Wed, Mar

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation has appointed former national captain Clayton Morris as head coach of this country's national Futsal team which is preparing for the Caribbean Football Union leg of the World qualifiers to be staged here in April. Morris will serve as coach with former national teammate Hutson Charles as his assistant and Ronald Brereton as manager.

Among the countries scheduled to take place in the tournament scheduled to be hosted here in April include Guyana, Suriname, Turks/Caicos Islands, US Virgin Islands, Grenada, Jamaica, Netherlands Antilles, Puerto Rico, Dominica, Dominican Republic, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and T&T. Regional Futsal giants Cuba have secured automatic passage into the final CONCACAF qualifying round. Two teams from the tournament here will go through to the final CONCACAF stage from which the winners will advance to the World finals in China in September.

Two Futsal Facilities costing TT$2.5 million will be constructed in time for the Caribbean leg of the qualifying championships. At the last Caribbean Futsal Tournament, only three countries participated. Twelve 12 will compete in this year's tournament, to be hosted by T&T. The TTFF recently staged a nationwide tournament which was funded by GTECH Corporation and several talented players were spotted and selected on a squad for training to form the national team. Among some of the notable names on the squad include former Joe Public midfielder Kerwyn Jemmott (Blue Ribbon Dream Team), national goalkeeper Kevin Graham, Hollis Brown, Sterling O'Brien and Derek King of Joe Public) as well as Tobagonian defender Uz Taylor of Santos.

Full Squad Called:
Wilfred Bailey, Wendell Douglas, Clint Ramond, Colin Joseph (Laventille Youths), Sean Edwards (Giants), Renny Martin (Santos), Jason Bowen, Jeremy Bacchas, Kevin Davis (Laventille Ball Masters), Jerwyn Balthazar, Ricardo Bennett, Andre Fonellie (Junior Mafia), Ako James, Cordell Greenidge, Anthony Small, Uz Taylor (Santos), Derek King, Seon Power, Hollis Brown, Kevin Graham, Sterling O'Brien (Joe Public), Dorian Daniel, Devon Daniel (Hearty Foods), Lorne Joseph, Lawrence George, Kerwyn Jemmott, Kevin Peters, Nkosi Gabriel (Blue Ribbon Dream Team), Clevon George, Anthony Peters (Chemical All), Marc Williams, Khari Look Loy (Santa Rosa FC), Marvin Lee (TSTT), Ryan Stewart (Mayaro Spurs), Ryan Dipsing (Caroni), Kurt Williams, Kelvin Baptiste (Crab Connection), Jason Valley (Leeds FC), Kenny Mascell, Akil Laurie (Victors), Rawl Francois, Ricky Aleong, Colin Defreitas (DF2), Zane O'Brien (South).