Tue, Aug


As expected Play Whe San Juan Jabloteh dominated the major accolades when the T&T Pro League held its Flow Youth Pro League awards for the recently concluded season at the VIP Lounge, Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, yesterday.

Winners of all three divisional league titles, the Under-14, U-16 and U-18 age-groups, Jabloteh coaches Anthony “Dada” Wickham (U-14), David “Hog Head” Quamina (U-16), and Gilbert Bateau (U-18) were voted as “Coach of the Year” in their categories as well.

To top if off, Jabloteh’s Josiah Trimmingham, captured both the “Most Outstanding Midfielder” and “Most Valuable Player” awards in the U-18 Division while team-mate Vaughn Charles took home the “Most Outstanding Goalkeeper” award.   

Chief Executive Officer of the T&T Pro League, Dexter Skeene first stated that the staging of the awards function was a special event made even more so by the fact that for the first time in its short history, Flow was the sponsor of the Youth League and for three years.

“We live in a society where taking things for granted is a national pastime. Let us not take for granted the deed and action of Flow. A lot of time people choose to support the sport properties with the most bells and whistles, the properties which include senior athletes and have the most appeal.

“I am pleased to state that Flow understands that youth leagues like this one are critical in development process if we are to produce players who are capable of performing creditably at international level.

“They (Flow) understand that it is important from a tender age to place them in an environment which is intended to mimic that which they will encounter at senior level, with a similar infrastructure and outfitted with the personnel who have the qualifications, knowledge, and experience to hone their skills, and guide them in the right direction.

During her time at the podium, Flow Marketing Director, Cindy Ann Gatt first noted that as sponsors it was heart-warming on her company’s behalf to see the impact of the investment come to fruition so quickly.

She said, “In T&T we know that sport lovers particularly love cricket and football, and seeing young people fall deeply in love with their sporting passion has been very rewarding.”

Gatt also took the opportunity to congratulate all the players at each level of the league, and added, “I want to tell you that even though your teams may not have landed at the top of the table, there is always room for another chance.

Gatt said one of the best parts of Flow’s partnership with the league is the fact that it is supporting publicity of the league in order to raise awareness and keep the public in the know about the successes of the players and the teams.

“We’re happy to do our part to raise the visibility of the game because we know the more we talk about the great work that’s happening here, the success of the young people and the teams, more people will be motivated to support.”

Honour Roll:

U-14 Division:

Coach of the Year: Anthony “Dada” Wickham (San Juan Jabloteh)
Most Outstanding Goalkeeper: Rashard Hart (Club Sando)
Most Outstanding Defender: Jabari Lee (W Connection)
Most Outstanding Midfielder: Trent Weekes (Morvant/Caledonia Utd)
Most Outstanding Forward: Justin Arajuo-Wilson (Defence Force)
Leading Goalscorer: Justin Arajuo-Wilson (Defence Force) – 26 goals
Most Valuable Player: Justin Arajuo-Wilson (Defence Force)
League: 1. San Juan Jabloteh; 2. Morvant/Caledonia United; 3. W Connection FC.

U-16 Division:

Coach of the Year: David “Hog Head” Quamina (San Juan Jabloteh)
Most Outstanding Goalkeeper: (Israel Corraspe award) : Raheem Lee (Club Sando)
Most Outstanding Defender: Tyrike Andrews (W Connection)
Most Outstanding Midfielder: Che Benny (St Ann’s Rangers)
Most Outstanding Forward: Dwight Yorke (Morvant/Caledonia United)
Leading Goalscorer: Keyon Boney (North East Stars) – 17 goals
Most Valuable Player: Keyon Boney (North East Stars) -
League: 1. San Juan Jabloteh; 2. Morvant/Caledonia United 3. North East Stars.
U-18 Division:

Coach of the Year: Gilbert Bateau (San Juan Jabloteh)
Most Outstanding Goalkeeper: Vaughn Charles (San Juan Jabloteh)
Most Outstanding Defender: Josiah Trimmingham (San Juan Jabloteh)
Most Outstanding Midfielder: Justin Sadoo (Pt Fortin Civic)
Most Outstanding Forward: Junior Asson (Club Sando)
Leading Goalscorer: Kevaughn John (Defence Force) – 14 goals
Most Valuable Player: Josiah Trimmingham (San Juan Jabloteh)
League: 1. San Juan Jabloteh; 2. Central FC; 3. Defence Force
Special Awards:

Youth Match Commissioner of the Year: Lisia Lewis
Team Administrator of the Year: Selvon Francis (Pt Fortin Civic)
Outstanding Media Coverage (Print): Nigel Simon (Guardian Media Ltd)
Appreciation awards: Frank Branker, Gordon Pierre
Outstanding Contribution to Youth Football: Gerald Elliot, Richard Fakoory, Oswald “Danny” Davis, Azaad Mohammed-Khan