Wed, Oct

Veteran midfielder Angus Eve has resumed training after a two-week break and has been selected on an 18-man Trinidad and Tobago team to face British Virgin Islands in the second round preliminary encounter of the Digicel Caribbean Cup on Sunday.

The team which trained under assistant coaches Ron La Forest and David Nakhid while Bertille St Clair was in England, will depart for BVI on Friday. The return game is scheduled for December 19.

Also back in the team is W Connection midfielder Silvio Spann who joins the rest of the team that took part in the recent Digicel Cup encounters.

China-based midfielder Gary Glasgow is also back to full fitness and trained for the first time since his shin injury against Guatemala. But he will not make the trip to the BVI. “At the moment I’m fit for action and it was good to be back out in a full session again. But mentally I think I will need a few more sessions before I can actually take the field for a game,” Glasgow said on Tuesday.

La Forest said the team is in as good a shape as can be going into Sunday’s match.

“Today we had a wonderful session. The guys are very upbeat and have been giving their all in the sessions because everyone is keen to make a good impression and that’s always a joy for any coach to see,” La Forest told TTFF Media.

Also training with the team was midfielder Lyndon Andrews, Canadian-based Robin Hart and San Juan Jabloteh wingers Josh Johnson and Nigel Daniel. Marlon Rojas also returned to training having recovered from an ankle injury.

The team traveling to BVI also includes prolific goalscorer Cornell Glen of MLS side New York/New Jersey MetroStars, Avery John of New England Revolution and Leslie Fitzpatrick of A-League side Atlanta Silverbacks.

The Full Team:

Daurance Williams (San Juan Jabloteh), Jan Michael Williams (W Connection).

Avery John (New England Revolution), Anton Pierre (Defence Force), Atiba Charles (W Connection), Derek King (Joe Public), Keyeno Thomas (San Juan Jabloteh), Stephen Cruikshank (unattached).

Angus Eve (San Juan Jabloteh), Conrad Smith (Arima Morvant Fire), Denzil Theobald (Arima Morvant Fire), Kerry Baptiste (San Juan Jabloteh), Kerwyn Jemmott (unattached), Leslie Fitzpatrick (Atlanta Silverbacks), Michael Celestine (San Juan Jabloteh), Silvio Spann (W Connection).

Cornell Glen (MetroStars), Nigel Pierre (San Juan Jabloteh).