Tue, Aug
Match Report
Honduras Trinidad & Tobago
Honduras T&T flag

Concacaf Gold Cup Qualifier
2003-04-25Stade Riviére-PiloteFort-de-France, Martinique0

Honduras beat T&T 2-0 in Gold Cup play-off

THE Trinidad and Tobago national football team will not take part in the CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament for the first time in a decade after being eliminated from the Playoffs on Friday night in Martinique.The “Soca Warriors” needed a win against Honduras to have a mathematical chance of qualifying, but fell 2-0 to the Central American outfit at the Stade Riviére-Pilote, Fort-de-France.

Honduras and tournament hosts, Martinique—who edged T&T 3-2 on Wednesday—will advance to the July Gold Cup finals, co-hosted by Mexico and the United States, whatever the outcome of their meeting from 7 p.m. today in the final group encounter.

They join Caribbean teams Jamaica and Cuba, as well as Canada, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala and guests Brazil and Colombia.

Only a win could have booked the Warriors a spot after finishing second to Cuba in their qualifying group in Trinidad last month.

Then T&T Football Federation (T&TFF) technical director Hannibal Najjar resigned after failing to grab a Gold Cup start, but his replacement, interim coach Zoran Vranes, could not lift them from their slump as they lost 3-2 in his first game in charge against Martinique.

Trinidad and Tobago were leading 2-0 at the interval but bowed to a strong finish from the Frenchmen.

And they fell behind after just six minutes on Friday night to Wilmer Velasquez, and Francisco Ramirez sealed the win for the “Catrachos” with a late strike.

The Warriors returned home yesterday evening and travel to Venezuela tomorrow for a warm-up match against their South American neighbours on Wednesday.

Veteran defender Ansil Elcock will concede his place in the team for a younger player, while Arnold Dwarika, Travis Mulraine and Nigel Pierre, as well as goalkeepers Kelvin Jack and Mikhel Peters, were also excluded from the touring party.

Sean Julien (South Starworld Strikers), Kerry Noray, Kerry Baptiste, Ian Gray (all CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh), Conrad Smith (Caledonia AIA), Peter Ramon Fortune (Arima Fire) and Kevin Grayham (Joe Public) will join the squad.

The surviving players from the Martinique tournament are Brent Sancho, Cyd Gray, Nigel Daniel, Trent Noel, Cornell Glen (Jabloteh), Keyeno Thomas (Joe Public), Reynold Carrington, Silvio Spann (Vibe CT 105 W Connection), Anton Pierre (Defence Force), Jason Scotland (Defence Force) and Brent Rahim (Northampton Town).

20.Kelvin Jack
3.Reynold Carrington (capt.)
13.Ansil Elcock
7.Cyd Gray Yellow Card 36 '
5.Brent Sancho
2.Subbed outKeyeno Thomas
 Subbed in 68' Brent Rahim
9.Arnold Dwarika
16.Trent Noel Yellow Card 61 '
15.Subbed outSilvio Spann Yellow Card 10 '
 Subbed in 54' Travis Mulraine
11.Cornell Glen
10.Subbed outJason Scotland
 Subbed in 54' Nigel Pierre
8.Travis Mulraine Yellow Card 63 '
14.Brent Rahim
19.Nigel Pierre
 Michel Peters
17.Nigel Daniel
 Zoran Vranes
54'Subbed outSubbed inTravis Mulraine for Silvio Spann
54'Subbed outSubbed inNigel Pierre for Jason Scotland
68'Subbed outSubbed inBrent Rahim for Keyeno Thomas
10'Yellow CardSilvio Spann
36'Yellow CardCyd Gray
61'Yellow CardTrent Noel
63'Yellow CardTravis Mulraine