. But it appears like one minutes he is JW good books, next min. he is out. I think he coached St. Vincent, and probably Antigua and Grenada. I am not really sure. Then he dabble with almost every pro-league club in TT. You all may not like it but he has plenty local and regional bona fides. he has been in the Caribbean for more than 20 years.
But, WW and team will have to make the assessment on who the next coach will be. We don't know the intricacies of DL contract with TTFA/Concacaf/FIFA. In my honest opinion I don't see any local coach that I will feel comfortable with at this time. Angus might be the only one. He is young and vibrant. He probably has a "football head". But that head is coaching schools boys. Coach "independent" adults is a different thing.
If TTFA decide to go foreign, what will they want him to do? Just coach the team for the next GC, and/or also do some serious developmental with the U-17s, U-19s, U-23s. Will they want him to do technical duties or hire a separate coach. Most of the coaches I see allyuh mentioned will only be in TT for carnival or a weekend in Tobago. We have gotten some good foreign coaches before. And we have been burnt by some foreign coaches. I really don't know of any foreign I can confidently say, "pick he". So that is my 2 cent.