Sun, May


SSFL Awards.National Under-20 women’s captain Mariah Shade of Debe High School and Jevaughn Vance of St Augustine Secondary were named the 2009 Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) “Players of the Year” at its end-of-season awards function, at the Rudranath Capildeo Learning Resource Centre, Couva, yesterday.


Shade led Debe High to the Knockout, National InterCol, League and South Zone titles last year in the Girls division of the SSFL for a second consecutive year. She also finished with the most goals (25) among her pairs for the season.

Vance, meanwhile inspired the St Augustine “Green Machine” to the East Zone BGT&T league and Coco-Cola Inter-Col double as well as the National “Big-Five” title. The St Augustine player also walked away with the Best Midfielder award named after former national player and coach Russell Latapy.


Top Five Players:


Jevaughn Vance (St Augustine Sec), Chad Appoo (St Mary’s), Shahdon Winchester (Naparima), Daneil Cyrus (El Dorado East), Jeroen Blugh (QRC).

Individual awards:

Player of the Year (Leroy De Leon award): Jevaughn Vance (St Augustine Sec).

Best Forward (Luciano Woodley award): Shahdon Winchester (Naparima).

Best Midfielder (Russell Latapy award): Jevaughn Vance (St Augustine Sec).

Best Defender (Clayton Morris award): Jeroen Blugh (QRC).

Top Five Players:


Mariah Shade (Debe High), Elizabeth Ng Wai (Debe High), Minty Cruickshank (Toco Sec), Akeisha De La Rosa (Providence Girls’), Latalia Benjamin (Roxborough Sec).

All Star Teams:


Goalkeepers: Raheem Belgrave (St Mary’s), Jamal Francois (St Anthony’s).

Defenders: Dinelle Lopez (St Augustine Sec), Christon Briggs (St Mary’s), Jeroen Blugh (QRC), Jevaughn Ross Russell Jr (Fatima), Brian Hernandez (St Augustine Sec).

Midfielders: Chad Appoo (St Mary’s), Jevaughn Vance (St Augustine Sec), Michael Renaud (Carapichaima Sec), Wesley John (Presentation, San F’do), Daneil Cyrus (El Dorado East).

Forwards: Shahdon Winchester (Naparima), Xavion Navarro (St Augustine Sec), Vernell Ramirez (St Augustine), Malcolm Nedd (Presentation, San F’do), Cordelle Cato (St Anthony’s).


Goalkeepers: Linfah Jones (Debe High), Nadia Nunes ( Providence Girls’).

Defenders: Karen Forbes (Signal Hill), Stacey Paul (St Augustine Sec), Patresa Meyes (Toco Sec), Stephanie Beam (Debe High).

Midfielders: Tianna Bateau (St Joseph Convent, PoS), Elizabeth Ng Wai (Debe High), Kayla Taylor (Debe High), Melissa Woo Ling (Providence), Camille Charles (Pt Fortin East Sec).

Forwards: Akesiah De La Rosa (Providence), Latalia Benjamin (Roxborough Sec), Minty Cruickshank (Toco Sec), Megan Murray (St Joseph Convent, PoS), Shanice Pierre (San Juan North Sec), Mariah Shade (Debe High).



SSFL AwardsVance and Shade are SSFL's top players.
T&T Express Reports.

St Augustine Secondary’s Jevaughn Vance and Debe Secondary’s Mariah Shade were named the Secondary Schools Football League’s players of the year at yesterday’s 2009 prize-giving ceremony at the Rudranath Capildeo Learning Resource Centre in Couva.

Shade led her team’s scoring efforts in 2009, leading them to a clean sweep of the girls titles. Debe collected both the national League and InterCol titles.

Vance was the playmaker in a successful season for St Augustine. They won the BG T&T Big Five and both East Zone league and InterCol titles and reached the national InterCol semis.

Five Players of the Year:

Boys: Jevaughn Vance (St Augustine), Shahdon Winchester (Naparima College), Chad Appoo (St Mary’s College), Jerone Blugh (QRC), Daneil Cyrus (El Dorado East Secondary)

Girls: Elizabeth Ng Wai (Debe Secondary), Minty Cruickshank (Toco Secondary), Shanice Pierre (San Juan Secondary), Akeisha De La Rosa (Providence), Natalia Benjamin (Roxborough Secondary).


Skeene: SSFL important to T&T football
By Kern De Freitas (T&T Express)

The Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) is ’an important part of the football pyramid in Trinidad and Tobago’, according to T&T Pro League CEO Dexter Skeene.

Skeene, delivering the feature address of the SSFL’s 2009 awards ceremony at the Rudranath Capildeo Learning Resource Centre in Couva on Friday, told the young footballers the Schools League is crucial to national football.

’If the standard of play is low, then the national team and the Pro League will suffer,’ Skeene declared.

The former national player also advised today’s footballers to take advantage of the opportunities available to them now and set an academic platform for themselves as well, so they can benefit when their playing days are over.

’Your prime playing days will end in your 30s,’ he advised.

St Augustine Secondary’s playmaker Jevaughn Vance was named Player of the Year and Midfielder of the Year.

Debe Secondary’s Mariah Shade, currently on national duty at the CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 World Cup qualifying tournament in Guatemala, was Girls Player of the Year.

Debe were also presented with a large poster in commemoration of their second successive unbeaten season in the SSFL.

SSFL Players of the Year:

BOYS - Jevaughn Vance (St Augustine Sec)
GIRLS - Mariah Shade (Debe Sec)

Five Players of the Year

BOYS - Jeroen Blugh (QRC); Jevaughn Vance (St Augustine Sec); Chad Appoo (St Mary’s College); Shahdon Winchester (Naparima College); Daneil Cyrus (El Dorado East Sec)

GIRLS - Elizabeth Ng Wai, Mariah Shade (Debe Sec); Natalia Benjamin (Roxborough Sec); Minty Cruickshank (Toco Sec); Akeisha De La Rosa (Providence Girls)

All Star Teams


Goalkeepers - Raheem Belgrave (St Mary’s), Jamal Francois (St Anthony’s College)
Defenders - Dinelle Lopez, Brian Hernandez (St Augustine); Christon Briggs (St Mary’s); Jeroen Blugh (QRC); Ross Russell Jr (Fatima)
Midfielders - Chad Appoo (St Mary’s); Jevaughn Vance (St Augustine); Michael Renaud (Carapichaima East Sec); Wesley John (Presentation Sando); Daneil Cyrus (El Dorado East)
Forwards - Shahdon Winchester (Naparima); Zavion Navarro (St Augustine Sec); Vernell Ramirez (St Augustine); Malcolm Nedd (Naparima); Cordell Cato (St Anthony’s)


Goalkeepers - Linfah Jones (Debe); Nadia Nunes (Providence)
Defenders - Karen Forbes (Signal Hill); Stacey Paul (St Augustine); Patresa Mayers (Toco Sec); Stephanie Beam (Debe)
Midfielders - Tiana Bateau (St Joseph’s Convent); Elizabeth Ng Wai (Debe Sec); Melissa Woo Ling (Providence); Kayla Taylor (Debe); Camille Charles (Point Fortin East Sec)
Forwards - Mariah Shade (Debe); Akeisha De La Rosa (Providence); Natalia Benjamin (Roxborough Sec); Megan Murray (St Joseph’s Convent); Minty Cruickshank (Toco); Shanice Pierre (San Juan Sec)

League Champions

BG T&T BIG 5 (Boys) - St Augustine
League (Girls) - Debe Sec

BG T&T Zonal League Champions

BOYS - Carapichaima East (Central Zone), St Augustine (East), St Mary’s (North), Presentation San Fernando (South), Mason Hall Sec (Tobago)
GIRLS - Providence Girls (North), Debe Sec (South/Central), Signal Hill (Tobago)

National InterCol Champions

Coca Cola Cup (Boys) - El Dorado East
BG T&T Cup (Girls) - Debe Sec

Zonal InterCol Champions

BOYS - Carapichaima East (Central Zone), St Augustine (East), QRC (North), Presentation Sando (South), Mason Hall (Tobago)
GIRLS - Toco Secondary (East), Providence (North), Debe Sec (South), Signal Hill (Tobago)

National Age Group Trophies

Under-14: Fatima College (Topper Trophy)
Under-16: St Benedict’s College
Under-19: Pleasantville Sec
Girls Under-15: Fyzabad Anglican Sec
Girls Under-19: St Francois Girls Sec