Sat, Jun
39 New Articles

ANDRE TOUSSAINT fired in three second-half goals to inspire VIBE CT 105 W Connection to a 7-0 romp over Tobago United for win number six in as many matches in the T&T Professional Football League’s Senior Division at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva yesterday.

Toussaint scored in the 56th, 81st (penalty) and 86th minutes to join clubmate Gefferson Goulart as the league’s top scorer with seven goals each.

St Lucian Earl Jean, the team’s captain added a pair of his own, in the fourth and 59th minutes while midfielder Brenton De Leon (51st minute) and Goulart (85th) were the other scorers for the “Savonetta Boys” who now have maximum 18 points.

The win also equalled the club’s best league start of 1999 —its first year as a professional club.

Caledonia AIA/Fire stayed second on the table with 10 points—thanks to a goal each from Devon Modeste, his third of the season, and Kevin Baptiste to beat United Petrotrin 2-0.

Champion side National Quarries North-East Stars revived its ambitions for a second straight title with a 2-1 win over struggling CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh on the Sangre Grande Recreation Ground in the day’s other match.

Anton Wolffe got both goals for “Stars “in the first-half, after Jabloteh defender Ansil Elcock had given his team the lead.

Yesterday’s PFL Senior Division results:

W Connection 7 (Andre Toussaint 56th, 81st pen. & 86th, Earl Jean 4th, 59th, Brenton De Leon 51st, Gefferson Goulart 85th) vs Tobago United 0.

North-East Stars 2 (Anton Wolffe) vs San Juan Jabloteh 1 (Ansil Elcock)

Caledonia AIA/Fire 2 (Devon Modeste, Kevin Baptiste) vs United Petrotrin 0.

PFL Senior Division leading scorers:

7 — Gefferson Goulart, Andre Toussaint (W Connection).

5 — Earl Jean (W Connection).

3 – Josh Johnson (San Juan Jabloteh), Kennedy Hinkson (United Petrotrin), Devon Modeste (Caledonia AIA/Fire), Anthony Wolffe (North-East Stars).

2 – Noel Williams (Tobago United), Ashford Legerton (Tobago United), Odelle Armstrong (Defence Force).

1 — Kayode Mc Kinnon, Jerren Nixon, Fabian Garcia — (North-East Stars); Dwayne Jack, Michael Bailey- (Tobago United), Angus Eve, Nigel Pierre, Kerry Noray, Ansil Elcock (San Juan Jabloteh), Kendall Davis, Brenton De Leon, David Atiba Charles, Dwight Scott, William Olliviera, Ronaldo Viana (W Connection), Willan Garcia, Larry Mc Donald (United Petrotrin), Titus Elva, Kevin Baptiste (Caledonia AIA/Fire).