December 21, 2024, 11:21:08 PM

Author Topic: 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League Thread  (Read 35043 times)

2024/25 Concacaf Nations League Thread
« on: May 25, 2024, 07:16:03 AM »
Soca Warriors open Nations League campaign vs Honduras on September 6th
By Roneil Walcott (T&T Newsday)

Trinidad and Tobago's men's football team will begin their 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League A campaign away to Honduras on September 6, while they will also tackle French Guiana and Cuba in a competitive group B lineup.

Due to the peculiar "Swiss style" group setup, coach Angus Eve's Soca Warriors team will not be required to play Nicaragua and Caribbean rivals Jamaica who are also in group B.

In the 2023/24 Concacaf Nations League A campaign, T&T advanced to the knockout stage of the competition for the first time after recording dramatic home wins against Curacao and Guatemala, to go along with a nail-biting 3-2 win away to El Salvador. With 2024 Copa America qualification on the line, T&T couldn't quite get over the quarterfinal hurdle, as they fell to a 4-2 aggregate loss to eventual champions US.

Meanwhile, in their Copa America play-in match against Canada in March, T&T succumbed to a 2-0 loss after conceding a pair of second-half goals.

The 82nd-ranked Honduras also experienced Copa America heartbreak, as they suffered a tough penalty shootout loss to Mexico in the quarterfinals, before going down by a 3-1 margin to Costa Rica in their play-in match.

After tackling Honduras, the Soca Warriors will play their first home game of the campaign when they entertain French Guiana four days later on September 10. In October, Eve's charges will put their Nations League fate on the line with a pair of matches against the 169th-ranked Cuba. T&T will journey to their Caribbean opponents on October 10, before the return fixture on October 14.

The top two teams in the group will advance to the quarterfinals, where they will join the four highest-ranked League A teams (Canada, Mexico, Panama and reigning champions USA.

The quarterfinals will be contested in November 2024 in a home-and-away format, with the victorious teams advancing to the Nations League A finals in March 2025.

T&T are currently preparing for their Fifa 2026 World Cup qualifying campaign which kicks off with a matchup against Grenada at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo on June 5. Last week, with a largely locally based squad, T&T got a pair of friendly wins versus Guyana in Mucurapo.

Concacaf Nations League A groups:

Group A: Costa Rica, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Martinique, Suriname.

Group B: Cuba, French Guiana, Honduras, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Trinidad and Tobago.

Re: 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League Thread
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2024, 07:40:06 PM »
King names Woodley in Nations League squad, Levi Garcia unavailable
T&T Newsday

CARETAKER coach Derek King has announced the Trinidad and Tobago squad for the upcoming Concacaf Nations League matches against Honduras and French Guiana. The team will face Honduras at Estadio Nacional Chelato Ucles in Tegucigalpa, Honduras on September 6 before returning home to take on French Guiana at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago on September 10.

The 23-man roster features a core of players who were part of the squad for the previous matches in June against Grenada and the Bahamas, reflecting a commitment to continuity and team chemistry. However, there are a couple notable absentees for this round of matches.

Greece-based forward Levi Garcia has requested time off and will not be available for these fixtures. Additionally, Ajani Fortune is also unavailable. Despite these absences, King remains confident in the strength and depth of the squad.

Among the familiar names are forward Reon Moore, defender Andre Raymond, box-to-box midfielder Andre Rampersad and goalie Denzil Smith.

The evergreen Kevon Woodley, 38, is set to make his Nations League debut after making his national debut just three months ago. Woodley found the net on his debut against Guyana and was also on target with a header in a defeat to Jamaica's Cavalier FC on August 29 in the Concacaf Caribbean Cup.

"The team we've selected is one that has shown great potential and cohesion over the past few months," King said, in a TTFA media release.

"As we begin our group-stage campaign, the selected players are fit, focused and ready to perform at their best. I have been in discussion with each player about their expectations and responsibilities. While it is never easy to narrow down the squad, I believe the players chosen are the ones who will help us navigate these two important fixtures successfully.

"We need to be professional and disciplined in our approach and recognise the challenge of playing away from home in our opening match. It will be important that we maintain a high level of professionalism and remain focused throughout."

The squad will depart for Honduras on September 3, where they will commence preparations ahead of the match on September 6. The return to Tobago for the home game against French Guiana marks a significant occasion as the team seeks to secure a strong position in League A of the Concacaf Nations League.

Last Nations League campaign, under former coach Angus Eve, T&T qualified for the quarterfinals for the first time. However, T&T were knocked out by USA 4-2 on aggregate. USA won the opening leg 3-0 in Texas, but T&T won the second leg 2-1 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain. The visiting teams received a red card in each leg.

Coach Eve was fired by the TTFA on July 31, 2024, with its president Kieron Edwards saying the local body wanted to take a "different pathway" to the 2026 World Cup qualification.

Trinidad and Tobago Squad

Christopher Biggette, Defence Force., T&T
Aubrey David, Deportivo Municipal, Guatemala
Triston Hodge, Hartford Athletic, USA
Isaiah Lee, La Horquetta Rangers, T&T
Leland Archer, Charleston Battery, USA
Andre Raymond, St Johnstone FC, Scotland
Ryan Telfer, Halifax Wanderers, Canada
Duane Muckette, AC Port of Spain, T&T
Nathaniel James, Mount Pleasant Football Academy, Jamaica
Real Gill, Northern Colorado Hailstorm, USA
Daniel Phillips, Stevenage, England
Steffen Yeates, Pacific FC, Canada
Reon Moore, Pacific FC, Canada
Shannon Gomez, San Antonio FC, USA
Dantaye Gilbert, Jong PSV, Holland
Alvin Jones, Police FC, T&T
Justin Garcia, Defence Force, T&T
Andre Rampersad, Halifax Wanderers, Canada
Noah Powder, Northern Colorado Hailstorm FC, USA
Kaile Auvray, Cavalier FC, Jamaica
Aaron Enill, Montego Bay United, Jamaica
Denzil Smith, AC Port of Spain, T&T
Kevon Woodley, Police FC, T&T

Technical Staff

Derek King - Caretaker
Walt Noriega - Assistant Coach
Ross Russell - Goalkeeper Coach
Adarryl John - Athletic Trainer
Saron Joseph - Strength and Conditioning Coach
Joseph Rooplal - Massage Therapist
Michael Williams - Equipment Manager
Dr Akash Dhanai - Team Doctor
Shaun Fuentes - Media Officer
Richard Piper - Manager

« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2024, 09:04:02 AM »
With the exception of Raymond and Gomez, that defense looks a bit thin. Aubrey is only good for 60mins. What happened to that USL center back who is playing consistently? I forget his name, but he's a New York born Trini.

« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2024, 09:02:31 AM »
Levi Garcia is not bothered about TT just as Yorke did at one time. Sorry to say that but it looks that way,we may as well not bother about annoying him,when he wants to play he must tell TTFA.

« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2024, 12:15:53 PM »
@frico...respect your opinion eh, but nothing about Levi's recent behavior points to that.

He has always come back to play when he's fit.
The only time he has not, is like this situation, where he's finally fit for his club and his club -- quite rightly -- decides it's not prudent for him to come and play and get hurt in no Nations League games.

Honestly though, at this point, Levi seems very injury prone...the most we can hope for is him to be fit for the June '25 qualifiers.

« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2024, 03:06:21 PM »
Fyzoman,I take your explanation because you seems to be better informed than me,all the best to Levi anyway.Let me say though,I feel we can do just as well with Levi as we can do without,we won't be the first team to be with potentially the best player.Many teams tend to play better without star players at times.

« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2024, 03:33:07 PM »
@frico...you absolutely nailed it with that take :thumbsup:

I love Levi, but he has been hurt more than fit for us in the recent past...and when he's hurt that gives others an opportunity?

I'll use our game against Grenada as my example, all first half Levi and the Grenadian left back playing strong man football and I don't think Levi ever got the better of him (I might be wrong?)...they sent on little Real Gill, Real does some of the quick footwork thing he does and sends the same defender back on his heels about six feet, and gives himself room for an easy cross into the box.

So yeah hopefully Levi is ready for us when the qualifying matters.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2024, 06:36:55 AM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2024, 06:47:22 AM »
I would be remiss...Reon and them other forwards probably saying one amount ah Our Fathers and Hail Marys praying Deryck find ah way to start DUANEY( ;D) in that midfield, to just feed them ball-after-ball to score!!!

Who's with me :)

« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2024, 08:50:34 AM »
Fyzo Dantaye and Yeates  is there now . No more Hacksaw yesss a few more recruits  we need now .

« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2024, 01:32:07 PM »
I done factor in Dantaye, Yeates and Rampy already...we shall see what Deryck and Walt come up with :)

« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2024, 02:20:16 PM »
Soca Warriors touch down in Honduras
T&T Guardian

THE Trinidad and Tobago senior men's football team arrived in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, yesterday evening ahead of their opening League A CONCACAF Nations League match against Honduras, on Friday.

The Soca Warriors take on hosts Honduras at the Estadio Nacional Chelato Ucles, with kick-off scheduled for 10 p.m.

Following that, T&T return home to face French Guiana at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago, next week Tuesday, from 7 p.m.

The 23-man roster features a core of players who were part of T&T's squad for the 2024 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Grenada and the Bahamas, last June.

Derek King will lead the team as caretaker coach following the recent release of Angus Eve.

A former assistant to both Eve and Stephen Hart, King, in charge of the senior squad for the first time, is looking forward to the challenge.

"It's exciting to lead Trinidad and Tobago's national senior team," King stated. But he has no illusions as to the difficult task ahead, T&T having only ever accomplished a couple of 1-1 draws against the Hondurans.

But King remains optimistic of a favourable outcome. "I think it very exciting, the challenge ahead," King said, "For us to compete with the top teams in CONCACAF we have to come places like this and get a result as well."

With most of his players based abroad, King will have just three (training) sessions before meeting Honduras, with just one training session allowed at the match venue tomorrow.

"All the players arrived today (yesterday)," revealed King.

"(Today) we will train twice and the following day we will have a normal session, before the game on Friday."

« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2024, 02:21:02 PM »
Frico, like Fyzo, I don't think Levi has ever had an attitude problem with TTFA. Frustrated !!!!! I will surely bet on that. Like Fyzo said, his injuries have complicated things with respect to him being  fully fit for national duty at critical times. And as You pointed  out that Levi absence can open the door for a yound and "hungry" player. I want a fit Levi when WC qualifiers come around.

« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2024, 03:29:49 PM »
Telfer and Rampersad are on fire in the CPL. I actually feel good about this one.

We're putting too much attention on Levi and the midfield. It's the two center back positions that we need to think about Aubrey is only good for 60mins. Garcia is decent, but he can only go so far in the TTPFL. I say it again, we need at least a good USL or CPL CB at the minimum.

« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2024, 11:27:11 PM »
Gawd on fire in CPL when ?

« Reply #14 on: September 05, 2024, 11:39:18 AM »
@ Trini 2026

This week. They both made CPL team of the week.

« Reply #15 on: September 05, 2024, 07:29:23 PM »
Coach Derek King urges Soca Warriors to get 'Independence win' vs Honduras

SOCA Warriors caretaker coach Derek King is welcoming the challenge that will be posed by Honduras in this country's opening 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League A clash at the Estadio Nacional Chelato Ucles, Tegucigalpa, Honduras on September 6. Kickoff in the group B fixture will be 10 pm (T&T time).

The T&T contingent landed in Honduras on September 3, and were expected to have two training sessions on September 4. King, who was appointed to the caretaker role by the T&T Football Association (TTFA) on August 6 after the sacking of Angus Eve, stressed the importance of starting on the right foot in the Nations League A campaign.

"This game here, we need a result in this game. It's very important so let's keep focused," King said, during a team huddle on September 4. "Let's play the game in our minds."

T&T will entertain French Guiana in their second Nations League A match at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet, Tobago on September 10, and King said the Honduras clash gives the team the chance to give the country an Independence gift.

"We just celebrated our 62nd year of independence. The (TKR) cricket (team) gave them a victory. We need one. The country needs one," he said.

T&T last met Honduras in the 2019/20 Nations League A cycle, going under 2-0 and 4-0 to the Central American team in two fixtures.

Current captain Aubrey David is one of the few players who played in T&T's last visit to Honduras in 2019, and the defender hopes this can be a more fruitful visit for him and his peers.

"Everybody knows the mission and the same goal. Everybody knows what we're in for and everybody is up to the task. It's just to get accustomed to each other in these couple days to give everything on September 6," David told TTFA Media. "We know it's going to be a difficult game, but we just need to stick together and stay united to get the job done."

The 33-year-old defender has plied his trade in Costa Rica, Ecuador and now Guatemala, and he's intent on making his experience count on enemy territory.

"Honduras are home and they're going to be coming with everything. We know the crowd is going to be on their side so I think we just need to stay concentrated and focused because. As long as we continue to do our game plan and keep them out, it's going to be more pressure for them," David said.

King wants his team to embrace and overcome the challenge before them.

"We have a tough task, but I think we have the ability to get a result in this game which is very important."

King said the 100th-ranked Soca Warriors need to show their worth against the 79th-ranked Honduras team.

"I think it's very exciting. The challenge, as I said, is for us to compete with the top teams in Concacaf. We have to come to places like these and get a result as well."

After tackling Honduras and French Guiana, T&T will play a pair of matches against Cuba next month to close off the tournament's group phase.

Group B also includes Nicaragua and T&T's Caribbean rivals Jamaica, but the Soca Warriors will not contest these two teams due to the unique format of the tournament. The top two teams in the group will advance to the quarterfinals to join the two teams from group A and the four seeded teams: Canada, Mexico, Panama and three-time reigning champions USA, who knocked the Soca Warriors out at the quarterfinal stage of the previous Nations League cycle last November.

« Reply #16 on: September 06, 2024, 04:43:54 PM »
Ryan Telfer urges Soca Warriors: Don't be afraid of Honduras

CANADA-BASED flanker Ryan Telfer says the Soca Warriors must show no fear for their Honduran counterparts when they clash in their opening match of the 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League A campaign from 10 pm (T&T time) on September 6 at the Estadio Nacional Chelato Ucles in Tegucigalpa.

Under then-coach Dennis Lawrence, Telfer was a member of a T&T team that suffered 2-0 and 4-0 defeats to Honduras during the 2019/20 Nations League A campaign. Current team captain Aubrey David is the other survivor from T&T's heavy 4-0 loss at the Estadio Olimpico Metropolitano in November 2019, and the 30-year-old Telfer says he and his teammates need to be brave if they are to grind out a result against a Honduran team T&T last defeated 11 years ago in a Concacaf Gold Cup encounter.

Stephen Hart was the coach of the T&T team at the time, and the Soca Warriors will be led into battle by caretaker coach Derek King, who served as an assistant to both Hart and the team's most recent coach, Angus Eve.

"Looking at previous World Cup qualifiers, teams like Canada, Mexico and the US also understood that coming to Honduras was a big task and coming here is a big issue," Telfer told T&T Football Association (TTFA) Media.

"We're looking to stay focused on what we can do and what we can bring to the table, and try not to be afraid of the environment Honduras brings because they do have a lot of fans.

"The last few times we've played against teams ranked higher than us we did well and we were able to match their intensity and style of play. Once we bring that intensity and energy, we'll be able to bring that result."

Though there has been a coaching change, Telfer said the team's core group is still intact and he expects them to stick to the values they have established over the last few years as well.

"It's always a big change in terms of changing coaches for the teams, but in this particular instance, the entire team has known Derek (King) for a while," he said.

"It's a bit of both worlds, understanding what Derek wants to bring to the table and how we could replicate that on the field. In terms of that, I believe the core values of the team stays the same and we're just ready to represent."

The Soca Warriors progressed to the quarterfinals of the Nations League A cycle last year, before being knocked out by eventual champions USA.

Telfer said, "It's a big opportunity for us to show why we deserve to be there."

With the Soca Warriors' second Nations League A match scheduled for September 10 at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet, Tobago, Scottish-based full-back Andre Raymond, who became a regular fixture during the previous campaign, said it's imperative for T&T to get off to a positive start.

"We want to start off the new Concacaf Nations League campaign on the right foot. I think the boys are prepared and ready to give everything on the field to come out with the three points," Raymond said.

Raymond said supporters can expect T&T to have attack-minded personnel on the field as they hunt a win.

"This group of boys has built a really deep chemistry. Once the chemistry is there on and off the pitch, we can do good things."

Last September, the Soca Warriors pulled off a dramatic 3-2 win away to El Salvador in an epic Nations League match.

King will hope his charges can get a similar result in his debut as caretaker coach.

« Reply #17 on: September 06, 2024, 04:44:26 PM »
St Lucia is up 2 - 1 on Curacao. St Lucia is playing their hearts out. Just checked Stern John is coaching St Lucia.

All the other games ended with the expected results.

« Reply #18 on: September 06, 2024, 05:47:36 PM »
Wow after curacao give us hell de other day. Hire stern John yes

« Reply #19 on: September 06, 2024, 06:29:05 PM »
Maybe Stern applied?

Watching Jamaica and Cuba. Jamaica looks very confident. They are controlling the game like ah boss.

I watching Puerto Rico and Haiti. Haiti looks good. But they throw away 4 goals. They should be up by 4.. at least.

« Reply #20 on: September 06, 2024, 06:30:56 PM »
As I finish the last post Puerto Rico surprised Haiti with a goal. PR 1 - 0 HAI

« Reply #21 on: September 06, 2024, 08:41:09 PM »
Down 1 nil

« Reply #22 on: September 07, 2024, 07:19:12 AM »
I looked at the Game On Paramount+. We played well for Fifteen minutes and made stupid mistakes Before the Half. The wingers were left unattended.
and made us look like amateurs. The coaching team had no clue for the second Half. We still want a local coach.

« Reply #23 on: September 07, 2024, 08:07:26 AM »
The Score was 4-0 - Honduras.. I look to this site for T&T scores . No one posted After 8;41 Yesterday. Maybe The team sent the Forumites to sleep

« Reply #24 on: September 07, 2024, 09:24:54 AM »
King ent have it. Andre Raymond not ready. Neither Tristan Hodge at Left Back. Justin Garcia regressed. All the old talk about Hackshaw, them tackles in front of defense as well as an outlet from defense were missed. I vote for a former US coach. Defensive minded, but not Angus "Park the bus" variety.

« Reply #25 on: September 07, 2024, 01:27:52 PM »
Kounty the ball winner was not in  the lineup . Of course justin garcia will fall back how competitive is our league and how much football is played in trinidad? . We don t even have a start date for the Ttpl

« Reply #26 on: September 07, 2024, 05:12:53 PM »
I am not aware of how many teams go forward from our Group,I suspect it maybe 2 or could be 3,not sure anyway,one thing is for sure we can't beat Jamaica on paper,and there are question marks on us beating any of the other teams,Jamaica and Honduras are sure to be first and second.If it's 2 teams to qualify from the Group then we dead and buried,3 teams we may get out is more Sooca Worrories in we backside

« Reply #27 on: September 07, 2024, 06:05:19 PM »
I knew our defense was suspect. Raymond had a bad game. Hodge was bright in his first 5 minutes, then. .

Garcia and David aren't quick enough. They are both 30ish and playing in lower leagues.. so what do we expect.

Gill and Gilbert hold a lot or promise. You can see the two of them play quick instinctual football.

I was expecting better from Yeates.

Rampersad is a good clean up man. Him and Gilbert had some good plays.

Honduras did their homework on Moore. They kept two men on him, which silenced him.

Telfer had a few moments. But his assignment was too hard.

When I seen we made it out of the first 30minutes without conceding a goal, I thought a point was possible.

The goal that was scored when Jones was down, was our fault. We continued to play the game. . We should have kicked the ball out when he had the chance. The ref acknowledged the foul by the Honduran after the goal was scored and produced a yellow? That foul should have been called right after the hit on Jones.

I'm sure Honduras wasn't expecting to whoop us by 4. You could see the pressure starting to catch them after 20minutes without a goal.

Derek King looked clueless after the second goal and his new tactics in the second half did more harm than good.

Daniel Phillips should have been playing. Although he plays flagrant, he's the only CDM that would have gave the Hondurans some pepper in the middle.

We need a 3 - 0 win in Tobago to bring back some hope in the squad.

By the way, the push to change the citizenship may be nothing but hot air. I say this because no realistic prospects have been identified, except for a bunch of 17 and 18 year olds. If we can at least identify 3 or 4 good players who will be eligible for TT, then the citizenship change is something that will strengthen the squad. Right now, I don't think there are any players of TT heritage that are worth bringing into the squad. So we have to work with this squad.

« Reply #28 on: September 07, 2024, 09:29:48 PM »
Trinidad football is ah monolith of bad habits and trends carried through d generations, no team play, attack Midfield Defense is 3 disconnected group of further disconnected people, anybody remotely considered to be attack takes no defensive responsibility.....slow plodding meandering play..............I fed up

right about now hiring Local coaches is like hiring a police Commissioner born of d system nothing will change because we recycling d same shit for decades now.......Trinidad football is defeated d same way every time once d coach and players born and grow here and never grow out ah what is learnt here from 40 f**kin years ago.....we have nowhere to go

Offline ffisback

« Reply #29 on: September 08, 2024, 07:37:12 AM »
Gregg Berhalter is just an average MLS coach while he is better than the coach's from TT he is just not good enough to coach at the international level Jesse Marsch is a good MLS coach but make no doubt about it he's crap to I don't why Canada hired him he is not really better than John Herdman it's a waste of time and money hiring any coach from the USA and Canada.