Wed, Jun


Kaydeen Jack netted a double to guide Diego Martin Central to a hard-fought 3-2 victory over Tranquility in the final match of the North Zone of the Shell/First Citizens Secondary Schoolgirls Football League, in Port-of-Spain on Thursday evening.

Alizza McCulcheon scored the other item for the Diego Martin, to finish the only unbeaten team and claimed the zonal title with 22 points, registering seven wins and a draw.

Shaneen Phillip stepped up to hit a pair of goals herself but her team remained on the losing end when time expired. Her team placed third in the standings after Bishop’s edged ahead of them by a point after picking up three points by default when St Francois Girls forfeited the other match in the zone.

Bishop’s made an impressive comeback late in the season to place second with 16 points - five wins, two losses and a draw - compared to Tranquility’s five wins and three losses for a total of 15 points.

Over in the East Zone, which still has matches outstanding, St Augustine came away with a 2-1 win over St George’s College and San Juan North was held to a goalless draw with Bishop’s Anstey.

Both San Fernando East and Pleasantville Secondary claimed easy points as well after Point Fortin East and St Joseph Convent, forfeited their respective matches. 

It was a similar situation in Tobago as leader Signal Hill kept a clean slate to complete the second round and claim the zonal title, without even taking the field as Pentecostal Light and Life forfeited. Signal Hill ended with full 30 points from 10 wins this season.

Mason Hall stayed on for the runners-up position, overpowering Speyside High, 9-1, thanks to four goals from the reliable Celene Lorraine and two from Crystal Toney. Shekila McGilvery, Luvorn Robinson, Curisia Campbell netted a goal each for the winner. Shivern McKenzie scored the lone item for Speyside.

The other match between Scarborough and Bishop’s Anstey ended tied at one.

Tobago Results

Signal Hill 3 vs Pentecostal Light and Life 0. (Signal Hill won by default).

Mason Hall 9 (Celene Lorraine 4, Crystal Toney 2, Shekila McGilvery, Luvorn Robinson, Curisia Campbell) vs Speyside 1 (Shivern McKenzie).

Scarborough 1 (Chinyere Nimblett ) vs Bishop’s Anstey 1 (Darianne Henry).


San Fernando East 3 vs Point Fortin East 0. (San Fernando East won by default)

Pleasantville 3 vs St Joseph Convent 0. (Pleasantville won by default)


Diego Martin 3 (Kaydeen Jack 2, Alizza McCulcheon) vs Tranquility 2 (Shaneen Phillip 2).

Bishop’s 3 vs St Francois 0. (Bishop’s won by default)


St George’s College 1 vs St Augustine 2

San Juan North 0 vs Bishop’s Anstey 0