Wed, Jun
Match Report
Trinidad & Tobago Haiti
T&T flag Haiti
Dale Saunders (21')
Brent Rahim (68')
Arnold Dwarika (74')

Copa Caribe
2001-05-25Hasely Crawford StadiumPort-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago8000

Copa Caribe kings for the 8th time

TRINIDAD and Tobago collected their eighth Caribbean Cup title when they beat Haiti 3-0 in the Copa Caribe football final at the Hasely Crawford Stadium last night.

Dale Saunders sent 8,000 home fans cheering with a 28th minute goal, before Brent Rahim and Arnold Dwarika struck in the second half to secure a remarkable sixth title in the last seven tournaments for Trinidad and Tobago.

T&T were hardly threatened by the Haitians, who failed to reproduce the dazzling form which saw them whip Martinique 5-0 in Tuesday’s semifinals.

Nottingham Forest striker Stern John made the first goal for T&T.

He took on the Haitian defence in an enterprising dribble and fired a shot which goalkeeper Géteau Ferdinand deflected, only for Saunders to tap in from close range.

Haiti, playing an uncharacteristically slow game, enjoyed a lot of ball possession but hardly pressured the unbeaten T&T.

Rahim deflated Haiti when he knocked in a long cross from Mickey Trotman on the right in the 67th minute to make it 2-0, and 10 minutes later, Saunders found Dwarika unmarked in the six-yard box and he slid the ball past Ferdinand to complete the win.

Trinidad and Tobago also claimed two individual awards, as lanky defender Dennis Lawrence was named tournament MVP, and Clayton Ince grabbed the Best Goalkeeper award.

Cuba, beaten 1-0 by Martinique in the third place play-off on Thursday night, took the Fair Play Trophy, and Haiti’s Golman Pierre got the Golden Boot Award as the top scorer with five goals.


(Trinidad & Tobago)—Clayton Ince, Dale Saunders, Marvin Andrews, Ansil Elcock, Dennis Lawrence, Reynold Carrington, Avery John, Arnold Dwarika (Gary Glasgow-82nd), Stern John (Nigel Pierre-73rd), Brent Rahim, Mickey Trotman (Lyndon Andrews-73rd).

(Haiti)—Géteau Ferdinand, Roosevelt Désir, Frantz Gilles, Michel Gabriel, Pierre Richard Bruny, Renel Mompremier (Clément Cléjust-51st), Chrismanor Telusma, Golman Pierre (Pierre Roland-80th), Peter Germain, Likenson Chéry, Jacques Pierre.

21.Clayton Ince
4.Marvin Andrews (capt.)
5.Reynold Carrington
13.Ansil Elcock
6.Avery John
7.Dennis Lawrence
9.Subbed outArnold Dwarika
 Subbed in 84' Gary Glasgow
17.Brent Rahim
3.Dale Saunders
14.Subbed outStern John
 Subbed in 79' Nigel Pierre
19.Subbed outMickey Trotman
 Subbed in 79' Lyndon Andrews
10.Lyndon Andrews
11.Gary Glasgow
18.Nigel Pierre
1.Michael McComie
16.Anton Pierre
12.Carlos Edwards
2.Trent Noel
 Ian Porterfield
79'Subbed outSubbed inNigel Pierre for Stern John
79'Subbed outSubbed inLyndon Andrews for Mickey Trotman
84'Subbed outSubbed inGary Glasgow for Arnold Dwarika