Sun, Jul

T&T Senior Men square off with Ecuador.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior men’s Team will be looking to pull off a positive display and result when they square of with Ecuador in their first ever meeting between the two teams at international level in Wednesday night’s friendly at the Estadio Pacifico Banco in Guayaquil, Ecuador. Kick off time is 8:30pm TT time.

The T&T team arrived in Guayaquil on Monday night and was scheduled to have a training session at the match venue on Tuesday night.

Head Coach Dennis Lawrence will have a 20-man squad for the encounter as Mexican-based winger Jomal Williams obtained his Mexican work visa and has been released by the Murcielagos club for the match. The player is scheduled to join the camp in Guayaquil today.

“We will go into this game with a positive mindset and obviously looking to execute our game plan,” Lawrence said. “It’s a good test for us and again in international football there are no easy games. But this is all part of our preparations for the two World Cup qualifiers in September.”

Jabloteh winger Nathan Lewis is anticipating a strong test from the South American outfit which will comprise of several of their domestic players.

“It’s going to be a very strong test for us because every team in South America tends to play good, attacking football and that is why we are here, to get the best possible test on the day,” Lewis told TTFA Media. “We know that the bigger focus is the Honduras match but this match will give us a good chance to put our thoughts and our efforts together to get things right in time for September,” he added.

Goalkeeper Marvin Phillip is among the more experienced players in the T&T line up which includes Lewis, Hashim Arcia, Hughtun Hector, Curtis Gonzales, Leston Paul and Triston Hodge who were in the squad for the past two World Cup qualifiers against Costa Rica and the United States. India-based due Carlyle Mitchell and Willis Plaza are back in the mix while newcomers Nicholas Benjamin Jr and Keron Clarke will be hoping to force their way into action on Wednesday night.

“We have some new faces in the squad but all very capable of showing up with solid performances. The coach has selected a team based on what he is looking for, to add to the squad for the qualifiers in September. The preparations have gone well over the past week and I expect we will see a good brand of football and tidy performance from the team against what I expect to be a proper opponent on the night,” Phillip said.

Ecuador have qualified for three FIFA World Cups in 2002, 2006 and 2014. Their best performance came in 2006 when they advanced to the Round of 16, eventually eliminated by England. Ecuador defeated El Salvador 3-0 in their most recent friendly in June and will be away to Brazil in a World Cup qualifier on August 31st.

Trinidad & Tobago 20-Man Squad


Andre Marchan (Defence Force), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic Centre).


Maurice Ford (W Connection), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Triston Hodge (W Connection), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Carlyle Mitchell (East Bengal FC—India), Kevon Villaroel (North East Stars).


Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Sean De Silva (Central FC), Nathaniel Garcia (Central FC), Leston Paul (North East Stars), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Jared London (Club Sando), Tyrone Charles (Club Sando), Jomal Williams (Murcielagos FC—Mexico).


Willis Plaza (East Bengal FC—India), Neil Benjamin Jr. (W Connection), Keron Clarke (FC Santa Rosa).

Coach - Dennis Lawrence.

Ecuador Squad


Máximo Banguera (Barcelona S.C.), Esteban Dreer (Emelec), Hamilton Piedra (Deportivo Cuenca).


Darío Aimar (Barcelona S.C.), Luis Cangá (LDU Quito), Christian Cruz (River Ecuador), Fernando León (Independiente), John Narváez (LDU Quito), Luis Segovia (EL Nacional), Pedro Velasco (Barcelona S.C.).


Luis Ayala (Independiente del Valle), Romario Caicedo (C.S. Emelec), Fernando Gaibor (C.S. Emelec), Pedro Quiñónez (C.S. Emelec), José Cevallos (LDU Quito), Gabriel Cortez (Independiente del Valle), Matías Oyola (Barcelona S.C.), Ayrton Preciado (C.S. Emelec), Jordan Sierra (Delfín S.C.).


Juan Anangonó (LDU Quito), Erick Castillo (Barcelona S.C.), Jacob Murillo (Delfín S.C.), Jonathan González (LDU Quito).

Coach - Gustavo Quinteros.