Sat, Jan


Trinidad and Tobago have been invited to participate in the St Kitts/ Nevis annual Sugarbowl four- nation tournament there from July 25-28.

T&T, which will have a mixture of Under 23 and senior players in the squad will get the chance to line up against guest team Republic of China, Barbados and the host nation.

The tournament is in its fifth year and General Secretary of the St Kitts/Nevis Association, Peter Jenkins sees it as a rehearsal for the Caribbean teams ahead of the Gold Cup qualifying tournament later this year.

"This is the only other tournament outside of Copa Caribe and we will be using it as a means to expose our teams with different styles from around the word as we have done in the past tournaments. This year will give us a good chance to judge where we are at going into the Gold Cup qualifiers," said Jenkins.
T&T, under coach Clayton Morris will start training on Tuesday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium from 2pm.

Dating back to 1997, English clubs Oldham Athletic won the inaugural tournament, then the Canadian Olympic team in 1999 and St Kitts won last year. Other participants in the tournament over the years include Jamaica, Martinique and English club Bradford City.

Among the twenty eight players called is former Scottish-based midfielder Lyndon "Chubby" Andrews, recently out of Hibernian.

The rest of the team includes.

Kelvin Jack, Durance Williams, Marvin Phillip, Ronald Primus, Michael Celestine, Nigel Daniel Josh Johnson, Collin Samuel, Devon Mitchell - CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh.

Anton Pierre, Marlon Pierre, Cory Rivers, Kwesi Smith - Defence Force.

Keyeno Thomas, Dale Saunders, Adrian Narine, Andre Toussaint - Joe Public.

Conrad Smith, Denzil Theobald - Caledonia AIA.

Dean Logan, Antonio Noreiga - Princes Town SC.

Kendell Davis, Kevon Clement, Lyndon Diaz, Teba McKnight - W Connection.

Elliot James, Kenwyne Jones.

Meanwhile, the T&T Under 20 team is also in training and had a session on Thursday at the HC Stadium, preparing for the upcoming Caribbean Zone World Qualifying series. T&T's Group includes Barbados, Surinam and Netherlands Antilles. The games will be played on July 17, 19, 21 with the winner of the group advancing to the final stage of the Caribbean Zone.

The T&T Senior Women's team is also in training under coach Jamal Shabaaz as they get ready for their opening World Cup qualifying encounters against Dominica on July 4 at the Dr Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence, Macoya and on July 6 at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium.

The Men's Under 20 team includes

Marvin Phillip, Lee Haynes, Durance Williams, Anthony Thompson, Jerol Forbes, Wendell Joseph - CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh.

Kevin Graham, Terrance McAllister, Ochieng Abosi, Jamal Hamid, Sterling O'Brien - Joe Public.

Anton Joseph, Devon Jorsling - Defence Force.

Devon Bristol, Devon Leacock, Kerron Phillip, Kenyon Manswell, Roderick Anthony, Akeil Pierre - W Connection).

Jase Villain - St Mary's College.

Zambo Swift - Caledonia AIA.

Seon Power - Memphis.

Clyde Leon, Andre Pacheco - Arima Fire.

Cyronne Edwards - Queen's Royal College.

Kenwyne Jones.