Wed, Aug

Point Fortin wins U-14 division in National Youth League.

Point Fortin Civic, which played unbeaten through the Central Zone, went all the way on Saturday to cop the Under-14 title in the Republic Bank National Youth League, after edging Jabloteh on penalty kicks following a 1-1 draw in the final.

In an action packed day of football at Casual Corner, Queen’s Park Savannah, Port-of-Spain, three clubs emerged as champions, with BLAST FC and Trendsetter Hawks winning the finals in the U-12 and U-10 divisions, respectively. All teams played in an 11-a-side format.

Trendsetter Hawks nearly made it a double, but for its U-12 team’s narrow 1-0 loss to BLAST. Jerry Morris scored the lone goal in the final. Jabloteh took third place following a 4-1 win over Santa Rosa in the playoff.

In the U-10 final, Trendsetter Hawks came from a goal down to defeat Cap Off Youths 2-1. Tyreke Harding opened for Cap Off Youths within five minutes of the start, but two minutes later Jaheim Marshall levelled the scoring for the Hawks, which then sealed the winning goal in the 22nd minute through Abdul Hypolite.

In the U-14 final, Point Fortin was able to secure a second straight win from the spot kicks after the club edged Tobago’s 1976 FC Phoenix by the same 1-1 scoreline in the semifinal. Ezekiel Kesar gave Point Fortin a sixth minute lead, but Kishawn St Rose scored for Jabloteh to send the match to penalties, which the South-based club took by a 4-3 scoreline.

The nationwide competition began over a month ago, with 60 teams participating in the new-look 11-a-side tournament.


Under-14 Final

Point Fortin Civic 1 (Ezekiel Kesar 6th) v Jabloteh 1 (Kishawn St Rose 41st)
Point Fortin Civic won 4-3 on penalty kicks

Third place playoff

Marabella Family CC 4 (Nikel Rawlins 3rd, Shoaib Khan 13th, 28th, Andre Khan 48th) v 1976 FC Phoenix 0

Under-12 Final

BLAST 1 (Jerry Morris 27th) v Trendsetter Hawks 0

Third place playoff

Jabloteh 4 (Josiah Sydney 7th, Isiah Raymond 21st, Jaedan Miller 34th) v Santa Rosa 1 (Jayshawn Thomas 12th)

Under-10 Final

Trendsetter Hawks 2 (Jaheim Marshall 6th, Abdul Quddoas Hypolite 22nd) v Cap Off Youths 1 (Tyreke Harding 4th)

Third place playoff

SKHY 1 (Daylon Riley 17th) v St Clair Coaching School 1 (Samuel Richards 30th)
SKHY won 5-4 on penalty kicks.