December 21, 2024, 11:48:32 PM

Author Topic: 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League Thread  (Read 35047 times)

Re: 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League Thread
« Reply #30 on: September 08, 2024, 07:47:58 PM »
Soca Warriors whipped 4-0 by Honduras in Concacaf Nations League opener
By Roneil Walcott (T&T Newsday)

BEFORE the Soca Warriors' opening match of the 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League A cycle against Honduras on September 6, forward Ryan Telfer urged the team to show no fear in the hostile environment, with caretaker coach Derek King assuring his team would take three points in the contest.

When referee Tori Penso blew her whistle at the end of 90 minutes, Trinidad and Tobago were played off the park at the Estadio Nacional Chelato Ucles in Tegucigalpa, Honduras as they fell to a heavy 4-0 loss.

With an attack-minded 4-4-2 formation which saw the Canadian-based pair of Reon Moore and Ryan Telfer partnered up top, and Andre Rampersad and Dutch-based attacking midfielder Dantaye Gilbert operating in central midfield, T&T had a promising start to the game on the attacking front.

The visitors had nice combination plays in the attacking third involving Gilbert and flanker Real Gill, and also fashioned a couple of early chances. The diminutive Gill flashed over the bar in the 17th minute after a typically enterprising run, with Telfer having a goal-bound shot blocked by a defender two minutes later after Gill found Moore in space outside the area.

Though they showed bravery on the ball in tight spaces in the midfield, the visitors still looked vulnerable at the other end with sloppy giveaways and lapses of concentration at the back.

Midway through the first half, Honduras came into their own and they lifted the game to an intensity T&T seemingly couldn't cope with.

The hosts went into halftime with a 2-0 lead as Alexander Lopez and Kervin Arriaga scored just before the break, but they did send a few warning shots before breaking the deadlock.

In the 20th minute, T&T left-back Andre Raymond was rescued by goalie Denzil Smith after he misjudged the flight of a ball in the area and allowed flanker Edwin Rodriguez to get in behind him. Seconds later, Honduras skipper Antony Lozano curled a right-footed shot just wide of Smith's goal after a giveaway from Rampersad in the midfield.

Known for his shot-stopping, Smith saved brilliantly with his feet in the 36th minute when Rodriguez volleyed a left-side cross from the tricky Lopez.

Three minutes later, Lopez had his moment of glory when he beat Smith with a long-range effort via a deflection from Rampersad. Lopez was a constant thorn in the Soca Warriors' defence, and he turned provider for Arriaga as the latter drilled in a right-footed volley from the edge of the area to make it 2-0 in first-half stoppage-time.

Right back Alvin Jones went down with an injury during the play, and he and his teammates were incensed that Penso allowed the game to continue.

King said his team was organised at both ends of the pitch for the first 35 minutes, and he felt they conceded two "soft goals" before the end of the half.

"I think every time we put down the ball and play and we came into the pockets and stuff I think we created the chances," King told T&T Football Association (TTFA) media.

"I think they were more or less believing in themselves that they could compete with the teams in Concacaf."

From an attacking sense, the visitors did little to trouble Honduras after the break, while they were left wanting defensively again.

Trying to play a high defensive line, T&T's blushes were marginally spared just seconds after the resumption as Rodriguez was adjudged to be offside before slotting past Smith.

In the 54th minute, though, Rodriguez and Honduras successfully breached the Soca Warriors' high line as he calmly tapped in at the far post after Luis Palma beat the offside trap with ease before crossing from the left flank.

Honduras' third goal ushered in a triple change from King as Triston Hodge, Nathaniel James and Noah Powder came in for Gilbert, Moore and Raymond just before the hour mark.

The changes did little to shift the game's momentum, though James and Powder both brought keeper Edrick Menjivar into action with long-range efforts - the Soca Warriors' only two shots on target in the match.

In the 86th minute, substitute David Ruiz stylishly wrapped up the scoring for Honduras when he curled a left-footed shot around Smith's despairing dive after working a one-two with Rubilio Castillo in the T&T half.

Properly outplayed in Tegucigalpa, the Soca Warriors sit bottom of the Nations League group. On September 10, King and his troops will have a chance for redemption when they host French Guiana from 7 pm at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago.

On September 6, French Guiana also went under in their first Nations League match as they lost 1-0 to Nicaragua.

King knows his team can ill-afford another poor showing.

"I have to applaud all the players for their efforts as well...Tuesday (September 10) is a very important game. We need three points and we're playing at home.

"This is international football. We have to stay focused and we have to stay disciplined and have the right attitude. Once we are organised in that way, I think we will get three points."

TEAMS

Trinidad and Tobago (4-2-3-1): 22.Denzil Smith (GK); 16.Alvin Jones, 2.Aubrey David (captain), 17.Justin Garcia, 6.Andre Raymond (3.Triston Hodge 60); 18.Andre Rampersad, 15.Dantaye Gilbert (19.Noah Powder 60); 12.Steffen Yeates (20.Kaile Auvray 65), 13.Reon Moore (9.Nathaniel James 60), 11.Real Gill; 7.Ryan Telfer (23.Kevon Woodley 71).

Unused substitutes: 1.Christopher Biggette (GK), 21.Aaron Enill (GK), 4.Daniel Phillips, 5.Leland Archer, 8.Isaiah Lee, 10.Duane Muckette, 14.Shannon Gomez.

Coach: Derek King

Honduras (4-2-1-3): 1.Edrick Menjivar (GK); 13.Maylor Nunez, 2.Denil Maldonado, 4.Luis Vega, 8.Joseph Rosales; 5.Kervin Arriaga, 20.Deybi Flores; 10.Alexander Lopez (12.David Ruiz-Ochoa 66); 16.Edwin Rodriguez, 9.Antony Lozano (captain), (11.Rubilio Castillo 66), 7.Luis Palma (17.Douglas Martinez 66).

Unused substitutes: 18.Marlon Licona (GK), 22.Luis Lopez (GK), 3.Raul Santos, 6.Juan Carlos Obregon, 14.Jesus Batiz, 15.Devron Garcia, 19.Carlos Pineda, 21.Bryan Rochez, 23.Jorge Alvarez.

Coach: Reinaldo Rueda

Referee: Tori Penso

Offline Thomo

« Reply #31 on: September 09, 2024, 07:53:21 AM »
From de time I see King start Yeates and have that man drift out to the right wing and Real Gill move centre as ah tactic during the run of play, ah say nah this man mad. Yeates is a central midfielder who likes to pick out passes to his strikers - he is not a run down the line type of guy. This was happening in the first 20 minutes and I was like WTF.
In my opinion it should have been a 3-5-2 starting line up with 3 centre backs including Archer. Raymond/Hodge on left, Jones on right. In the middle Rampersad/Gilbert, Phillips and Muckette/Yeates with Moore and Telfer up front. We needed a strong spine with willing runners and hard tacklers in the middle vs a fast paced dynamic playing style of the Hondurans and I don't believe for one second that line-up would have helped.
After the 1st goal I turned off.

« Reply #32 on: September 09, 2024, 09:45:32 AM »
I actually think that we can work with what we have with 3-5-2/5-3-2 and let at least if not both forwards hold wide-ish positions and give dem d freedom to drift in or out as needed to find space  Georgia actually did that and mighta beat Spain or give ah better showing if dey didn't lose dey Creator to injury.........A fit Levi would do well in a forward partnership

Offline madness

« Reply #33 on: September 09, 2024, 06:09:28 PM »
tnt soccer IQ is very low. It does not matter what formation; they will still lose.

« Reply #34 on: September 10, 2024, 12:45:17 AM »
I actually think that we can work with what we have with 3-5-2/5-3-2 and let at least if not both forwards hold wide-ish positions and give dem d freedom to drift in or out as needed to find space  Georgia actually did that and mighta beat Spain or give ah better showing if dey didn't lose dey Creator to injury.........A fit Levi would do well in a forward partnership

I share an aspect of this perspective. Where we differ is the assignment/necessity of drifting wide in this instance and of the 3-5-2/5-3-2 as a solution for all upcoming matches (if that's what you meant).

In the context of the French Guiana encounter, I regard an interpretation of 3-5-2 as viable and likely to be fruitful as a starting premise in attacking phases.

And note, there's no Levi available for this match and the conclusion still stands.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2024, 12:47:58 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #35 on: September 10, 2024, 12:52:59 AM »
Leaving Honduras with a point was viable. The pursuit of three points should have been weighted with that in mind, all things considered.

« Reply #36 on: September 10, 2024, 08:17:50 AM »
asylumseekerYour post above is exactly how I thought King would plan for, as you say a point was viable,don't go" gung ho" for a win,on paper that wasn't possible but we know how things can go sometimes,still looking at it objectively we were not going to beat the Hondurans.so look for what looks a likely achievement.Again why did King not see it like that.

« Reply #37 on: September 10, 2024, 12:08:46 PM »
By the way, the push to change the citizenship may be nothing but hot air. I say this because no realistic prospects have been identified, except for a bunch of 17 and 18 year olds. If we can at least identify 3 or 4 good players who will be eligible for TT, then the citizenship change is something that will strengthen the squad. Right now, I don't think there are any players of TT heritage that are worth bringing into the squad. So we have to work with this squad.

Gawd Angus did say player are in the process getting of getting  passports and also  a   different squad would have been picked  if players could have been selected via  grandparents. What  this squad needs  4 -5 good players
« Last Edit: September 10, 2024, 12:26:29 PM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #38 on: September 10, 2024, 12:13:42 PM »
If there's any game that would have required Eve's "park the bus", would have been that game on Friday. Derek decided to use a formation and selection that the team is not familiar with.

By the way, St Lucia beat Grenada 2-1 last night. What's behind St Lucia's recent success? They have about 5 English born players playing in EFL 2 (the league Andre is in) or above. . They found their Brits.

I'm still waiting to see who is out there for TT other than the 17 year olds on the scouting for talent thread.

« Reply #39 on: September 10, 2024, 04:20:12 PM »
gawd on pitch"if there's any game that would have required Eve's "park the bus,would have been that game on Friday,I thought about that,maybe we got rid of him one match too early.Anyway here's a score might interest you,Guatemala 0 Costa Rica 0
« Last Edit: September 10, 2024, 04:22:18 PM by frico »

« Reply #40 on: September 10, 2024, 04:26:45 PM »
King made 5 changes to the starting 11

« Reply #41 on: September 10, 2024, 04:53:31 PM »
Yeah seeker by drift wide I mean more like occupying the left and right channels between the central and in the half spaces more like inside forwards to find room to run especially in transitional moments......I  am more keen to have strikers defend with pressing and attempts to steal rather than hold a line and let mids and defense hold structure and trigger press runners and passing lanes to create "loose balls" I think we can d well as a quick transition team with the right set up.......don't think this team has possession football in them at the moment but I think we have players that can run-in-behind very effectively
 and that we will do ok with a measured combo of route one and one touch passing moves.....when the other teams tactics allows for it
« Last Edit: September 10, 2024, 05:08:52 PM by lefty »

« Reply #42 on: September 10, 2024, 04:54:41 PM »
Soca Warriors' coach Derek King shuffles the pack vs French Guiana
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

SOCA Warriors head coach Derek King said he plans to shuffle the starting XI in their Concacaf Nations League match against French Guiana at Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet, on September 10 at 7 pm.

Trinidad and Tobago will be aiming to redeem themselves after falling to a heavy 4-0 defeat to Honduras at the Estadio Nacional Chelato Ucles on September 6 in Honduras.

Despite T&T holding their own in the opening 30 minutes of play, the home team took control of the contest after taking the lead in the 39th minute in the League A, Group B match. One more goal in the first half and two more in the second gave Honduras the crushing win.

A few players who have started for T&T over the past two years were on the bench against Honduras including the midfield trio of Daniel Phillips, Nathaniel James and Kaile Auvray. Wing-back Shannon Gomez also did not start the match.

Speaking to T&T Football Association media, King said, "All the players are fit and ready. We'll make some slight changes to the starting team and to the system as well."

After last week's defeat, King said three points against French Guiana are valuable. "We did a video session analysing ourselves in the last game and the players saw for themself that they made some simple errors. At international football you don't get away with some of the mistakes that you will make in the local league and stuff, so I think the guys will learn from their mistakes. They will be eager to go and they know how important the three points is tomorrow."

King does not only want three points but to play with a level of style that the fans would appreciate.

"We want to play football, entertaining football because I think T&T deserves a victory."

The T&T coach said his team is not underestimating any team in the competition. French Guiana also hope to bounce back after losing 1-0 to Nicaragua on September 6. Auvray is calling on the fans to rally behind the team.

"We know it is an important clash and that we need to get a positive result because the last game, unfortunately, did not go in our favour, but it is now to bounce back and we are playing at home so this is a good opportunity to pick up three points," Auvray said.

Auvray, who came on as a substitute against Honduras, is asking for support in Tobago like they had in a Nations League match in 2023 against Nicaragua at Dwight Yorke Stadium.

"Being at home is always an advantage because you have your fans supporting you and you have that extra energy to keep on going. Last year, we played in Tobago and the fans showed up so I expect the same this year.

"Hoping to get three points that is most important, but we need the fans to really back us up. I think that is something we are really going to need, extra support."

The diminutive player said the Soca Warriors need the "12th man advantage."

The Nations League and the World Cup qualifiers are the focus for the national footballers. The Nations League serves as qualifiers for the 2025 Concacaf Gold Cup.

"Both competitions are very important and every match is an opportunity for us to show that we have improved and to get a win...obviously the World Cup qualifiers will be the pinnacle," Auvray said.

Auvray said his move from Jamaica Premier League team Mt Pleasant to fellow Jamaican club Cavalier is a move that will help him develop, which would benefit the Soca Warriors as a result.

Reon Moore, a starter against Honduras, said the players are already looking ahead after the defeat to Honduras. "The boys are good after the loss. We recovered well, we had a long travel and we are focused to go again on Tuesday.

"The opening 30 minutes we were good (against Honduras). We were in the game and we were playing (well), but then the goal came and after the goal, it was a bit tough to recover."

Moore said three points is the goal. "It is always good to win at home. We know the task at hand, the boys know the task at hand coming on Tuesday. We are prepared and we are ready for it."

« Reply #43 on: September 10, 2024, 05:19:30 PM »

We cannot even play the ball out of our half

« Reply #44 on: September 10, 2024, 05:33:24 PM »
We not using d wide inside channel to thread d ball and it have some room there we just playing this slow possession game dat constantly breaking down

« Reply #45 on: September 10, 2024, 05:34:45 PM »
This is frustrating to look at now

« Reply #46 on: September 10, 2024, 06:48:25 PM »
Bring back Angus!  ;D

« Reply #47 on: September 10, 2024, 06:57:06 PM »
Seems like we will get relegated

« Reply #48 on: September 10, 2024, 06:58:19 PM »
Up next is Cuba at home. Who TIED Jamaica at home with 10 men.

We need a new coach by next week.

« Reply #49 on: September 10, 2024, 09:02:52 PM »
Pain and misery. We uninspired

Offline bingie man

« Reply #50 on: September 10, 2024, 10:17:06 PM »
@peong uninspired bad

« Reply #51 on: September 11, 2024, 01:41:26 AM »
didnt even care about these matches or any trinidad football match for that matter, and the only reason i'm here is because i was on youtube and saw the highlights between jamaica and cuba which lead me to trinidad and honduras,

then i check the site and saw that they elected a new president which fired angus and replaced him with king, and this is exactly why i fked off trinidad football, because the more things change the more it remain the same.

imagine not being able to beat fr-guina at home, this while we run over the united states, beat el salvador in san salvador, beating guatemala in the HSC, then turn around and performed poorly against mediocre opposition.

all i could say is that this new presidency reminds me so much of the fat boss, who had a knack for shooting himself in the foot while destroying trinidad football in the process.

again, the football regional heads got it wrong, again, picking their new boss who seem to be just as clueless as the rest, it would have been better if they had left haddad in charge. anyway fellas, enjoy your football. you guys have a very high threshold for pain yes.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2024, 01:44:10 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #52 on: September 11, 2024, 02:45:25 AM »
One disturbing thing is the relatively small sums of $ over which industrial action is contemplated. That is what we have been reduced to ... Doh get me wrong, I understand the context in which T&T football is functioning, but this matter shouldn't be occuring on the heels of a supposed smooth transition from NC to a non-normalized FA. Either way, aside from the Phillips attempt on goal, the various other attempts were fairly lukewarm. Two dropped points, low energy level, s-l-o-w. passing/possession despite all there was to play for. Not a good look.

Should someone have appeared with cash at HT and made it rain?
« Last Edit: September 11, 2024, 02:53:20 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #53 on: September 11, 2024, 02:48:17 AM »
Bring back Angus!  ;D

Arm the online petition.  :)

« Reply #54 on: September 11, 2024, 04:50:16 AM »
Let Angus stay where he is ...

« Reply #55 on: September 11, 2024, 02:03:16 PM »
All Yuh is jokers. The entire forum wanted Angus gone. Now he gone and we getting licks in we arse, bring back Angus!!!

« Reply #56 on: September 11, 2024, 02:46:02 PM »
Alvin threw the team under the bus in the post game interview. As much as I like his honesty, you can't do that bro. Save that for in the locker room.

« Reply #57 on: September 11, 2024, 08:14:48 PM »
Captain Aubrey David: Soca Warriors need to look in the mirror
By Roneil Walcott (T&T Newsday)

THE Soca Warriors and the 2,000-strong crowd at Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet, Tobago were left disappointed on September 10 as the hosts played to a goalless draw with French Guiana in the second match of their 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League A campaign.

With just two games left against Cuba next month, the Soca Warriors sit at the foot of the six-team group B table after losing their first game 4-0 to Honduras. Jamaica (four points) head the group after grabbing a 2-1 win away to Honduras late on September 10.

The top two teams in both League A groups will advance to the quarterfinals, with the bottom two teams in the groups being relegated to Nations League B for the next cycle.

Last year, Trinidad and Tobago progressed to the knockout stage of the Nations League for the first time before being knocked out by eventual champions USA.

Just over a month into the job, T&T caretaker coach Derek King, who took over from Angus Eve, finds himself with his back against the wall.

Captain Aubrey David and experienced defender Alvin Jones both said there's a need for introspection from the team if they are to raise their game to the desired standard at this level.

"It was a sad result for us. It's a draw, but it feels like a loss for us because three points would have put us in a good position in the group once again," David said. "Unfortunately, we didn't get going. We need to reset again because we have two important games coming up.

"I think we as a team have to look at ourselves in the mirror and go back to the drawing board and look at the things that brought us success in the last campaign. I think we need to be humble and have that hunger to get good results."

The 30-year-old Jones, who was twice named to the Concacaf Nations League A Best XI in the previous campaign, urged the players to step up to the challenge.

"I think each and everyone has to look in the mirror and decide what they want - whether we want to play big football or we just want to compete," Jones said. "I think we have a lot of work to do mentally, physically. Each and every player."

The Soca Warriors' play throughout the contest didn't have the urgency required for the scenario, and they created few clear-cut chances.

In the 39th minute, midfielder Daniel Phillips crashed a shot off the post from distance, with playmaker Duane Muckette being denied by goalkeeper Fei-hong Faham at the end of a flowing move moments before.

King felt his team should have grabbed three points despite the sometimes pedestrian pace displayed in the encounter.

"I think the performance was a bit disappointing. We didn't get three points," King said. "We went out there and we analysed the team. Our ball movement was a little slow, but we still created chances."

With golden opportunities few and far between, T&T substitute Reon Moore missed the chance to give his team the lead in the 64th minute after being played in behind the defence by Jones.

"We were pressing the ball but I think we went out with too many lateral and backward passes," King said. "I think to take us to the next level we need to raise our intensity and our ball speed has to be much better to compete with the top teams in Concacaf."

T&T's remaining games in Nations League will be against the fourth-placed Cuba on October 10 and 14 respectively, and the Soca Warriors will likely need two wins to have a chance of returning to the quarterfinals.

It remains to be seen if King will be the man tasked with leading T&T into battle against Cuba.

The former FC Santa Rosa and North East Stars coach backed the players to make the necessary adjustments in the coming matches.

"The players we selected, I thought it was the best mix for these two games...the important thing is to look ahead as a team.

"We saw some good things (against French Guiana). We have to sit as a staff and analyse those two games and continue building from this."

« Reply #58 on: September 12, 2024, 09:05:12 AM »
@deeks

Don't talk that rubbish about bring that shithound Eve back, that sell out could stay where he is until we get our permanent coach

« Reply #59 on: September 12, 2024, 02:23:19 PM »
We do not have many good local players. If they were that good they would get contracts in good overseas leagues.  The foreign players we have who play abroad all play in lower level foreign leagues. The last time we were competitive was when we had several players in top leagues in Europe and a good foreign coach. We should also try to get a good foreign coach. It is time we understand that this is not the 1970s and the world is not waiting for us. But where is the money?