Fri, Dec


According to the Coach of Guyana’s 1970 National Football team former West Indies and National player George Green, the Sedley Joseph led 1964 Trinidad & Tobago National Football Team that humbled the then British Guiana 4-0 in a 5-match International series was easily stronger than the 1970 team that drew the two match series against the Ken Gibbs led squad.

Trinidad and Tobago deplaned at the Atkinson Airbase with three members of the 1959 West Indies Football team that toured the United Kingdom – Doyle Griffith, Ronnie Grey and Tyrone De La Bastide – they also had goalkeeper Lincoln Phillips, wingers Richard Nieves and Andy Aleong, Kelvin Berrassa and Christian (Bugs) Mendes.

British Guiana led by West Indies player Hubert (Senior) Braithwaite lost the series opener 2-1, Andy Aleong and Ronnie Grey were the goalscorers for the Trinidadians, while Ingram Layne scored British Guiana’s consolation goal.

In the second match the visitors led by a Helmet-trick from winger Andy Aleong destroyed British Guiana 6-1, Patrick Briton scoring the consolation goal for the B.G Boys.

The visitors wrapped up the series with a 4-1 victory in the third match, Richard Nieves led the assault with a double while Christian Bugs Mendes and Ronnie Grey scored a goal each. Edmond (Screw) Richmond scored the only British Guiana goal.

Displaying a vastly improved all round performance, British Guiana drew the fourth match 1-1 with the elusive Andy Aleong again scoring for Trinidad while Patsy Peters appearing in the forward line rather than defence scored for British Guiana.

Thanks to a startling and costly error by Referee Stanley Moore nine minutes after half time British Guiana lost the 5th and final match 2-1.

The series was contested at the World Famous GCC Ground, Bourda.

The 1964 Trinidad & Tobago National Football team: Sedley Joseph (Captain), Jerry Brown, Richard Nieves, Ronnie Grey, Tyrone De La Bastide, Lincoln Phillips (Goalkeeper), Mervyn Joseph (Goalkeeper), Kelvin Berassa, Henry Quanvie, Andy Aleong, Christian Mendes, Hilton Watts, Aldwin Ferguson, Fred Rodrigues, Doyle Griffith, Son Baptiste, Arthur Brown, Eric James (Manager) and Geoff Chambers (Coach).

The British Guiana team for 1964 opening match:
Hubert Braithwaite (Captain), Bridette Marshall (Goalkeeper), George Niles, Patsy Peters (deceased), Monty Hope (deceased), George Greene, Ingram Layne, Ovid Henry, Alvin Braithwaite, Cosmo Layne, Frankie Forde, Amigo Dyal, Edmond Richmond (deceased), Patrick Britton, Winston DeHaarte (Goalkeeper), Bobby Fernandes, Maurice Moore, and Colin Nurse.

George Green had the privilege of playing against the 1964 touring Trinidadians and coaching the 1970 squad that drew the series against Ken Gibbs men.