Sidebar

Thu, Mar

Typography
AURTIS WHITLEY sizzles, not only on the field but also in the kitchen. T&T already knows what he is capable of doing with a football, helping the Soca Warriors book a spot in the 2006 World Cup finals in Germany.

But do you know the 28-year-old midfielder could give the top chefs in the country a run for their money?

The five-feet eight-inches national player has professed that he can do anything with chicken—stew, bake, barbecue—you name it, he can do it.

And who is responsible for this ability? You guessed it, his mother Cheryl Ann.

“I cook very good. My mother made sure I learned,” said a smiling Whitley, sitting under a shed outside of Mellow Moods bar, a favourite liming spot for the national footballer, in San Juan, on Thursday morning.

Apart from being his teacher, his mother is also one of his biggest supporters.

His father Clyde Seaton, Kwasi “Hopsy” Antoine, a counsellor at Malick Senior Comprehensive School, Whitley’s alma mater, and Carlon Harewood, a pannist in the national steel orchestra, are also at the top of his list of supporters.

“They have brought me where I am today, encouraging me and guiding me along the way,” said Whitley.

“Not many people know, but Carlon loves football. In fact he knows more about football than me.”

If you are a true Whitley fan you would know that he is also known as Aurtis Seaton.

No he is not “wanted”!

He uses Whitley now for official reasons.

“I used Seaton before, but Whitley is on my passport and in order to travel, I have to use Whitley,” said the San Juan native.

Whitley doesn’t remember the exact age he began playing football, but what he is certain of is that his uncle Russell Seaton, who now lives in Miami, was the person who got him into the sport.

And from there, as the saying goes, it was history.

Whitley, the oldest of four children—sister Tricia and brothers Marvin and Kenroy, played at Barataria RC, Barataria Junior Secondary, Malick and currently with San Juan Jabloteh.

He has been with the two-time T&T Professional Football League champion for the past ten years, starting his professional career the same year, the first of his three children was born, daughter Scheryl.

Two years later he was blessed with son Jasiah and his other son Tyreel was born two years ago.

He spends his free time either with his three special people: Scheryl, Jasiah and Tyreel, chilling at Mellow Moods, or going to the beach.

“I love to go to the beach. It is a good way to relax my muscles and recuperate. Going to the beach was especially useful during the World Cup campaign. Since we have been back I have been to the beach four times already,” said a grinning Whitley.

However, his talent was not only limited to football, Whitley also played basketball.

His athleticism and agility made him a great guard, representing Malick Senior Comprehensive in the Secondary Schools League and he was also part of the Malick Eagles team that competed in the North Zone Basketball League.

The lover of rap music admits that Zinedine Zidane is his favourite footballer.

“He is one of the greatest midfielders in the world, he is composed and I want to bring myself to his standards,” said Whitley.

Though he has mastered most of everything to which he has put his hand or foot, Whitley has one weakness: curry crab and dumplings.

Whitley, who wishes one day to play for Real Madrid in his international career, has yet to learn how to prepare the meal.

“My goal is to reach as far as possible in the football world. I know I have the potential. I am ready to accept what God has in store for me and I know sooner or later I will learn how to make curry crab,” said Whitley laughingly.