Thu, Sep
38 New Articles


Trent Noel and Ijanar Mark were voted Most Valuable Players of CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh Sports Club, senior and under-20 football rspectively. Announcement of their awards was made at the club’s 13th annual ceremony at the Cascadia Hotel, St Ann’s, on Monday. Noel, the former Police midfielder, played an integral role in Jabloteh’s successful 2003 season while Mark proved his worth as one of the country’s leading youth strikers with 25 goals for the club during the past year.

Jabloteh proved their status as the leading club in the country, retaining the T&T Pro League title, as well as copping the First Citizens Cup, the Caribbean Club Championship and reaching the quarter-final stage of the CONCACAF Club Championships.

Delivering the feature address at the function was club chairman Jerry Hospedales who indicated that, as part of the organisation’s four-part plan to maintain their high standards off and on the field, the club will require efficient and effective management, increased financial resources, a professional infrastructure and a transitional role by the Government.

Hospedales noted that “in a lesser developed market such as ours, it is imperative that football organisations put in place the institutional arrangements that would be attractive to both public and private donors.”

“Accordingly,” he continued, “we are implementing a strategic vision and have instituted corporate-style financial controls to ensure that our expenditure can stand the scrutiny of the most rigid accounting and auditing standards and practices.” But he stressed that “central to our business model has been our mission to maintain our status as the premier sports club in the CONCACAF region.” During the function, tribute were also paid to former Jabloteh Under-20 striker Dwight ‘Splash’ Lewis, Board member Bunny Alexander and former national player and CLICO vice president Russell Tesheira.

Honour Roll:

Most Goals: Cornell Glenn - 26 (T&T Pro League); Ijanar Mark - 25 (Under-20); Hayden Jones - six (Under-17); Dennis Williams - 15 (Under-15); Kareem Moses (Under-13); Andrew Smith (Under-11).

Most Disciplined: Fabien Garcia (T&T Pro League); Devon Bristol (Under-20); Terryl Elwin (Under-17); Brenton Burke (Under-15); Anthony Sullivan (Under-13); Nkosi David (Under-11).

Most Improved: Kerry Baptiste (T&T Pro League); Karlon Murray (Under-20); Jonathan Romain (Under-17); Brian Gopaul (Under-15); Dwayne McLeod (Under-13); Savion Kirton (Under-11).

Most Valuable Player: Trent Noel (T&T Pro League); Ijanar Mark (Under-20); Hayden Jones (Under-17); Dennis Williams (Under-15); Keon Blackman (Under-13); Shaquille Forde (Under-11).