WASA FC became only the fifth Super League team to ever reach the semi-final round of the Toyota Classic, in the tournament's decade-long existence, after edging Caledonia AIA 2-1 at the Larry Gomes Stadium on Saturday.

Defunct Joe Public (2010), Stokely Vale (2012), Guaya United and Club Sando (2013) were the only other teams to reach the semi-final round of the tournament that pools the best of the Super League against Pro League clubs.

Guyana national team attacker Purnell Schultz had put Caledonia ahead in the 38th minute but Mario Kissoon leveled the scores 1-1 in the 45th minute for WASA.

Then in the second period, Ethan Robinson's 63rd minute goal stood the winner while goalkeeper Glenroy Samuel denied his former employers a comeback with a few second half shutouts.

At the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium, Police FC also booked its place in the semi-final round but with a 4-3 kicks from the penalty spot win over Defence Force following a 1-1 draw.

Christon Thomas had Police in front by the 10th minute but a 72nd minute equaliser by Richard Roy eventually led to a shootout.

However Police were better at the target with Todd Ryan, Clevon Mc Fee, Christon Thomas and Hector Sam finding the back of the net with only Elijah Belgrave hitting wide of the target on the second.

As for Defence Force, Devorn Jorsling, Richard and Dave Long scored from the spot but Curtis Gonzales (denied by the upright) and Kerry Joseph (wide) failed to find the back of the net in the third and fourth respectively.

The quarter final round will continue on Monday 1 December at the Ato Boldon Stadium when Central FC tackles Point Fortin Civic from 6 pm – with the winner booking a semi-final spot against WASA FC on Friday 5 December – and Club Sando against San Juan Jabloteh from 8 pm – with the winner advancing to meet Police FC.

Quarter Final Round Results

Caledonia AIA 1 (Purnell Schultz 38’) vs WASA FC 2 (Mario Kissoon 45', Ethan Robinson 63’)

Police FC 1 (Christon Thomas 10') vs Defence Force 1 (Richard Roy 72')

Kicks from the penalty mark

Defence Force 3                   Police FC 4
Devorn Jorsling (scored)         Todd Ryan (scored)
Richard Roy (scored)              Elijah Belgrave (missed)
Curtis Gonzales (upright)        Clevon Mc Fee (scored)
Kerry Joseph (missed)            Christon Thomas (scored)
Dave Long (scored)               Hector Sam (scored)