Sun, May


Defence Force captured the 2014 SW Touring Limited Tobago Invitational Masters Football title with a nail biting 5-3 penalty kick victory over two-time defending champions Juventus in the final at the Courland Recreational Grounds, Black Rock on Sunday.

The victory was revenge for the Defence Force who lost to Juventus in last year’s final. This time around, Defence Force denied Juventus a hat trick of trophies and pocketed the US$2,000 first prize.

Keshal Alexander opened the scoring for Defence Force in the eighth minute when he spotted the keeper off the line took a shot from just over the half line.

Juventus was not to be deterred and pressed for an equaliser with former national striker Arnold Dwarika leading the attack along with last year’s top player Kendal Velox.

Charles Pollard brought the scores level, headed in a cross from a free kick from the right side as the teams went into the break at 1-1.

In the second half Miguel Kiston put the Soldiers in front with a header again in the 17th minute and Juventus again responded in added on time with Velox also scoring with a header to take the game to penalty kicks.

First up for Juventus was former national striker Arnold Dwarika who was denied by Defence Force goalkeeper Darryl Julien. 

Kiston, Kenny Seconds, Jodi Guisepi and Steve Mayers all converted their attempts with the Defence Force team celebrating after Mayers netted the team’s final kick. Jason Julien, Herman Charles and Keston King were successful from the penalty sport for Juventus.

Julien was named MVP and Velox won the most goals trophy with six goals in the competition. Defence Force copped the Best Limers Award for the second year.