December 21, 2024, 07:40:38 AM

Author Topic: Andre Raymond Thread  (Read 10772 times)

Andre Raymond Thread
« on: July 16, 2024, 12:45:43 PM »
Andre Raymond signs for Scottish Premiership club, St. Johnstone FC
perthstjohnstonefc.co.uk

We are delighted to announce the signing of Trinidad and Tobago internationalist Andre Raymond, subject to international clearance.

The 23-year-old moves to McDiarmid Park on a deal until the summer of 2026 and arrives following a spell in Portugal with Vilar de Perdizes.

Raymond has also featured for his national team alongside our former player Dan Phillips, making nine appearances for his country so far to date.

Andre has been training with the squad for some time now and he is excited to get to work in the Premier Sports Cup, with matches against Morton, Alloa and East Fife to come.

Upon signing his deal, Raymond said: “I am very grateful. Firstly I am thankful to God, I am thankful to my family, my coaches and my peers who always believed in me.

“I want to use this move as a stepping stone to learn and continue to be a student of the game.

“I always took an interest in St Johnstone when I knew my international teammate Dan Phillips was playing at the club.

“He contacted me and he mentioned that the coach was really interested in me and he liked me a lot.

“From then I continued to watch games, study the style of play and witness the atmosphere of the fans, which is really great. I really wanted to come and join the team.”

Manager Craig Levein added: “We are delighted to bring Andre into the club to bolster our defensive options.

“Andre was a recommendation of our former player Dan Phillips, and we are excited to work with him going forward. Andre’s pace and power will be useful attributes both in defence and attack.”

Re: Andre Raymond Thread
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2024, 01:27:15 PM »
Congrats to Raymond. (Ah think it was Peong who honed in on his ability when commenting about one of the NT matches).

As far as Phillips (for the naysayers of his move to Stevenage), he certainly sounds like a man who views the opportunity as progressive rather than regressive. Kudos to him for handling Raymond.

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2024, 04:14:15 PM »
Excellent. I and a few of us on here knew this man is too talented to be in 4th division Portugal. Nice pay day too. All we need is Denzil to be in a good league. Also two solid CBs playing in competitive leagues. Aubrey running out of gas.

« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2024, 04:18:51 PM »
@asylumseeker. Good comment there. Phillips also supporting the development of our players. Maybe Andre can put a mention to get another player into St John's. Seems like they willing to take a chance with the TT players. If Raymond gets his permit to play in Scotland, I believe he can eventually play in England.

« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2024, 06:26:01 PM »
Great news...St Johnstone lucky Angus contrived to prevent us from getting to the Copa cause some other team mighta snatch up Mr. Raymond :D

Seriously though, like GOP said, some of us saw his quality, I said only Keston Julien could take his spot on the NT...though Triston looked very good in the last two games...but Andre is a special player.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2024, 06:57:08 AM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2024, 05:05:59 PM »
Fyzo forget the special please. You like going overboard over exaggerating eh

« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2024, 05:25:52 PM »
Asylum yuh makin meh sound like a wise man but his ability is something all of us could see, I just commented first.

Congrats to Raymond but cool the stepping stone talk please! Theobald is de one start dat nonsense, in Scotland to boot!

« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2024, 07:33:25 PM »
 @Trini_2026, hahaha.
Nah bredda, I'm simply going with what my discerning eyes are seeing.

I didn't think I had to qualify my answer by saying for a TnT player...but for a TnT Nashy, I feel he is special, and after I first saw him I couldn't understand why he was in Portugal second division?

The same applies for that one kid from Jong PSV?
I saw him for a few minutes with my fresh eyes and know he is starter come September...it's just what I do :)
« Last Edit: July 17, 2024, 07:36:53 PM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2024, 02:27:10 PM »
Asked whether Phillips had tipped him off about his new full-back, Levein said: “Absolutely.

“One day, I just said to him: ‘Is there anybody in the national team who would be good for us?’

"Dan mentioned a couple – Andre in particular. I think it was January the conversation took place.

“I went away and did a lot of research. It’s taken a while to get to this stage.

“I really like him.

“He’s dynamic, strong and quick.

“He’s been playing in the Portugese lower leagues but when he’s been with Trinidad and Tobago he’s been coming up against guys from Canada and America who are worth tens of millions of pounds.

“He coped well with those guys so that’s a good indication he can help us.

https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/st-johnstone/5033126/st-johnstone-andre-raymond-sign/

Anyone who is opposed to the inclusion of players born abroad, step back. Look at the value, tangible and intangible.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2024, 02:34:30 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2024, 11:18:44 AM »
Seeker, there cannot be anyone in this forum who is opposed to foreign-born players...that is simply impossible!

I know some of us in the forum are idiots -- or have idiot moments -- myself included...but there cannot be anyone here who has a problem with foreign-born players, this forum cannot have anyone as stupid as that :D

« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2024, 07:26:59 PM »
Nice psychology dey Fyzo  ;D

« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2024, 08:02:18 AM »
@Cocorite, hahahaha...I wanted to see who ah could ketch...but they see me coming a mile away so they lying low😂

« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2024, 03:36:43 PM »
St Johnstone defender Andre Raymond was on SC Braga’s radar until he was thrown in JAIL
By Eric Nicolson (The Courier)

New St Johnstone full-back Andre Raymond has revealed that his winding career path to Perth took in two days spent in JAIL.

The Trinidad and Tobago international was closing in on a big move to Portugese top flight side, SC Braga, having embarked on a tour of Europe with an academy team.

However, he discovered the hard way that he had spent too long in the country without the necessary bureaucratic boxes being ticked and the zero tolerance consequence before deportation was a short stay in prison.

The experience killed Raymond’s chance of a transfer to Braga but didn’t kill his football dream.

And the 23-year-old has now made his competitive debut for Saints, giving McDiarmid Park fans a taste of the all-action style he hopes will make him a Scottish Premiership hit.

“I was at university in America and did one semester,” Raymond recalled.

“While I was at home my friend was going with an academy team to Spain.

“I was dropping him at the airport and the coach of his team asked me what I was doing, why I wasn’t playing football and going with them.

“He wanted me to go with them.

“He spoke to my dad about it but my mum was saying: ‘No way, you have to go back to school’.

In the end he managed to persuade them and a few days later I joined them in Spain to play a tournament.

“After that we went to Portugal and I ended up with Braga but then some stuff happened – I got arrested!

“Because we’d been away from home for so long, I ended up staying for four months instead of three.

“I went back home to get my documents and then back to Portugal for pre-season with Braga, but they didn’t let me in and threw me in jail.”

‘Locked in a cell’

Raymond added: “I was in there for two days – it was horrible.

“I was allowed a 15-minute phone call and locked in a cell.

“I know it was only two days but that was enough. It was a new experience, that’s for sure!

“I wouldn’t want anyone to go through it.

“They sent me back to Trinidad and I had to spend three months out of Europe before I could go back.

“But, because of the length of time it was, Braga had moved on and signed another left-back and that left me without a club.

“I felt like giving up football again, to be honest, but I got the chance to sign for Vilar De Perdizes so I decided to do that.

“My mum wanted me to go back to school but my dad said I should push on and keep going.

“She still wants me to study though and is telling me to do it part-time, but I don’t think so at the moment.”

Encouraging start

Saints manager, Craig Levein, followed up a Dan Phillips recommendation to snap-up Raymond.

Saturday’s 2-0 win over Morton was his first game since a friendly with the national team at the end of last season, so it was no surprise Levein decided to take him off just after the hour against Morton.

But Raymond showed enough to suggest he should live up to his friend’s billing.

“I was very happy with my debut,” he said. “I needed to get some minutes in the tank and build a bond with the team.

“The intensity was really high – it was really good.

“I didn’t know the coach had asked Dan about me. Then in March, I got a phone call saying he was interested.

“He’d done some research and liked what he saw, so things started moving then.

“I made my mind up straight away I wanted to join St Johnstone. The Scottish league is a top league.

“I spent the last few months of the season watching the team play, looking at the players, the style of play and the atmosphere in the stadium.

“All the time I was speaking to the manager and hoping they would stay in the Premiership.

“I watched the Motherwell game on the final day on my computer. It was a very tense afternoon but I was very happy when the team won.

“I wanted Dan to stay but he has goals and aspirations of his own.

“We still speak a lot. He told me to come here because it’s a good club and I would fit in here.

“He said that my style of play would match-up with Scottish football and I’m feeling that too.

“I like to defend but I also like to get forward.”

« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2024, 04:55:01 PM »
Dais who he is!!!
I remembering hearing some bacchanal about this some years ago, I didn't know he make ah lil jail.

Also, this NOW make more sense to ME...when I saw him play I couldn't understand why the hell he was in the second division...he wasn't really supposed to be there!!!

Seriously though, how much footballers could say they make jail chasing their football dreams ( oh gosh and yes ah know there may be many out there, but still, one of ours??)...great story!

And because I cannot help myself...he could easily replace big head Malacia on my United, easy, easy, easy ;D

« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2024, 05:35:37 PM »
@Fyzo, he wasn't even playing in the 2nd division. It was the 4th or 5th in Portugal

« Reply #15 on: July 22, 2024, 06:23:26 PM »
Yeah boy GOP, I forget that...he get a lil scrape thru contract, but his quality couldn't be denied I guess.

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #16 on: August 02, 2024, 09:58:25 AM »
Now he settling in nicely in the Scottish football, and had an assist a few days ago, he would keep growing with this exposure.  :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

« Reply #17 on: August 05, 2024, 11:16:33 AM »
The Scottish League have to come rell good to sneak St. Johnstone past me this season!!

Ah ready for them today at 2pm on meh Paramount Plus...LFG ST Johnstone ;D

« Reply #18 on: August 05, 2024, 01:22:48 PM »
How he looking frighten, frighten so?
As I say that, he just blocked a shot on goal  ;D

« Reply #19 on: August 06, 2024, 05:44:50 PM »
@Cocorite....hahahaha!!

Look leave the lil boy alone eh ;D

Nah he looked lil good though as the game went on, he had a few slip ups, but he looked like a BOSS on the breakaway when he slide tackle ah man to save a sure goal!!

I love his confidence on the play he got the yellow card for? He stick it thru ah man leg but it bounced too far and was BLADE in the fifty fifty...VAR check he backside to change the yellow to a RED.

Seriously though, he looked like he belonged...I could take him at my United IN THE MORNING :)
« Last Edit: August 07, 2024, 02:48:54 PM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #20 on: August 07, 2024, 01:41:09 PM »
@Cocorite....hahahaha!!

Look the lil boy alone eh ;D

Nah he looked lil good though as the game went on, he had a few slip ups, but he looked like a BOSS on the breakaway when he slide tackle ah man to save a sure goal!!

I love his confidence on the play he got the yellow card for? He stick it thru ah man leg but it bounced too far and was BLADE in the fifty fifty...VAR check he backside to change the yellow to a RED.

Seriously though, he looked like he belonged...I could take him at my United IN THE MORNING :)

Nah he look good for the most part.
As for United, ah think I'll take Levi up front on a serious. He will get nuff penalty running at defences.

« Reply #21 on: August 26, 2024, 06:27:26 PM »
Andre Raymond misses a chance to put St. Johnstone in the lead after he blazes overbar when presented with an almost empty net. St. Johnstone eventually lost 2-0 to Dundee United.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/UXAUVVcsY64?start=62" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/UXAUVVcsY64?start=62</a>

« Reply #22 on: August 27, 2024, 08:28:17 AM »
Yikes!!!

Granted more goals are missed than scored, but Dre act like he is natural right-footer on that one😀

« Reply #23 on: August 28, 2024, 07:51:22 AM »
That was embarrassing for sure. I have to catch one of his games soon. How was he so advanced is he playing midfield or something?

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #24 on: August 28, 2024, 11:18:37 AM »
That was embarrassing for sure. I have to catch one of his games soon. How was he so advanced is he playing midfield or something?

He is an overlapping winger that just made a run and cut inside and found himself there..... tough not to have scored that........

« Reply #25 on: September 05, 2024, 09:34:21 AM »
St Johnstone boss Craig Levein so happy with Andre Raymond he says Dan Phillips deserves an agent's fee

Andre Raymond and Dan Phillips are back together on Trinidad and Tobago duty this week.

And when the St Johnstone wing-back left Scotland to play for his country in the Nations League, Perth boss Craig Levein had half a mind to get him to pass on a finder's fee to the former Saints midfielder.

Phillips recommended Raymond to Levein before he left McDiarmid Park in May.

And after following up the tip-off, the Saints manager couldn't be happier with the player he has brought into his new-look squad.

"Andre has been brilliant, honestly," said Levein. "I need to send Dan Phillips an agency fee!

"As soon as Dan told me about him, I went to watch his clips. There wasn't much of him playing back in Portugal.

"But in all the international games, he was playing against guys worth 30 to 40 million pounds - and not giving them a kick.

"I thought: 'How the hell did he end up where he is?'

"Everyone has got a story of how they got to where they are - look at Adama's stuff.

"Andre's route has just been a wee bit more circuitous than everyone else's."

Levein added: "He's got a smile on his face every day. He gets on brilliantly with the lads.

"I've not seen a player settle in and look so relaxed and at home.

"He's got good mates here now and he's a really well-respected member of the team.

"Players get to where they get to through different routes. That's how it's always been."

Tenacity the key for Raymond

Raymond has come to a physical league and, at around 5ft 7in tall, is one of the smallest full-backs in the Premiership.

That's not proved to be a problem for the 23-year-old so far, nor does Levein expect it to be.

"There are loads of players who've played in Scotland who aren't the biggest," he said.

"Morgaro Gomis was tiny but they didn't come any tougher than he was.

"They are out there and sometimes they don't get the opportunity.

"A lot of it is to do with tenacity.

"The ones who are tenacious and don't like getting beaten in any individual one on one carry that everywhere with them.

"It's not like you can only do that at a certain level.

"Those tend to be the ones who improve again and again and again when the challenges come.

"Because their nature is that they don't ever want to get beaten.

"It's not a seam of gold - It's easy to get this stuff wrong. It's just about every individual situation, trying to guess if it's going to work or not."

« Reply #26 on: September 05, 2024, 02:08:00 PM »
I just nodding my big head reading the St Johnstone coach's comments about Andre.

The man say there wasn't much Portugal footage to watch so he watched his few international games...now he's the starting left-back for his team...niceness.

« Reply #27 on: September 09, 2024, 05:01:01 PM »
Andre Raymond: St Johnstone star reveals one big downside to life in Scotland

St Johnstone full-back, Andre Raymond, is loving his new football life in Scotland.

But the Trinidad and Tobago international admitted that there is one thing he would gladly change - the weather!

"The people, the coaches and my team-mates have helped me fit into the team really well," Raymond said.

"The thing I can't get accustomed to is the weather.

"It's cool all the time and always raining.

"There is sunshine but it's rare. Really rare!

"I always wear sweaters every day.

"Even if the people there are thinking 'today's hot', that isn't hot for me!"

In an interview with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association while on Nations League duty, the 23-year-old spoke of his pride in adding to a long tradition of players from his country making a name for themselves in Scotland.

The likes of Marvin Andrews, Russell Latapy, Tony Rougier and former Perth duo, Jason Scotland and Collin Samuel, all enhanced their reputations in our top flight.

"I've been classed with Jason Scotland as a fans' favourite because I think he was a fans' favourite when he was there," said Raymond.

"I didn't know he'd played there or that there were so many Trinidadians who played in Scotland.

"It's been really good to hear the history and the background."

"Mentally and tactically I've grown a lot since I've been there," he said.

"The coach has had high confidence to play me even though I've come from lower leagues.

"He's passed on a lot of knowledge and I've been implementing it in my games. I'm really grateful for that."

Raymond played an hour of Trinidad and Tobago's 4-0 defeat to Honduras on Friday night and will hope to feature against French Guiana on Tuesday before returning to Perth.

« Reply #28 on: September 10, 2024, 12:26:16 AM »
We should all find it disturbing that a player who retired less than a decade ago, one of the few T&T players with a consistent trajectory of playing in Europe (albeit a humble and understated player) was unknown to a player on the present NT. If history can evaporate like that, doh hope for the best.

And yes, I've considered the player's age. I've also considered that it isn't particularly his "fault".
« Last Edit: September 10, 2024, 12:27:51 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #29 on: November 23, 2024, 04:58:32 PM »
He got the assist on the only goal today