Sat, Aug


In delivering the keynote address at the Eddie Hart League for Football Foundation's 41st prize distribution ceremony at the weekend, Justice Sebastian Ventour advised a balanced-blend audience of experience and  youth to have some moral codes on which they can anchor their lives on.

Speaking at the Tacarigua Community Centre, Bally Street, Tacarigua on Sunday, Justice Ventour told the large gathering  that discipline, devotion to cause, the believe in any aspect of life that you choose, and the devotion to duty are some of  the moral codes that should guide our lives.

"I think that these codes are especially important particularly at a time when so many boundaries are cross, and at a time when so many values are ignored by society," said Justice Ventour.

He added; "I see these principles as the forces that could help you young people to cope with the many crises in your day-to-day lives.''

Justice Ventour, who was also born in Tacarigua and who also had a stint in the league, also urged the youngsters to continue to "dream big" and to continue to think of excellence in all spheres of their lives "and you should not wait for the year 2020 to start to excel".

When it was time for the presentation of awards, following the official part of the evening's agenda, Valtrin United took home the lion's share of $20,000 and a trophy for winning the Premier Division in 2006. Paradise FC finished runners-up for the second consecutive season, while Parliament FC and Arouca United occupied third and fourth place, respectively.

Parliament FC-the only club to have won the league title three years straight (2001, 2002 and 2003)-retained their Knockout (KO) trophy and at the same time earned themselves $7,000 and 20 gold medals.

Dethroned league champions, Dread Fire, formerly House of Dread and champs in 2004 and 2005, had to settle for a second spot in the KO competition.

The Tunapuna-based squad, Dread Fire, were seeking to emulate Parliament's league achievement of winning the prestigious silverware for a third time in a row.

Other team prizes on the night went to Semi-Pro, who captured the Under-15 league category; La Horquetta XF topped the under -13 Division; while the under-17 crown went the way of Arkadians FC.

Knockout winners in the under-15, 13 and 17 categories were SKHGY Football Academy, RSSR Football Academy and Arkadians FC in that order.

Among the many individual accolades distributed on Sunday night was one to Dwight Crichlow, who secured the highly-rated Player of the Year award. The speedy forward was very instrumental in Valtrin's title triumphant 2006 campaign. Moreso in the final, where he netted a hat-trick to help his club registered a spirited come-from-behind 4-3 success over Paradise FC.

Top marksman rites of the 2006 campaign went to the nippy and deft Anton Maund of St Joseph Dreads. Maund notched 17 goals, which were almost 75 per cent of this team's overall goal count for the season.

Aaron Gordon of La Horquetta XF was voted the Most Valuable Player (MVP) among the Under-13s, while Avery Gabralis of Semi-Pro and Kendell Campbell of Arkadians were the MVPs in the under-15 and under-17 divisions, respectively.

The Women's award list of 2006 shows that Vandykes FC won both the league and KO titles, while Joe Public FC played bridesmaid twice to their more dominant Vandykes ladies.

Champions Vandykes' name also appeared on the honour roll on Sunday via Avenelle Isaac, who was voted Female Player of the Year, while Shenelle Warrick of Joe Public FC were winners of the Golden Boot award in the women's division.

Also receiving individual awards were: Frank Nanton--Best Goalkeeper, Samuel Attzs-Best Defender, and Marvin Oliver-Best Midfielder.

The 2006 Coach of the Year went to the hard-working Anthony "Dada" Wickham of Trendsetter Hawks.