Tue, Feb


A bit past their prime, but some of the biggest former stars of football are in Tobago for the British Airways Tobago Legends Challenge this weekend.

The tournament will be transmitted as a 90-minute documentary on United Kingdom broadcaster Sky Sports, organisers also hope it will further brand beautiful Tobago as a tourist destination.

The Challenge will see eight teams representing top English clubs face-off alongside the Professional Footballers Association (PFA) and Caribbean All Stars select teams.

The six-a-side tournament will host 64 top former players. Action begins 4.30 p.m. each day at the Dwight Yorke Stadium and admission is $50.

Tobago will host top former Manchester United and Lazio footballers, among them Luis Saha, Stan Colymore, Frank St Clair, Andy Cole, Luis Boa Morte, Ruel Fox, lan Wright and Ugo Ehiou.

Trinidad and Tobago will be well represented by several members of its 2006 World Cup squad, including Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy, goalkeeper Shaka Hislop, Clayton Ince as well as Cyd Gray and defender Dennis Lawrence. The tournament is organised by the Tobago Divisions of Tourism and Transportation, Education, Youth and Sports, in partnership with sponsor British Airways, the UK PFA, and local businesses and tourism stakeholders.

“We are delighted to play host to such a prestigious sports challenge,” said Tracy Davidson-Celestine, secretary for Tourism and Transportation at the Challenge’s launch.

“This is a world class event and forms part of our strategy to raise the destination’s profile in key markets, and positions Tobago as a healthy, active, fun, naturally beautiful and unspoilt Caribbean Island.”

Canaan-born Dwight Yorke is one of the biggest success stories to come out of the Caribbean. He played in the EPL firstly with Aston Villa, before winning the Premiership, FA trophy and Champions League with Manchester United in 1999.

Yorke added “This will be great for Tobago and we can’t wait to get the challenge going. It’s been a while since I had a chance to strut my stuff back in Tobago and we will try to bring the trophy home for all my fans around our beautiful island and the world.”

Some Players

Professional Footballers Association All Stars: Shaka Hislop, Michael Mols, Pierre Van Hooijdonk, Paul Scharner.

Liverpool: Anthony Warner, Steve Harkness, Stephane Henchoz, David Thompson, Patrik Berger, Vladimir Smicer, Stan Collymore.

Arsenal: Vince Bartram, Ian Selley, Luis Boa Morte, Stefan Schwarz,Paul Dickov (striker)

Tottenham: David Howells, Sean Davis, Ruel Fox.

Aston Villa: Alan Wright, Ugo Ehiogu, winger Mark Walters, Darren Byfield, Darius Vassell.

Chelsea: Frank Sinclair, Gareth Hall, Sam Parkin.

Manchester United: Dwight Yorke, Andy Cole, Louis Saha.

Caribbean All Stars: Dennis Lawrence, Marcus Gayle, Paul Hall, Fitzroy Simpson, Ricardo Gardner.