Sun, May


And then there were five. The Shell/First Citizens Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) Championship Division Big Five will kick off tomorrow.

The competition will not only crown the overall national league champions in the Championship but, more crucially, will determine who will be promoted to the Premier Division next year.

Winners from the five zones, including Speyside High, Princes Town West Secondary, Trinity College East, Carapichaima East Secondary and Malick Secondary will all battle for promotion with the top three teams making the big move in the end.

Speyside who were rampant in this year’s Championship over in the sister isle, will open against the South Zone winners, Princes Town, while Trinity East host Carapichaima in Trincity in what should be an interesting clash.

The five-team round robin competition will finish in roughly a fortnight’s time on Sunday November 6. Today will feature the girls’ equivalent of the competition, as the Big Four competition kicks off to determine the overall league champions.

Diego Martin Secondary face Signal Hill in the first semi-final at the St Joseph’s Convent POS ground in Federation Park, while east giants St Augustine Secondary tackle last year’s Girls Coca-Cola InterCol winners Fyzabad Secondary at Holy Cross College’s ground in Arima.

The final of the Girls Big Four will also be on November 6.