Fri, May
28 New Articles

VIBE CT W-Connection got a goal each from its three foreign imports to end a two-match losing streak in the T&T Professional Football League Senior Division at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva, yesterday.

Brazilians Ronaldo Viana and Gefferson Goulart and Earl Jean of St Lucia got strikes for the “Savonetta Boys” to cool off Caledonia AIA/Fire 3-0.

Viana opened the scoring in the eighth minute for his second of the season, while Jean, the team’s captain, doubled the lead in the 28th minute with his seventh of the campaign.

Goulart ended a three-match scoring drought by firing in his team’s third goal in the 76th minute, his eight of the year to complete the win.

W Connection’s eight league win from nine matches carried its point tally to 24 from nine matches, nine ahead of second placed Defence Force.

At Sangre Grande Recreation ground, the return of Jerren Nixon failed to spark champions National Quarries North East Stars, as they were held to a 1-1 draw by Defence Force.

Kayode Mc Kinnon handed Stars the lead in the 19th minute, only for Kwesi Smith to earn Defence Force a share of the points, three minutes later.

Nixon, last year’s league top scorer and “Most Valuable Player” award recipient, got his first taste of action for the season during the last 10 minutes of the match, but could not find a winner.

Over at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet, Kevin Hernandez denied Tobago United a first win this year with an 84th minute goal for United Petrotrin to draw 2-2.

Yesterday’s PFL Senior Division results:

W Connection 3 (Ronaldo Viana 8th, Earl Jean 28th, Gefferson Goulart 76th) vs Caledonia AIA/Fire 0.

North East Stars 1 (Kaydoe Mc Kinnon 19th) vs Defence Force 1 (Kwesi Smith 22nd).

Tobago United 2 (Marlon Laidlow 19th, Devon Edwards 71st) vs United Petrotrin 2 (Dave Charles o.g 45th, Kevin Hernandez 84th).

PFL’s Senior Division leading scorers:

8 — Josh Johnson (San Juan Jabloteh), Gefferson Goulart (W Connection).

7 — Earl Jean, Andre Toussaint (W Connection).

5 — Kerry Noray (San Juan Jabloteh), Devon Jorsling (Defence Force), Anton Wolfe (North East Stars).

3 — Kennedy Hinkson (United Petrotrin), Devon Modeste (Caledonia AIA/Fire), Odelle Armstrong (Defence Force), Ashford Legerton, Noel WIlliams (Tobago United), Kayode Mc Kinnon (North East Stars).

2 — Titus Elva (Caledonia AIA/Fire), Aurtis Whitley, Nigel Codrington (San Juan Jabloteh), Carrey Harris (North East Stars), Ronaldo Viana, Kendall Davis (W Connection), Kevon Carter (Defence Force), Dave Charles (Tobago United), Kevin Hernandez (United Petrotrin).

1 — Jerren Nixon, Fabian Garcia (North-East Stars); Dwayne Jack, Michael Bailey, Marlon Laidlow, Devon Edwards Ancil George (Tobago United), Angus Eve, Nigel Pierre, Nigel Daniel, Kerry Baptiste Ansil Elcock (San Juan Jabloteh), Brenton De Leon, David Atiba Charles, Dwight Scott, William Olliviera (W Connection), Willan Garcia, Brent Garcia, Larry Mc Donald (United Petrotrin), Handell Manswell, Densil Theobald, Abdullah Phillip, Kevin Baptiste, Stokely Mason (Caledonia AIA/Fire), Kwesi Smith, Anton Joseph, Ronald Boyce Dexter Pacheco, Jerwyn Balthazar (Defence Force).