Sun, Sep


Team captain Teba McKnight extended his goal-scoring spree to eight goals for the season when he bagged a double in the unbeaten Club Sando’s 4-0 blowout of rock-bottom FC Santa Rosa in blink/bmobile National Super League action at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva, last evening.

Without a win for the season, FC Santa Rosa held the joint-league leader to a 0-0 half time score, and even up to 75 minutes, the match remained without a goal, before McKnight and fellow in-form attacker Andy London scored a brace to give Club Sando, seemingly a legitimate title contender, its seventh win in eight matches, with one draw in between. 

The loss kept Santa Rosa rooted to the bottom of the standings with a single point, one point behind Defence Force, which also suffered yet another defeat in a win-less campaign thus far. Despite a late surge, the Teteron Boys were handed a 4-3 defeat by Tobago’s 1976 FC Phoenix. That fixture featured two hat-tricks, one scored by Dominic Kerr for the winning club, while Christopher Durity got the other three goals for Defence Force.

Defending league champion WASA FC was set to clash with visiting Tobago club Stokely Vale, but the match failed to kick off due to a clash in kit colours. Stokely Vale reportedly failed to appear with a second strip which resulted in the referee calling the match off. Westside Superstarz was on a bye for the weekend.

Results [Sunday]

Malabar 5 v Joe Public 3

WASA FC v Stokely Vale - Did Not Play

1976 FC Phoenix 4 (Dominic Kerr 15th, 23rd, 77th) v Defence Force 3 (Christopher Durity 67th, 74th, 90th)

Club Sando 4 (Teba McKnight 75th, 89th, Andy London 78th, 87th) v FC Santa Rosa 0

Bethel United 1 (Claude Brusco 38th) v Real Maracas 0

Westside Superstarz - Bye

Club Sando, Guaya remain atop Super League.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Club Sando and Guaya United both remained in their respective positions in first and second, separated by goal-difference in the blink/bmobile National Super League after both teams completed 4-0 victories at the end of Match Day Eight on Sunday.

Two players, Teba Mcknight, who currently leads the goal-scoring charts with eight goals, and teammate Andy London, scored a double each for Club Sando in its win over a rock-bottom and winless FC Santa Rosa. With the win, Club Sando remained atop the 13-team standings with 22 points, with seven wins and one draw with no losses, and a goal-difference of 16.

Guaya, which won by the same margin against fourth-from-bottom Siparia Spurs, had four different players find the back of the net in Jody Allsop, Kevin Jagdeosingh, Earlon Thomas and its leading scorer and captain Ryan Stewart.

In other matches, Joe Public FC, the treble winner of 2011, which started the season poorly and regained momentum with a series of wins in recent weeks, once again slumped to defeat when it was handed a 5-2 thrashing by recently promoted Malabar FC. Stevon Stoute bagged a brace for Malabar, while Gorian Highley and Cyrano Glen scored one each.

The defending champion, WASA FC, finally found a win. After seven matches without victory, the Waterboys were set to host Stokely Vale on Sunday evening, but the latter club which made the trip from Tobago suffered a default 3-0 loss after traveling with one set of uniforms, which clashed with WASA FC’s kits, according to officials. Westside Superstarz was on a bye for the weekend.

Sunday’s Results

Malabar FC 5 (Gorian Highley 6th, Stevon Stoute 18th, 85th, Kevon Cornwall 46th, Cyrano Glen 83rd) v Joe Public FC 2 (Jamel Lewis 29th, Kevern DeBellott 52nd)

WASA FC v Stokely Vale - WASA FC - won 3-0 by default

1976 FC Phoenix 4 (Dominique Kerr 15th, 23rd, 77th, Dwayne Jack 73rd) v Defence Force 3 (Christopher Durity 37th, 74th, 90th)

Club Sando 4 (Teba McKnight 25th, 89th, Andy London 78th, 87th) v FC Santa Rosa 0

Real Maracas 1 (Claude Brusco 38th) v Bethel United 0

Guaya United 4 (Jody Allsop 56th, Kevin Jagdeosingh 72nd, Earlon Thomas 81st, Ryan Stewart 82nd) v Siparia Spurs 0


Teams P W D L F A Pts
Club Sando 8 7 1 0 22 6 22
Guaya Utd 8 7 1 0 22 8 22
Malabar FC 8 4 3 1 25 17 15
Westside 7 4 0 3 16 9 12
Joe Public 7 3 2 2 13 9 11
Real Maracas 6 3 1 2 10 8 10
Stokely Vale 8 3 0 5 15 18 9
WASA FC 8 1 2 4 16 20 5
Siparia Spurs 7 1 2 4 16 20 5
Bethel Utd 7 1 2 4 8 20 5
Def Force 7 0 2 5 9 26 2
FC Santa Rosa 7 0 1 6 5 22 1